X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Walkabout Reviews

13 Quay Street, Manchester, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

56%

Rating
857 Total Reviews
  • 55%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 46%Atmosphere
  • 35%Cleanliness
  • 39%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

All the reviews were quite negative so I expected the worst - but was pleasantly surprised - very central in location, cheap, clean, quiet (stayed on a thurs). Obviously there's no kitchen/social area but it says so in the description.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Though lacking in the hygiene department, and having to source my own toilet paper, this hostel was pretty great. Really you get what you pay for, and having an entire dorm to myself for my stay was great. The staff were fantastic and laid back, overall I would recommend for the true backpacker who doesn't mind a bit of rough living. P.S fantastic location :)


37%

Reception is always closed. The bathroom was full of somebodie's hair. The place looked all dirty and abandoned with almost zero mantainance. There's basically no staff but the people that work at the bar. The location is good. Find somewhere else to stay if you can


54%

Room should be renewed. strange smell in corridor. no facilities at all e.g. kitchen. Reception often desert.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

This was, by some distance, the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. I have no idea how it remains open. See trip adviser for reviews

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. The room was ok, but the second bed was terrible. Also the bathroom is not the best as the roof was visible through the broken up ceiling, also the shower is hard to set to a good temperature.


43%

I don't think the Walkabout should be called a hostel. I's more like someone took an old hotel room (they do have hotel rooms) and chucked a bunch of bunk beds in it, no kitchen or communal are.Sure the room has an ensuite bathroom, but after showering on the first day and wiping the wet floor with the bathmat and see it turn brown, I only showered once during my stay. Grim pic to follow. I stayed in a great hostel in Liverpool for 1/3 of the price (yes, £5/night) that was at least 10x better.


60%

The location is great, 5 minutes walk from the Manchester Central venue, plenty of bars, restaurant and supermarkets all around. The room itself was ok but very dirty: the carpets were dusty and with pieces of paper (it looked as it hadn't been hoovered for quite a while), I found the shower drain with a little nest of hair, the toilet had spots of unknown nature around it and the floors where dirty. It was cheap and basic but definitely needs better cleaning and maintenance.


71%

Great location. No common room as such, but a great bar to hang in. Staff were fine.


46%

I booked 2 private rooms and came back from a night out to see 2 people sleeping in one of the rooms, leaving one of my guests with no bedding.... So the value for money was bad. Staff were bad as they didn't do anything about this. Security was poor as out stuff was left around and could of been stolen.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The beds were atrocious, could feel every spring. The place was revoltingly dirty.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

The dirtiest and worst place i've been in my life No presence of the staff, the reception states opening from 7am to 10pm, but is always closed. if you try to call (6 times in 2 days) they won't answer.. in the room: old socks on the floor, plastic and garbage all over the floor. Flooded bathroom without shower courtains, personal towels used as carpets. Dirty carpet with blood and nasty stuff on the ground. I tried to call them about that, they answered (using email) 24 hours later...


57%

The Hotel is really dirty, all the corridors with and old carpet full off stains. The room was not clean with a peanut on the carpet near the bed, and with dirty towels and a razor-blade in the toilet. To top it, the shower wasn't working, I talked with staff and they changed me to other room, it was a little better, but still full of stains in the carpet.


54%

I have stayed at this hostel at least 7/10 times and each time has got worse and worse. Sorry to say that the last few times I didn't have time to provide feedback , but was shocking .... Carpets filthy , broken sink . No soap at all in both the rooms I booked. Friends had to stay else where because the beds were all broken. Smells and stains on all floors and damp?! I don't want waste more time and say how bad it was .... I'm not ever going to stay here with friends again , sorry

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

Dirty, noisy and poor staff. Stayed in a 2 bedroom room which had a filthy, stained carpet, broken blinds, peeling paint from the walls and looked like it had not been vacuumed for months. I’ve taken pictures to provide to Manchester City Council. Noisy till around 4am. Had to wait over 2 hours for staff reception to open in the morning. The contact number provided rang with no answer or ability to leave a voice mail. Hostelworld.com association with them is not likely to help their brand.


51%

This hostel was in a good location and the security of the site was good but beyond that there was nothing in its favour. It was really dirty and even though it was cheapish we will not stay there again.


46%

Worst hostel ever! The room and toilet was very dirty and the bath tub was even broken. No Wifi was given. Great value of money but very disappointed.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Friday night was wery loud.


46%

Very cheap, but: - One plug socket - Dirty walls - paint chipped off - Stained floors - Very small amount of toilet paper - Very smelly lift - No staff upon arrival

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

hostal is very dirty and is difficult to get in contact with the people from the reception. rooms and bathrooms are not clean either.. i was dissapointed because of that. location is good.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Manchester Hotels

Please give us your feedback