X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Walkabout Reviews

13 Quay Street, Manchester, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

60%

Rating
753 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 41%Cleanliness
  • 44%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

26%

Worst hostel which i ever stayed in!!!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Firstly, the staff didn't seem to understand how to check us in and left us standing around at the bar whilst they ignored us. The toilet didn't flush, the bath side had fallen off, the sink was smashed, the window didn't close, the blinds were hanging off the wall, the radiator was also hanging off the wall. The place was covered in stains and smelt. I understand budget but this place needs knocking down.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel needs a lot of work done ie needs a good lick of paint,carpets needs lifting and replaced,to many leeks in bathroom.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Rooms not clean Floor dirty

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

To much noise, to dirty. The bed makes a huge noise ewach time I jump in! Bathtoom was poor and with a balck hole on the wall. Only Price and location are good.


54%

Was in this hostel in November 2014.Hostel average. Rooms and cleanliness, want to be the best. It was very cold. Settling strictly from 2 pm .All very mediocre. Except for the location. (Very convenient)


60%

Location wise this is central but there is no excuse for filth

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Good place, but property need good refurb or at least clean. Is very cheap but too soviet..

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

A comfortable and basic stay. Friendly and approachable staff. Only drawback was the windows in the room didnt have any blinds/curtains. A decent place to stay for the rate charged.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Horrible bathroom and bad beds.


43%

There was no receptionist on arrival, but the bar staff at Walkabout the bar quickly got someone and they were cheerful enough, however, there weren't any maps and no tour or directions to a common area or anything. The hallways were disgusting with too many stains and although it says there is loud music until 1am, people outside made noise until much later. If we can't sleep well due to noise, at least don't let the light in, get some better curtains that cover the windows.


63%

The worst bed I've ever had in a hostel. We could feel every spring. The staff were not present for check in and I had to go up to the bar a couple of times to get anyone to see us. Very noisy from the bar downstairs, don't underestimate how much this will disturb you.


69%

Brilliant if you're young and not staying for long. Basically good if you just want a bed and somewhere to crash. Staff very laid back. Despite being on the top floor we were kept up by the noise from the nightclub below until 6am because also heard the cleanup of bottles, and a fight. The windows didn't shut, nor did the blinds. If they had have done i'm sure the noise wouldn't have been as bad. Fire alarm went off in the middle of the night waking us all up. Not very clean, walls stained

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Bed bugs and water leaking


57%

The staff were nice and the food was amazing. However, it was very noisey and has to be one of the dirtyest hostles i have ever stayed in, the floors were filthy and the walls were sticky. It was in a good location to where i needed to be so it was okay. The wifi didn't work anywhere but the bar so "free wifi" wasn't exsactly helpful. I'd say only stay there if you really need to as there are much cleaner places for the same price.


77%

Delighted with the service, we arrived at 9.30am and they let us check in.! Very friendly staff with great info on the hot spots in Manchester.!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Having read some of the other reviews I found myself disappointed with the clean sheets and lack of insects. I somewhat feel some reviewers have been somewhat cosseted in the past. Good as a cheap place in an excellent location in which to crash after a night out in the city. Yes there is some mould and staining, the beds ain't that comfortable, but if all you want is somewhere to put your stuff and be unconscious for several hours, this is a good cheap option.


51%

Dirty, dirty, dirty. Super dirty and bad smelling. The bed very unconfortable.


31%

The room was just above a night-club, i could even understand the lyrics, the eraplugs were useless cause of thé vibration. The staff were absent. The room was so badly fit out (no bed light, bad mattress, i've seen that only in Democratic Republic of Congo.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Not a hostel i would be recommending anytime soon, the atmosphere was dead, i saw two other people the whole three days. The place itself was disgustingly unclean ,there was a smell of urine in the elevator, a piece of the bath was broken off and i found chewing gum embedded into the carpet in my room. Although it was cheap it still wasn't worth what we paid for it. a homeless shelter would offer better services, i was very dissapointed


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Manchester Hotels

Please give us your feedback