X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Walkabout Reviews

13 Quay Street, Manchester, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

57%

Rating
764 Total Reviews
  • 58%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 39%Cleanliness
  • 42%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

there were no heaters, no extra blanket, no hot water. sheets were dirty. the bar at the ground floor played loud music till morning

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Everything about it is Aussie. It's just a place to snooze and that's all we need. Bed was comfy which was a plus!


51%

In Room 307 you heared more or less the hole night music, also the Bath was not clean and the shower was broken. Through the windows you could feel the wind outside and also there was nothing to catch the sun in the morning away. When you go outside your room, there was a bad smell and also the lift smells bad. Also was bad, that not all the time was the reception open and you could check-out without to see anyone. There was also no bell, so you cannot call the staff.


37%

I am surprised that this hotel even meets trading standards. The whole place is disgusting. The lift as stated by my companion 'smelt like dead people' so basically rot and who knows what else. everywhere you turned there was an omnious stain of the floor or your shoes stuck... as for our room mold , dirt and side boards caked in grime. the windows were cellotaped and radiator hung of the wall as did the shower which is reminiscent of something from a prison movie. 'cheap' not worth £45

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The room was.absolutely disgusting, hairs in the bath, sick still in the plug hole from who ever was in there last,mould and black all over the tiles in the bathroom, dirty bath, dust all over heater, loose plug sockets, worse place I could ever imagine, health and safety night mare, hairs in toilet just disgusting

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

This place is mouldy, cold and really difficult to get help from the staff as the reception is never attended to. Compared to what you're paying it's surprisingly bad. And I've stayed at lots of other hostels to compare with.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

There was a hole in the roof that was constantly leaking a puddle into the room and no heating. Not nice in winter.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

Worst hostel which i ever stayed in!!!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Firstly, the staff didn't seem to understand how to check us in and left us standing around at the bar whilst they ignored us. The toilet didn't flush, the bath side had fallen off, the sink was smashed, the window didn't close, the blinds were hanging off the wall, the radiator was also hanging off the wall. The place was covered in stains and smelt. I understand budget but this place needs knocking down.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel needs a lot of work done ie needs a good lick of paint,carpets needs lifting and replaced,to many leeks in bathroom.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Rooms not clean Floor dirty

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

To much noise, to dirty. The bed makes a huge noise ewach time I jump in! Bathtoom was poor and with a balck hole on the wall. Only Price and location are good.


54%

Was in this hostel in November 2014.Hostel average. Rooms and cleanliness, want to be the best. It was very cold. Settling strictly from 2 pm .All very mediocre. Except for the location. (Very convenient)


60%

Location wise this is central but there is no excuse for filth

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Good place, but property need good refurb or at least clean. Is very cheap but too soviet..

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

A comfortable and basic stay. Friendly and approachable staff. Only drawback was the windows in the room didnt have any blinds/curtains. A decent place to stay for the rate charged.


37%

Horrible bathroom and bad beds.


43%

There was no receptionist on arrival, but the bar staff at Walkabout the bar quickly got someone and they were cheerful enough, however, there weren't any maps and no tour or directions to a common area or anything. The hallways were disgusting with too many stains and although it says there is loud music until 1am, people outside made noise until much later. If we can't sleep well due to noise, at least don't let the light in, get some better curtains that cover the windows.


63%

The worst bed I've ever had in a hostel. We could feel every spring. The staff were not present for check in and I had to go up to the bar a couple of times to get anyone to see us. Very noisy from the bar downstairs, don't underestimate how much this will disturb you.


69%

Brilliant if you're young and not staying for long. Basically good if you just want a bed and somewhere to crash. Staff very laid back. Despite being on the top floor we were kept up by the noise from the nightclub below until 6am because also heard the cleanup of bottles, and a fight. The windows didn't shut, nor did the blinds. If they had have done i'm sure the noise wouldn't have been as bad. Fire alarm went off in the middle of the night waking us all up. Not very clean, walls stained

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Manchester Hotels

Please give us your feedback