X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Walkabout Reviews

13 Quay Street, Manchester, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

62%

Rating
697 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 62%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 53%Atmosphere
  • 49%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

The staff didn`t give me attention. The corridors were really dirty, inclusively the entrance hall.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

I have stayed at the Walkabout before, but it's become even worse. The beds are terrible, everything is broken, windows won't shut properly and the carpets are simply disgusting. That's a real shame because it's located rahter perfectly and they could make it a nicer place with so little effort...

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

There were 5 girls that stayed we had 2 rooms, each of us had a keycard to get in to the room so it was quite secure. The hallways were quite disgusting but the rooms were not too bad, the bedding was clean and the bathrooms were clean. For what we paid it is what we expected. The noise levels were not as bad as we expected after reading some of the reviews. The staff were very friendly. We would visit again. Could have done with later check out though.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

The room was filthy. There was hair on the bathroom floor and in the sink. The shower gel dispenser was empty, there was no soap. The sheets looked like they had already been slept on. The hotel smelt musty. never saw another sole. The girl was friendly and polite. I have worked in prisons and criminals get better facilities. Bed was very hard & only 2 very thin pillows. Heater didn't work. Blinds had strands missing so the person next door (we were on a corner) could see in. No tea/coffee.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Stayed in hostels which are a lot cheaper and a lot cleaner and less glum. Claims to be a hotel but it's little more than a hostel that is poorly maintained, live wires hanging off the radiator, bath was cracked. Toilet seat lid had fell off. Bed was clean and the door locked... So I guess I'm being a snob, but this "hotel" may put people off staying in other decent hostels listed on this website!

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

the hotel was cold, dirty and unkempt but i wasn't expecting much from a budget place + didn't mind so much - we just wanted a place to rest our heads. however we returned at 1am shattered and needing to sleep and the noise from the club below was unbearable (and we were 3 floors up). the whole room was literally bouncing - the wardrobe rail and coathangers were vibrating and the windows were rattling with the noise. it was insane-we had to leave and find somewhere else (we did get a refund)

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

stayed at walkabout 2 nights for a game day, great value for money, just what u need on a city break..........thank you

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The property is run down and the lift is not working. There is a pub just beneath the accommodation with blaring music till the early hours of the morning. It was so loud that even the clothes hangers in the wardrobe dance to it.

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was good value for money, the decor is in need of updating but for the amount of time we spent in the room it was fine. The location was excellent and even coming in at 5am we felt safe! Would definitely book again

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

Firealarm made us get up in the middle of the night. :(

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very well organised and well run hostel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room superbly clean. No negative issues at all. THANK YOU

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Simple and basic, but should provide clean sheets for bed!


40%

Cold, dirty, drab and dreary! The staff were nice and has a good central location, but we stayed in much better hostels and hotels elsewhere for less. Glad we were only there for one night!


77%

Great location, though only 1 plug in the 5 bed dorm. Beds not very comfortable. It would be good if there were more of an option for a girl only accommodation, I felt quite uncomfortable in the mixed dorm when it was only me and another middle aged man.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The lights in our room were broken as well as the blinds and radiator. There was no staff around to help us so we had to sleep in all our clothes and coats as it was freezing in the room and blankets were simply sheets. Was incredibly sick the next morning as a result and the staff said that they would contact me but haven't heard a word. To be honest the place is exactly what you expect for the price but the fact that we couldn't even sleep in it makes me wish I forked out an extra tenner!

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

The worst place I've ever been on Earth. I seriously think that it should shut. It is extremely dirty, it falls apart, everything is broken and they makes you sign a declaration in order not break anything! We were woken up by a fire alarm syren. Not sure if was genuine or just a way to kick us out of the building. But the worst thing is the the rooms are infested by flees. Seriously, they should do something for it.

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

everything is ok, but please change the pillows. they quite thin. but overall, it was fine. i could sleep well.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good hostel at that price. Staff was friendly and dowstairs bar was fun


57%

This hostel lacks cleanliness, lots of stains on the floors and walls. Bits of the roof had fallen in and there was tissue blocking the fire alarm. The bunk beds were not fixed together properly. It's an OK place stay if you want party and keep out of the room for as long as possible .


86%

More than we expected for this price. We'll come back

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Manchester Hotels

Please give us your feedback