X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Walkabout Reviews

13 Quay Street, Manchester, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

55%

Rating
779 Total Reviews
  • 55%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 46%Atmosphere
  • 37%Cleanliness
  • 38%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

The wind passed through the window seal, even when closed. There were no heating on the bedroom and no soap at the bathroom. There was no one at the reception neither at check-in or check-out. The elevator was in terrible cleaning conditions and smelled cigarette, even with smoking not being allowed.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

On arrival my friends and I couldnt help but be shocked- the building is old and dirty, there was mold on the walls with paint flaking off and the carpets were stained and gross. Our room wasn't much better, the only plus was that the sheets were clean. For £12.50 each it was reasonably priced but in general it was awful. There are no 'facilities' to speak of- there wasn't even a shower curtain, the blinds were missing panels and the room was freezing as the heater had been torn off the wall.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

i turned up late but some one was straight down from the club to let me in . but i was not told how loud the music was going to be from walkabout with dos not close till 2 am. and the bed were the worst bunk bed and matters i have ever sleep on the bunk bed was close to falling apart as i tryed to claim on to the top was close to falling over it was leaning that much all of the springs and gon in the matters so i had them sticking in my body from head to toe no matter were i moved .

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Worst place we have stayed,avoid people

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Me and my group of 7 friends hired two, four-bed rooms and had a great time. The place is pretty dodgy so don't go if you 're a clean freak but the location is great, the cost is low, and the staff are very helpful. The heaters were broken but when we told them, they sorted us out with an electric one per room. As a base for a fun weekend in Manchester, I'd highly reccomend

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Good value for money. Room and bathroom were very basic and quite old but everything you need. Good location.


26%

Main thing: The heater was not functioning in the room!!! It was extremely freezing. Ended up without much sleep. No constant staff at the reception. Extremely noisy at night due to the bar downstairs. Basin is broken/shattered. Lucky we only stay for a night. One of the worst hostel ever.


74%

What more can you ask for when your paying £15 a night pp. I wouldn't take the girlfriend for a romantic wk end away! However, groups of girls/lads it is all you need for that budget night out around Manchester. Everything was basic, room was warm, beds were average with clean sheets, clean towels, a key card and thats your lot. Going as a group of lads on a night out around Manchester it was all we needed, after all we only spent 2 hours in the beds. I didn't hear one bit of noise.Bargain!


54%

there were no heaters, no extra blanket, no hot water. sheets were dirty. the bar at the ground floor played loud music till morning

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Have passed through Manchester a few times now, found this the best. Gave me help on where to go and what to do. Was a huge help.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Everything about it is Aussie. It's just a place to snooze and that's all we need. Bed was comfy which was a plus!


51%

In Room 307 you heared more or less the hole night music, also the Bath was not clean and the shower was broken. Through the windows you could feel the wind outside and also there was nothing to catch the sun in the morning away. When you go outside your room, there was a bad smell and also the lift smells bad. Also was bad, that not all the time was the reception open and you could check-out without to see anyone. There was also no bell, so you cannot call the staff.


37%

I am surprised that this hotel even meets trading standards. The whole place is disgusting. The lift as stated by my companion 'smelt like dead people' so basically rot and who knows what else. everywhere you turned there was an omnious stain of the floor or your shoes stuck... as for our room mold , dirt and side boards caked in grime. the windows were cellotaped and radiator hung of the wall as did the shower which is reminiscent of something from a prison movie. 'cheap' not worth £45

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The room was.absolutely disgusting, hairs in the bath, sick still in the plug hole from who ever was in there last,mould and black all over the tiles in the bathroom, dirty bath, dust all over heater, loose plug sockets, worse place I could ever imagine, health and safety night mare, hairs in toilet just disgusting

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

This place is mouldy, cold and really difficult to get help from the staff as the reception is never attended to. Compared to what you're paying it's surprisingly bad. And I've stayed at lots of other hostels to compare with.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

There was a hole in the roof that was constantly leaking a puddle into the room and no heating. Not nice in winter.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

Worst hostel which i ever stayed in!!!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Firstly, the staff didn't seem to understand how to check us in and left us standing around at the bar whilst they ignored us. The toilet didn't flush, the bath side had fallen off, the sink was smashed, the window didn't close, the blinds were hanging off the wall, the radiator was also hanging off the wall. The place was covered in stains and smelt. I understand budget but this place needs knocking down.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel needs a lot of work done ie needs a good lick of paint,carpets needs lifting and replaced,to many leeks in bathroom.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Rooms not clean Floor dirty

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Manchester Hotels

Please give us your feedback