X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Walkabout Reviews

13 Quay Street, Manchester, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

62%

Rating
734 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 47%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Brilliant if you're young and not staying for long. Basically good if you just want a bed and somewhere to crash. Staff very laid back. Despite being on the top floor we were kept up by the noise from the nightclub below until 6am because also heard the cleanup of bottles, and a fight. The windows didn't shut, nor did the blinds. If they had have done i'm sure the noise wouldn't have been as bad. Fire alarm went off in the middle of the night waking us all up. Not very clean, walls stained

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Bed bugs and water leaking


57%

The staff were nice and the food was amazing. However, it was very noisey and has to be one of the dirtyest hostles i have ever stayed in, the floors were filthy and the walls were sticky. It was in a good location to where i needed to be so it was okay. The wifi didn't work anywhere but the bar so "free wifi" wasn't exsactly helpful. I'd say only stay there if you really need to as there are much cleaner places for the same price.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Delighted with the service, we arrived at 9.30am and they let us check in.! Very friendly staff with great info on the hot spots in Manchester.!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Having read some of the other reviews I found myself disappointed with the clean sheets and lack of insects. I somewhat feel some reviewers have been somewhat cosseted in the past. Good as a cheap place in an excellent location in which to crash after a night out in the city. Yes there is some mould and staining, the beds ain't that comfortable, but if all you want is somewhere to put your stuff and be unconscious for several hours, this is a good cheap option.


51%

Dirty, dirty, dirty. Super dirty and bad smelling. The bed very unconfortable.


31%

The room was just above a night-club, i could even understand the lyrics, the eraplugs were useless cause of thé vibration. The staff were absent. The room was so badly fit out (no bed light, bad mattress, i've seen that only in Democratic Republic of Congo.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Not a hostel i would be recommending anytime soon, the atmosphere was dead, i saw two other people the whole three days. The place itself was disgustingly unclean ,there was a smell of urine in the elevator, a piece of the bath was broken off and i found chewing gum embedded into the carpet in my room. Although it was cheap it still wasn't worth what we paid for it. a homeless shelter would offer better services, i was very dissapointed


60%

The room wasn't clean, and there was no shower curtain. Staff were friendly and polite though.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The staff there were completely beyond reproach, apologetic and helpful. Particularly Alexis who was superb... however, the hostel itself was the worst place in the world. Indeed at times it felt like Prison Break 3rd series, where in Sona Prison they are subject to squalor, mould, damp, noise and fear. The place was a dump, 5 people in our party refused to stay and instead slept in a van (which had a broken window), It really was that bad. Oh and since getting home we're all covered in bites!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place, nice staff... Helped us with luggage.. I totally recommend. Good price for what they offer.


63%

It's decent for the price, well locales but it's not that clean and the club downstairs can be heard from the rooms. Definitly room for improvement

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Would have been good to have some form of lockers to be able to securely store belongings during day on more than one night stay. Mattresses were also in need of replacement as they were very springy, but other than that a satisfactory stay if you can fall asleep before the music starts

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

worst hostel that i've ever been


100%

I loved my stay at Walkabout. The room was light, airy and clean. The bathroom was situated in the room. I loved the location, it was conveniently situated and I was within walking distance of the venue of the gig I went to on Saturday night, which was not far from the Arndale shopping centre. The member of staff I spoke to was friendly and helpful. It was excellent value for money.


40%

The staff didn`t give me attention. The corridors were really dirty, inclusively the entrance hall.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

I have stayed at the Walkabout before, but it's become even worse. The beds are terrible, everything is broken, windows won't shut properly and the carpets are simply disgusting. That's a real shame because it's located rahter perfectly and they could make it a nicer place with so little effort...

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent location, good atmosphere!

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

There were 5 girls that stayed we had 2 rooms, each of us had a keycard to get in to the room so it was quite secure. The hallways were quite disgusting but the rooms were not too bad, the bedding was clean and the bathrooms were clean. For what we paid it is what we expected. The noise levels were not as bad as we expected after reading some of the reviews. The staff were very friendly. We would visit again. Could have done with later check out though.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

The room was filthy. There was hair on the bathroom floor and in the sink. The shower gel dispenser was empty, there was no soap. The sheets looked like they had already been slept on. The hotel smelt musty. never saw another sole. The girl was friendly and polite. I have worked in prisons and criminals get better facilities. Bed was very hard & only 2 very thin pillows. Heater didn't work. Blinds had strands missing so the person next door (we were on a corner) could see in. No tea/coffee.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Manchester Hotels

Please give us your feedback