X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Walkabout Reviews

13 Quay Street, Manchester, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

54%

Rating
813 Total Reviews
  • 56%Value For Money
  • 58%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 47%Atmosphere
  • 34%Cleanliness
  • 37%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Perfect for a weekend away. Ideally located, nice staff and great atmosphere in the bar/club. Not the best rooms or facilities but you get what you pay for. Great value for money and definitely perfect for a weekend trip.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Very dirty and smelly! Bed is very uncomfortable. You won't get any sleep in this place. Avoid! Avoid!

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

We knew this would be grotty when we booked as it was the cheapest place in central Manchester, and we weren't disappointed. Someone had urinated in the lift quite recently, and none of the staff seemed too bothered about clearing it up. The bathroom was full of black mold and had clearly not been cleaned since the last time someone had stayed there as there was a bracelet on the floor and a bottle of shower gel someone had left under the sink. The sheets were clean though. It was VERY noisy.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Absolutely Horrific The Floor And Walls Were Stained The Window Wouldn't Close I Wouldn't Reccommend This Place As Iv'e Stayed In Nice Hostels!!!!

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

The most horrible place I've ever seen.Everything dirty, sticky and smelly ever. We try to contact someone in the hostel and nobody helped. We were scared about the place. We had to run away and try to find another place where to sleep that night. Thanks that Manchester people and the city are great!

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

If you want a cheap stay in a big city then Walkabout is highly recommended, don't expect 5* quality, more a down to earth bed, en suite and somewhere to get your head down.

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Stayed here more than once when passing through, welcoming


66%

Good location. I stayed with a few mates after going to old Trafford were our team arsenal beat United to reach the fa cup semi final so we were pissed and in high spirits. the deco is appauling, stained walls and carpets and the room has a heater that looks like a toaster. I'd stay there again if I was in Manchester for football because its a tenner a bed and in a good location

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The safety of the beds weren't great and it the hostel needs a few new fixtures.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

- Well, they say that there is free wifi but it is only in the reception and does not reach upstairs. - no toiletries at all - you can barely get hot water to wash or shower - there is a freakin noisy pub just below which will rock the hell out of you at night.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bahrain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very very basic, but if youve chosen to book there then thats what youre expecting, beds clean, room not the dirtiest. Only down side was no kettle in the room, so coffees out cost a fortine, other than that the walkabout club was amazing, music in room wasnt that loud, staff are friendly, and helpful, and speak to you properly, like a human not snooty. I loved it and would stay there again, just bring a travel kettle, hehe. X

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Most depressing place I've ever stayed in. Room was basic, dingy and freezing cold. The heater looked like it had been there since about 1950, and although the room was so cold I didn't want to leave it on whilst out of the room in case it set fire to something. The corridors hadn't been properly cleaned and looked like university halls after a night of drinking. The only good thing I can say is that the shower was alright. NEVER AGAIN.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Without doubt, the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. You couldn't pay me to stay here again. Bathrooms were poor, reception is virtually non existent and the whole place stinks. Don't normally write a review but this place was a joke.


51%

Filthy. Cold. Heater off the wall in room. No shower curtain in bathroom and floor flooded. At least it was cheap.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

The hostel is situated in a good location but it is very dirty.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

This was the worst hostel I have ever seen (and I've been to many hostels around the world). It was extremely dirty (fungus on the walls, sticky floor). The matress of my bed was broken. No heating so it was very cold in the room. You need to look for a member of staff in the bar nearby. Safety lockers in the room broken. Avoid by all means!

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The room was cold and very dirty and the bed was very uncomfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location, very central.


60%

The room left a lot to be desired. This is by no means a great place, but if all you want is a bed in a central location then I think this is good value for money. Just don't expect too much.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

There was little or no heat in the bedroom meaning we had to sleep fully clothed. Also, towels and bedding were not changed throughout the 3 nights. The temperature in the bar was also very cold resulting in us leaving to go elsewhere on a couple of occasions. Ive stayed here before and didnt encounter these problems

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

The wind passed through the window seal, even when closed. There were no heating on the bedroom and no soap at the bathroom. There was no one at the reception neither at check-in or check-out. The elevator was in terrible cleaning conditions and smelled cigarette, even with smoking not being allowed.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Manchester Hotels

Please give us your feedback