X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wang Fat Hostel Reviews

No A1, 2/F, Paterson Bldg., 47 Paterson St., Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1238 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Good stay, good location, friendly staff

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is not only in the BEST location in Hong Kong, the manager is the greatest guy around. I've been staying there since 2004 and every time I visit Hong Kong, its Wong Fat Hostel for me. The rooms are super clean, and the kitchen/common room gives a great atmosphere to the place. Definitely very highly recommended.


77%

Good budget stay, will stay again. nice comfy double bed for the single ensuite room

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

After reading some of the other reviews, I was expecting the worst but this place really isn't so bad. There is no real hostel vibe going on but the location is perfect (supermarket and public transport very close) and everything is clean.


77%

Good hostel, well located in the centre of the fashion walk area and just by causeway bay metro station. Price was expensive for a hostel but no different to the prices of other hostels of the same type. Bed was comfortable, room was clean, service was also good. Shower's hot water didn't last very long sometimes and did not hang on the wall. Also there was an occasional strange smell coming from the bathroom.


31%

First this place is hard to find and there is no signs at all. Second my room was in another buildind, of the original hostel. Third, the staff said about a "breakfast" in the morning, but it just tea and coffee. Fourth the showers are cold! And fifth the staff are rude and dont give u information about the city. Never stay here!!


63%

because of the fact, that the hostel is located in more than one building, there is a problem with contacting the reception while having problem. In my building there was no phone i could use to call the reception desk, so i was was forced to go out of my building to get help. It is a problem especially, when you don't have your door key, because it's locked in the room. You are also not able to call the reception desk using your phone, because chinese sim cards don't work in HK.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Terribly dirty smells awful bad location


86%

This bright and clean hostel is in a great location with an international friendly feel to it. Good value for money, and knowledgeable staff. Thanks for contributing to a great trip to the whole Hong Kong area


86%

Great deal, great location and great staff.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

thanks for your services ! my home in Hong kong is there pou pou fabio

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Illegal establishment without insurance covering accidents or theft and guests may be refused entry into the building. This should be stated CLEARLY in the hostels description. Highly misleading otherwise. You will receive an email directing you to the hostel. The address will be wrong. The main reception is NOT on the 2nd floor. It is on the 3RD floor. I asked for this to be changed but reception could not have cared less. All round dodgy business. Do not stay here.


86%

Excellent location in the heart of Causeway Bay. Close to the subway just a few stops from Central and ferries to Kowloon, Macau and other islands.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

I took exception to the kitty litter (cats toilet0 in the kitchen


83%

Wasn't sure what to expect, however the hotel scores 3/5 for me. Excellent hostel for brief stay, reception staff 5 stars, attentive, helpful & Knowledgeable.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Air conditions so bad

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good value for money in HK. Location is great and the hostel has microwave and toaster facilities so you can make your own food if you are on a budget. Mainly four bed rooms. We booked a three bed female dorm but ended up in four bed mixed. Not sure they even have three bed dorms so book the cheaper four bed option. internet is not great and staff could do better in sharing some knowledge about the city.


71%

Not impressed with the intrusive staff (one knocked on the door for nearly a minute straight until I opened it, despite several responses of "just a moment" and "I'm changing"), the toilets beings switched off for several hours a day, or the construction work going on immediately above my head several mornings during my week there. Also had a few more than what I would consider an acceptable number of bugs in the bathroom.


74%

We stayed for 3 nights and it was great. Staff were helpful and the location is great and pretty safe. The rooms are just a bit small though but clean.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Over all a good place for HK. Internet and staff could be better. Supermarket close by and if you are on a budget I recommend having breakfast at King's Cafe on Causeway road next to the library: 23 HK$ for toast, eggs, pasta w. ham and coffee until 11 am (walk down Kingston road, turn right down Gloucester road until you reach Causeway road. Follow the sidewalk a few meters where it turns left around the park. When you see the stairs to cross Causeway road you see the cafe on the other side.)


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback