X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wang Fat Hostel Reviews

No A1, 2/F, Paterson Bldg., 47 Paterson St., Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
1393 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

expected a bit more than just a place to sleep with wifi - e.g. windows, recommendations for cool things to see, visit or experience around or at least a warm 'welcome'...


77%

I had an issue with my dorm, but the staff sorted it fast and I was upgraded, so all in all a pretty good hostel, the most social of the HK ones I went to !


60%

Water heater is poor. It was 2-5 degrees celcious and freezing cold but the water heater in the shower, is not working ! I could not brush my teeth or wash my face because the water is that freezing! The room was also freezing cold.

  • 23rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel ever!

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Heater do not work all the time.. Space is too small. Staff do not understand english.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Disappointed that weren't allowed to check in despite stated in the booking that I will arrive at 8am - website should abolish this option if hostel does not follow the customers arrival time as the checkin timing. On wang fatt, overall okay, stayed in ten pax mixed dorm; cleaner was very noisy though, kept cursing and swearing in Cantonese when performing house keeping - the beds was albeit messy though but she could have kept her swearing to herself.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely hostel and well located....


89%

Had a great stay at this place! Staff was friendly, the room was clean and well kept, and it is in a great area of town. Definitely would stay here again.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Wow, geat place

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Was here after Xmas to get a visa. Didn't have room in the room I booked so upgraded for free. Room isn't as cramped as other places in hk.. But don't expect a lot still!


66%

Wifi didn't work very well the further you got from the reception desk area. There should be plug sockets next to every bunk rather than 2 plugs for a room of 4. Coffee/ tea facilities should be all day long but at a small charge after 10am. Sign just said morning free 8am-10am but nothing about the rest of the day.


100%

Much more pleasant interior then in other hostels. Very good location. Clean.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good place, in a good location, at a decent price, in a city where everything is way too expensive. I like what this hostel is doing, keep it up.

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Not the best hostel in world, very poor wifi in room areas. Lobby is fine but not ideal if you wish to Skype etc in private. I suggest 4 bed rooms, as the 6/8 are way too small, the beds themselves are good though. There is frequently building work going on on some floors and the drilling carries through the whole building so expect to be woken up early, or have your hangover compounded to make you feel worse! Best part: the price. Hong Kong ain't cheap but this place is very cheap.


54%

I know I sound a bit picky here, but truth be told what hacked me off was the actual construction work that started every morning at 7:30 am , legally in Hong Kong its 9 am. Yes, it was a great alarm clock, but you know its pretty bad, when the toiletry bag in the bathroom fell of from the drilling vibration .room was small and the shower/toilet was even smaller, but it just the cleanness. I arrived on the 1st day and you could see, it was a quick clean up job, the bathroom was still wet.

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

If you stay here make sure you are staying here and get what you have booked. Arriving at 11.00pm after a 21hr travel day I paid for the two rooms booked, one double bed room and one twin room.then the "experience " began as we followed our hostel worker downstairs and out the building,then walked three blocks to a completely different building up to the 11th floor . The rooms were clean but neither had a double bed and the staff member just left. 😒👎 shrugged and left. There were no staff


60%

WiFi as good, location was very good for the price. Didn't get to stay in the main building, which would perhaps have been better. As it was, the room smelled, the atmosphere was nonexistent and two of the mattresses were absolutely unacceptable. Posters displaying the illegality of the hostel were less than comforting.


74%

Our first night was disappointing bec we were given a room that is too ugly and cramped even for two people to move around in. The room was really depressing. But then we were transferred to a much better room with better beds, bathroom, and location which made up for the disappointing first night.

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel has a new name now, HK hostel. It is not as good as the photos show, but it has a good value for money. We moved rooms from a double bed to twin beds (we had booked a twin bed) in another building across the road. Good hostel overall.


60%

Everything felt very grubby. A good clean and sort out would do this place wonders! We were put into a completely separate building with no staff, and the dorm doubled as a common room for two other dorms also. Great location!


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback