Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Washington DC House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 795 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 795 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
Washington DC House Located at 506 H Street NE, , Washington DC.
Washington DC House
USA
Washington DC Washington DC 20002 506 H Street NE
88% 795
38.9003382 -76.9989724
Washington DC House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.0

The social side of this place is great! They have a good common area and lovely staff. There were mice / rats in the rooms though and they went through some bags. That was super gross and put me off this place a bit. I found paper that had been chewed through in my bag and a guy that was staying in the rooms had his chips eaten by whatever animal it was too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.0

Really friendly staff who organise daily events and a free beer at happy hour each night. Pretty ideal location, 10min walk to Union Station and just a bit further to the Mall. I was there midweek so not sure on weekend atmosphere but was quiet during the week (which is what I was after!). Easy to make friends in the kitchen/TV room. Overall, pretty decent hostel without being the absolute best. Would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
9.7

Loved this place! Great atmosphere, friendly people and getting around via public transport is easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
7.7

I chose Washington, D.C. House for its walking proximity to union station and the mall. The bathrooms kitchen and rooms were clean. They even cleaned at 3 a m which woke me up and I finally had to say something. The staff are very helpful. Places to eat are close by if you don't feel like cooking. A grocery store is close. too bad the property owner didn't maintain the place better. Tile floors were cracked, crumbled around showers.. only one toilet on second and third floors 2 on first.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
8.0

Nice place to crash regardless of age or profession.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
10.0

Overall Rating is a perfect 10 because you can``´´t have a better experience.... Cheap supermarkets and the sightseeing highlights are close. If you are lazy: Public transportation options at the front door. The Staff makes this a special place. It is very well organized and the people that work there help with all your questions. Karaoke or pub crawls are just two of the options after you meet your fellow travellers for a round of free beer in the hostel lounge. Can absolutely recommend this!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Dec 2016
9.7

Really friendly atmosphere. Good cheap/free activities each night. Great kitchen facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danielsant1401
  • Malta, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Dec 2016
8.6

+++Nice, helpful staff. Very clean with a great no-shoes policy. Location is some 15 minutes or so walk from the city's highlights, and only a five minute walk from Union Station/bus station. Two large supermarkets very close by. ---No individual power outlets for each bed. Wi-fi in the bedroom was very weak and often did not work. One time there was no hot water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
6.9

I'm not sure if I was unlucky, but there was no hot water for showers ..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
10.0

This place was cool. Free beer, free coffee, tea and entertainment. The staff was exceptional especially Andre who was not even on shift but was incredibly helpful and welcoming. Hands down best hostel in the city! Big home atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.