Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Washington DC House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 876 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 876 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd May 2017
8.9

Good hostel with regular events. Location wise not too far a walk from union station and US Capitol. Beds fairly comfortable and quiet. Not really enough bathrooms and in a bit of bad shape. Wi-Fi didn't really work in rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Domino_Vixen
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2017
9.7

The place is so close to Union station you can walk. Near a bunch of inexpensive eateries and 2 supermarkets. Not noticeable from the street, I walked passed it twice (arriving and while staying) but it is HUGE on the inside and clean. So clean it felt like their grand opening was last night. Wifi was strong, decor gives a home like feel and staff was SUPER friendly. Only downside, limited access to outlets (sorry top bunkers) and showers could be updated- overall worth the stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
7.1

Not bad. Nice travelers. Staff was OK. Voiced being very serious about many rules.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
12th May 2017
8.3

The hostel lounge was unlike any I've been to, a nice living room space/common area for people to socialise, chill out and Netflix or groove to YouTube:-) the beds were comfortable, and staff were absolutely cool, friendly and helpful! Room was tiny for a 6 bed dorm though, and I thought there weren't enough bathrooms to go around. At least you had your own shower and wash-up space. Streetcar right outside takes you to union station:-) I enjoyed my stay and wld highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th May 2017
8.3

The staff is so cool!! Really enjoyed hanging out with them, also met two fellow travelers that I spent one day with exploring the district. Enough bathrooms, didn't have to wait to take a shower, maybe 5-8 minutes walk from Union station and walkable distance to all the tourist places so that I I didn't need to use the subway. Wifi was good in Lobby but sucked in my room(third floor 12 bed dorm), so overall totally worth my money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th May 2017
8.0

Staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful. This place isn't modern but it is clean and although there are no locks on the room doors there are plenty of lockers to store items. Location is great with union station about four blocks away and a bus stop outside that takes you right into the middle of Washington. I was booked into dorm room for four and there was plenty of space and plug sockets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2017
9.4

A great place to stay. Great location (short walk to Union Station, US Capitol, shops, [free] streetcar stop out the front), very clean. The old building adds character and reminded me of several I stayed in in Europe. Nixon and the team were awesome; friendly, inviting, accommodating. Loved the events put on by the hostel; games night and the night tour are must dos. No clothes washing facilities, but several laundromats closeby. Would book again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.9

Nixon and the staff were amazing, really friendly and accommodating! The hostel itself could really do with air con - the rooms were super hot and the fan on the floor didn't do much at all to cool the room down. A few things on the walls are a little loose (sink in the down stairs bathroom for example). BUT as a solo traveller the atmosphere, location and staff were amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Apr 2017
10.0

Once again, the people you meet decide how your journeys are. A massive shout out to the hardworking staff who make me want to return soon! Thank you guys for everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

I stayed in this hostel for four nights and I liked it a lot. The location was on point, with many bars, restaurants, cafes, shops, and grocery stores nearby. The walk to national mall was only 15mins and if you don't want to walk, there is a free street car that can take you to the Union Station where you can use the Metro to go wherever you want. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Mike was a great help with directions and recommendations of places around the area. Will stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.