Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Washington International Student Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,092 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,092 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0
Washington International Student Center Located at 2451 18th Street NW, DC 20009, Washington DC.
Washington International Student Center
USA
Washington DC DC 2451 18th Street NW, DC 20009
75% 1092
38.9218902 -77.0424413
Washington International Student Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

Cool people. Very enjoyable experience. Definitely recommend!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
7.7

Good stay for the price. Our private room was very spacious and clean sheets. The area is great. The street of the hostel is very lively. Lots of bars and restaurants and it took us about 25 minutes to walk to the whitehouse! In general though, I think the place is due for a good spring cleaning especially bathrooms and kitchen. It says they accept credit card but they don't we were lucky to have cash at the time but normally we don't and would prefer card payment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Heathercw
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
10.0

Very nice people and perfect location. I walked every day to the downtown area, only 30 minutes. I Recommend it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
4.6

Dirty and stinky place with disgusting kitchen. Better to avoid it. But staff was friendly

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
9.1

I enjoyed my time there, great environment! ! Very accommodating and friendly staff. My plans are to stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
9.7

This place had everything you could possibly need for a staying in Washington DC, walked to all the main tourist attractions but also close to the metro bus. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable as well as friendly. The huge positive is the price, such a good price for a great stay. very enjoyable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
6.6

It was ok. Room was clean but without any wardrobes or table.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2016
9.1

great location. close to everything. Adams Morgan. easy walk to transportation

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
3.7

The shabby entrance is difficult to find. The hostel changed our arrival time to 9 pm for some reason and had to still prepare the room. It took only 2min and it was obvious that it hadn't been cleaned for ages with large piles of dust and dirt on the floor. In general the place is extremly dirty. Although otherwise stated, the owner pushes for cash payment and is very reluctant to accept credit card. During the night someone tried to enter our room, the atmosphere is unpleasant. Not worth it!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The entrance is set back by the design of the building more than 80 years ago. It is made of steel and glass and has a security lock to it. The day you came was the first day of someone working here. That is true it had to be cleaned and someone stayed there the night before. The hostel is cleaned each and everyday from 11:00am until 2:00pm We prefer to take cash over credit for the simple reason of credit card companies take 4.5% from each transaction. By doing as we do we are able to reduce the money to give to banks. It is quite possible someone who was drunk stuck their key into your door and that is not good but hard to stop. We were full while you were here and did not mingle with others here.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
5.7

Disorganised place - overbooked and had to sleep on a mattress on the floor (was recompensated one night's room price). Staff were very unprofessional and lacked enthusiasm. Not very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.