Hostelworld.com

Washington International Student Center

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 1,044 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 1,044 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.7
Washington International Student Center Located at 2451 18th Street NW, DC 20009, Washington DC.
Washington International Student Center
USA
Washington DC DC 2451 18th Street NW, DC 20009
71% 1044
38.9218902 -77.0424413
Washington International Student Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
7.4

Steve the owner is very accommodating and great guy. Kitchen is good and free breakfast is also good. Beds were comfy and bathroom was clean. We walked everywhere but as back packers we are used to it, all the monuments are at the bottom of the road about 30 mins walk. We did have a bit of a strange girl in our room, waking up with her staring at me. But it's the US :-)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
4.9

Although this hostel is one of the cheapest in Washington if I had my time again I would have stayed somewhere more expensive. You can defiantly tell this is a cheap hostel, poor quality beds and a lack of facilities. I travelled here alone and the hostel had no atmosphere and the staff seemed fairly uninterested. The location is reasonable about a 35 min walk into the main sights but it is on a street full of bars and restaurants which meant there were places to go. Would not recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2016
4.6

Hostel was ok... No Hostel atmosphere at all so I would not recommend it for people traveling alone. Location was very good if you like having a beer in the evening but a bit far to the central area (where visitors spend most time). Biggest disadvantages: 1. No lockers or anything like that 2. One shower-toilette for the whole floor. Waited ages in the morning to just go to the toilette... Breakfast was white toast and marmalade. Looked like you do not want to eat that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
9.7

The hostel is a great value and is in a great area with lots of clubs to go at night. The atmosphere was good there and the staff was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
9.1

Good hostel, great location. Everyone was very nice there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
5.1

I have an overwhelming sense of adequate, but minimal, regarding my stay here. I was not expecting much anyway, but I chose to go elsewhere for my second night. I happened to have a rental car, and parking was a huge issue. There were no places to park on the street anywhere near the hostel. It just made it far more trouble than it was worth to stay there again. But, really, everything was minimal including the friendliness factor of the guy running things.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
7.7

Front desk person showed up late at morning checkout.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
3.1

The staff was fighting all the time with some clients. The only bright side is the location, it's close to the bus stop, nightclubs and restaurants.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
7.1

The facilities are not the best. The rooms are bare, and the blankets are a bit scratchy. The bathroom isn't filthy, but it doesn't feel very clean either. At the same time, this place is in a prime location of DC next to many good restaurants and public transportation. The zoo is just a few minutes walk away, and it's free! Simple free breakfast is provided, which is awesome! It's a cheap hostel, and you get what you pay for. If I come back to the DC area, I would definitely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
6.0

Location was good but it wasn't that clean at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.