X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Washington International Student Center Reviews

2451 18th Street NW, DC 20009, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
880 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Location is definitely unbeatable, and it is cheap! There aren't many restrooms available so you might have to wait. Try to get a room far from the window facing the 18th street as the place is quite noisy at nights. Breakfast is ok. Ask for an additional blanket if you are traveling during winter or spring. I didn't get their forbid sleeping bag signs, why?

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a great time in DC.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved my stay at the Student Center. Facilities were great, the staff was remarkable, and the neighborhood had a great vibe. This will be my first choice for hostels in DC the next time I stay at a hostel, definitely!

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

I liked that the room was clean but the blankets and pillow cases need to be replaced. The blankets seemed so worn out. I really wished that there would have been a fan, the room was stuffy even though I left the window opened the whole night. The bathroom was super clean. The staff present on my arrival were very nice. The hostel is in a great location. I would recommend this hostel to peers.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tanzania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

First of all the location is brilliant! The hostel is only a 30 minute walk away so I had no problem seeing all the sights Washington, D.C. has to offer. The night life around the hostel is brilliant as there are clubs and bars all up and down the street. The staff were all really cool and friendly and the atmosphere was always chilled and relaxing. If you're going to Washington then this is the place to go!


83%

We had a problem about the place to sleep. However, all staff were kind to us and we had a good time in this hostel. :)

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff was helpful and knowledgable about the city. The rooms are simple but enough to sleep in. Only downside is the private rooms have no bathrooms. Good location, easy access to public transportation.

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Best. Ever. If you like laid back places and chill people, this is the place for you. For a wild time, go to shenanigans for the open bar Friday and Saturday ($10 all you an drink)

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent location (lively bars and discos), Bus leading to Dupon Circle - which leads to easy access to many of Washington monuments, theaters). Friendly atmosphere.


100%

It is really convenient which is near subway station and DC zoo, and it is surrounded by many restaurants and lovely stores. I had a very good night there.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel was in older building but it was in the middle of all the action of many clubs. Would come back again but in warmer times.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is in the middle of the Adams Morgan area of Washington DC so this makes it easy to get around and Adams Morgan is awesome to party in. Hostel was cool and had a good vibe to it.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good location with a direct bus to Dupont Circle. Lively area : lots of bars and discos around.


97%

Great place to stay. Helpful with information. Easy to get to places around Washington DC. Right in the middle of many good clubs and places to eat.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel was good value for money and facilities were good. But it was noisy at night and the rooms weren't very a bit messy and cramped, mostly because I shared a dorm with a number of long term residents who had a lot of stuff! Good location in Adams Morgan, which is a bit far from the city's main attractions but a cool neighbourhood to hang out in.


63%

It is a decent place to stay, it is safe, the bathroom was clean and that is an extra, they should update some of the things like their blankets. We were able to leave our stuff there after check out time and that is great! Somebody should clean the kitchen thororugly. The staff is rude sometines, exept for the girl that speaks Spanish and the boy, they were very nice!

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Location is very far from the Washington main sites


51%

Even though the stuff was really friendly an nice, this hostel is definitely not the money worth. Since my standards aren't that high I were able to stay one night there, but I would definitely not chose that hostel again. Our window didn't shut, the floor wasn't cleaned, the bathroom was full of hair, dust and dirt and the kitchen was so messy. People who can't handle dirt shouldn't go there. It's just way to expensive for what you get at the end.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

i thot it was really interestingly located in the alternative district... lots of african culture specific experiences of food and music available right below. although i didnt have a problem with security really missed having lockers in d room. just feels better... People running the hostel were terrific... :-)


46%

The hostel is quite dirty; obvious cleaners do a minimal job to ensure place looks tidy. No hand soap in any of the bathrooms...which is disgusting. Staff are mediocre and found a couple of then to e rude...the owner isn't friendly. I rather spend money to stay somewhere clean with friendly staff. I've stayed at Duo and the prices are very similar; however duo is clean and the staff are great. After this experience I won't be staying at Washington student international center.


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback