Hostelworld.com

Washington International Student Center

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Feb 2017
8.6

Great location; very nice people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Excellent in every way. Manager and staff great and very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
9.7

I loved this place - it was clean and unlike so many hostels these days, it had great atmosphere and interesting people staying at it. I felt very safe and it was on a great street with lots of nightlife in Washington. I was there for the inauguration so I met lots of interesting people at the hostel and have memories of it forever. I can get loud at night, but thats life. Its great value for money and the staff are very helpful. I would recommend it to everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

The Washington International Student Center is an amazing and a budget place for students traveling. It's located at Adam's Morgan, which has numerous bars and restaurants that you could go to and is probably one of the most lively places in DC. My stay was for two days and it was nice to meet people from different countries there. They give out maps and suggestions as to where one should go, which helps tremendously. Steve, at the desk, and the other staff were really friendly and helpful too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

Honestly, one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! They have everything you're looking for in a hostel; the staff is super friendly and accommodating, clean spaces and fun atmosphere! Great location too! Definitely staying here on my next trip through D.C.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
8.6

Really good location! Good WiFi! But they don't get the cards,only cash! Good stuff! If you wanna go to Washington for having fun- this is the best option!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
10.0

I came into DC for a job and had to find a temporary home while I transitioned into a new place. Washington International Student Center in Washington DC was amazing. The location is perfect, walking distance to great choices for dining of any kind. They are just steps away from buses to any part of the city you need to get to and a less than 10 minute walk to the metro. The staff were really helpful in explaining how to navigate as well! Great Owner and Place! Safe and Clean with a lot of charm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • davidssonandrew8627
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Nov 2016
5.1

Absolutely strange atmosphere amongst the staff and the hostel in general. Kitchen was quite dirty and I have low standards. Bathrooms were OK, my bed was broken. YOU DO NOT GET BREAKFAST! Breakfast was mouldy bread, bad coffee all served up on unclean dishes. However it is cheap and the location is good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You do get bread, juice, milk, tea, coffee, jam, peanut butter, fruit from 8:00am to 10:00pm everyday. The bread cannot be moldy because we buy it fresh everyday. The kitchen gets cleaned 2 times a day and after 30 years doing this I can say the one consistent item that never changes is people think Mom will there to clean up and we do not have someone to monitor the kitchen. But on the days I have and worked from the kitchen it is amazing how people do clean up after they eat. True, some of the staff right now are like Trump meets reality and I cannot make them love the other.

3rd Nov 2016
10.0

I stayed at the Washington Intl. Student Center for one night. The staff was very helpful and pleasant during my stay and the facilities (bedroom, bathroom, public areas) were all very clean. I really enjoyed my stay here, especially for the price. I highly recommend the Center to anyone looking for a welcoming place to crash in D.C. Thanks again for the hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2016
7.1

The staff was super helpful, always offering advice. The place appeared old and cluttered, albeit clean. Things were secure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.