Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Washington International Student Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1207 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1207 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • bellehughes
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
8.3

Great location, although you can hear the bar downstairs, you have to pay $6 extra for lockers but it has a great atmosphere and super friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
10.0

Cannot ask for a better location in DC! Amazing staff, comfortable beds and fully-equipped kitchen. Best part? Clean and full-sized private bathrooms -- what more could a woman ask for?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
8.3

The place is convenient. There are happenings around the area during the weekend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
10.0

It was a great experience to hang out with people of different countries, would recommend to try the restaurants around and walk down all the way to the National Mall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2017
7.4

Hostel is located on a popular street near plenty of eateries, but it was very hard to find as there is no signage outside. It will get loud at night because of the bars underneath the hostel. Staff is friendly enough, no soap in hallway bathroom to wash hands, but there was soap in the downstairs bathroom, kitchen is small and at times, VERY crowded! Outlets in my room didn't work and are impossible to use if you're on the top bunk. This place is good for 1 night and I most likely won't return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
9.4

I stayed from july 22-24 2017 at this hostel and I really liked it. I think this is the cheapest hostel in DC considering that the location is great! You can walk to the White house or other nearby turistic places, and if you don't want to walk there are bus stations in front of the hostel and one block away. The staff is very friendly, the bathrooms are clean and there is a small kitchen with a refrigerator you can use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
8.9

Great place for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jul 2017
5.1

Pretty average hence the 5.1 / 10 I have given it. Good for a pit stop kind of stay perhaps, not for multiple nights though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
6.0

DC student hostel is a great name that does not deliver on its potential. A visitor could enjoy its funk if the tv didn't occupy the center of attention in the living room, if the facility celebrated the values of hosteling, and if a resident didn't have to pinch her legs together while waiting for a bathroom to become free, in the morning. I might not have put such an edge on my review, except the owner took advantage of uncertainty in my plans to charge me for a day more than was fair.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
6.0

Barebones. Bed, air con and a bathroom. Dont look for or expect more. There is a small dirty kitchen. Location is right in the middle of party town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.