X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Washington International Student Center Reviews

2451 18th Street NW, DC 20009, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
864 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The staff was helpful and knowledgable about the city. The rooms are simple but enough to sleep in. Only downside is the private rooms have no bathrooms. Good location, easy access to public transportation.

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Best. Ever. If you like laid back places and chill people, this is the place for you. For a wild time, go to shenanigans for the open bar Friday and Saturday ($10 all you an drink)

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent location (lively bars and discos), Bus leading to Dupon Circle - which leads to easy access to many of Washington monuments, theaters). Friendly atmosphere.


100%

It is really convenient which is near subway station and DC zoo, and it is surrounded by many restaurants and lovely stores. I had a very good night there.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel was in older building but it was in the middle of all the action of many clubs. Would come back again but in warmer times.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is in the middle of the Adams Morgan area of Washington DC so this makes it easy to get around and Adams Morgan is awesome to party in. Hostel was cool and had a good vibe to it.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good location with a direct bus to Dupont Circle. Lively area : lots of bars and discos around.


97%

Great place to stay. Helpful with information. Easy to get to places around Washington DC. Right in the middle of many good clubs and places to eat.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

It is a decent place to stay, it is safe, the bathroom was clean and that is an extra, they should update some of the things like their blankets. We were able to leave our stuff there after check out time and that is great! Somebody should clean the kitchen thororugly. The staff is rude sometines, exept for the girl that speaks Spanish and the boy, they were very nice!

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Location is very far from the Washington main sites


51%

Even though the stuff was really friendly an nice, this hostel is definitely not the money worth. Since my standards aren't that high I were able to stay one night there, but I would definitely not chose that hostel again. Our window didn't shut, the floor wasn't cleaned, the bathroom was full of hair, dust and dirt and the kitchen was so messy. People who can't handle dirt shouldn't go there. It's just way to expensive for what you get at the end.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

i thot it was really interestingly located in the alternative district... lots of african culture specific experiences of food and music available right below. although i didnt have a problem with security really missed having lockers in d room. just feels better... People running the hostel were terrific... :-)


46%

The hostel is quite dirty; obvious cleaners do a minimal job to ensure place looks tidy. No hand soap in any of the bathrooms...which is disgusting. Staff are mediocre and found a couple of then to e rude...the owner isn't friendly. I rather spend money to stay somewhere clean with friendly staff. I've stayed at Duo and the prices are very similar; however duo is clean and the staff are great. After this experience I won't be staying at Washington student international center.


91%

This hostel has a very friendly and courteous stuff, a cozy living room and it is located in an artsy area with lots of different restaurants around. The price is a bargain! I highly recommend this place to travelers who want to get to know interesting people and the world out there.


66%

The facility is average. Service is average. I wonder how it is in the peak season.


89%

Had a great time Steve and the staff were friendly and helpful. Not clean but not dirty . Crazy cheap and great location. Bravo. You won't regret a stay here

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Neighborhood is a very bar/nightlife heavy area and having stayed in the front room there was a lot of incedental noise. Not anything reflected on the site themselves, but if you are a light sleeper it may be an issue for you.


69%

Excellent value. Friendly people. A computer charger went missing between leaving in the morning and coming back at night, even though the door was locked. On a different day, we came back to find the door unlocked and left wide open, even though it was definitely locked when we left in the morning. We had a private room, so the only thing that makes sense with these incidents is if the people that come around and vacuum the rooms every day accidentally left the door unlocked.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

I've slept in many hostels, but this hostel was the worst ever. The people were nice but also very strange. The beds were very old and it smelled disgusting in the whole house. There was not enough privacy and we have not felt really safe. The next subway station is about 10 minutes away.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The price for living there was very cheap compared to much convenience we could get from here and we could fully enjoy the trip in the middle of the city near the downtown. One of the staffs helped me out with the Wi-Fi problem very kindly and we had a lot of fun there!!

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback