Hostelworld.com

Waterfront Backpackers Cairns

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 74 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 74 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.6
Waterfront Backpackers Cairns Located at 83 Esplanade, , Cairns.
Waterfront Backpackers Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 83 Esplanade
62% 74
-16.9195430 145.7767940
Waterfront Backpackers Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2016
7.1

I stayed for 7 days in this hostel. It was quite ok, the location is amazing you are right in front of the Lagoon and for those who wants to do tours around Cairns in boat/ferry/catamaran, it's 5 minutes away from the docks and 10 metres away from a pick-up stop. Regrettably there are 2 bathrooms per floor to share with a lot of people. That means waiting a lot and gross showers. (shower and WC are in the same room). People are never present at the reception, but when they are they are very nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
6.9

The bedrooms were nice- very clean and a decent size. The bathrooms, however, were dirty and small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Mar 2016
6.0

Doors to the room was always unlocked or opened, the shower not so fresh but the kitchen was the worst. No one cleaned up after them selfs. The bed old and really hard, didn't have the think mattress over as they would have needed. But good location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Feb 2016
7.1

Pros: excellent location, friendly staff. Good wifi. Responded quickly when bathroom light broke. Cons: air con only allowed from 5pm-10am + couldn't really feel it unless you were on the bed below. Bathroom not cleaned once during our 3 night stay. No lock on bathroom. Asked 4 times for fridge key for locker- had none + no space in communal fridge. Had to use lighter to work hob. Stayed here for the computers but unfortunately will not return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2016
8.3

We found our stay at the Waterfront to be comfortable, quiet and easy. It's right in the centre of where you want to be, next to th lagoon and shops. Wifi was really good here too, kitchen facilities were fine although a bit dirty at times! Pool isn't really used as its a bit grubby, but was used here and there. Quiet at night which is really nice and beds were comfortable too. We found one staff member really helpful, we think his name was Benny. There was generally a friendly atmosphere too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2016
9.4

The only thing lacking imo was lockers-my 6-bed dorm had a lock on the door and shelves but no lockbox for my passport or computer. Otherwise this hostel might be my favorite place so far. Right across from the Lagoon swim area and pier, right on a strip of restaurants and bars. Staff were very polite and helpful, and the free bbq on Thursday was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2015
2.6

Defenetly the worst hostel we have stayed in in any country .we booked in for 4 nights over Christmas. We arrived at 12.50pm and got told we could not check in till 1pm 10 minutes early big deal. Eventually check in at 1.50p no fridge space so could not buy food.small dark room realy springy matteres horrible Super thin walls kept up till 5am people openly taking drugs the mess next day was unreal fags on floor beer tables broke .....no j check out Christmas day 2 days early no refund cheers

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2015
2.0

This hostel is horrendous!!! Booked online to stay here and when we arrived the door was locked and there was a number, i rang it and the man said he would be there in 5 minutes...half an hour pasted and he still wasnt there, then we saw other backpackers arrive who said they had been waiting since 10am that morning, when he eventually arrived we had already booked into another hostel and told that we probably wouldnt get our money back...oh yeah and he looked stoned out of his face!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.