Hostelworld.com

Welcome Surf Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
Welcome Surf Hostel Located at Iha Grande, Angra dos Reis, Ilha Grande.
Welcome Surf Hostel
Brazil
Ilha Grande Rio de Janeiro 23968000 Iha Grande, Angra dos Reis
80% 156
-23.1433393 -44.1676890
Welcome Surf Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th May 2016
8.6

Enjoyed my stay at Welcome Surf! My one gripe was the wifi was very spotty and even gave out for an entire day. Besides that, the rooms were what you'd expect for what you're paying, the staff are incredibly friendly, and the location is decent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cecisimon
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd May 2016
8.9

The hostel has everything you need! Staff is really friendly! Especially Leo is really helpful! It's a short walk from the center of town which is nice. Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Da hora esse hostel! Bem localizado e atendimento muito bom! Bob Marley vibes

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
9.1

Nice hostel, good location 7min from the village center, staff was really helpful and told us a lot about the island and what to do. The common area is great. The rooms were a bit cramped though and being in the room next to the generator, it was really noisy when the generator was on at one night. Overall a very good hostel - recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Mar 2016
10.0

Really nice relaxed hostel. So near the beach

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2016
9.4

The owners were really amazing! My friends and I were able to watch some Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and we even participated in a lesson in the backyard.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
6.3

Bit of a walk from the centre, down a long dark road, but great for lingering at night. Staff quite helpful, don't speak a lot of English, kinda sounded like Spanish but don't think it was Beds were very comfy and curtains gave privacy 😉 NOTE: not sound proof Good breakfast, fair few wasps though. Wifi 4.65/10 Bring your own alcohol and common area very cool with lots of hammocks and sofas and chairs and seats. Man who works there was giving judo lessons every night so felt very safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
8.3

The hostel was great! Very clean and I loved the living room 'cause it didn't have any walls, it felt really like I was in nature all the time. And there was a river next to the hostel so you could hear the sound of water, nice! Breakfast was good too. Only thing was in the 4 people dorm that it was very little, but it doesn't really matter. And I saw the 8 dorm rooms, I would recommend them, very big and nice :) Also the hostel is very good for solo travelers! Thank you for a great stay! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
8.0

good solid hostel in ihla grande. a little far away from the main area but otherwise decent showers and facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Feb 2016
2.6

This hostel seems nice on the surface but in reality it is not very welcoming at all! It's very dirty and our bathroom was only cleaned once in 5 days staying there. In our room we could hear mice at night time and there were ants everywhere. Also the wifi only worked for a grand total of about 3 hours in 6 days! Not the best choice in Ilha Grande. For the services they provide they should be charging half the price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.