X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Welcome Surf Hostel Reviews

Iha Grande, Angra dos Reis, Ilha Grande, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
66 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I booked this accommodation because it was the only one left on hostelworld with a decent rating. You can actually find cheap accommodation on arrival but under the circumstances this hostel offers adequate accommodation under the limited power that the island provides. Leonardo is a ledgend and there is certainly room for improvement but overall it's not the worst stay on the island.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

no very nice atmosphere, also I live my phone in charge in the room and is disappear , problably who clean my room take it. I tool to the owner and he was no very interested to find who stolen.


54%

There is not much to this place. It's a bed and not a lot else. Common areas are outdoors and basic. Very expensive for what it is and the checkin was a little aggressive in seeking upfront payment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry, but beyond the beds, we have a self service breackfast than you can eat at will, (less carry snacks for tours), internet, SmarTV 40 in. with 250 channels, netflix, you tube, etc., kitchen for guests, library, interactive games and refrigerator of community use. While in the payment on the checkin, we have many people to control, and when we leave to pay after breaking all control, so we need payment at the checkin.

54%

This is a decent hostel that does what it says on the tin. Unfortunately, the owners were inflexible, unhelpful and only seemed interested in the money.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Always help as we can, and we are felxiveis as this in our power, however the client arrived at the time of checkin wanting to cancel a day, and cancellation policy very clear that this refund only canceled 15 days in advance reservations, however several times refund money bookings canceled whith 2 days to checking, but come up with to check in with the news that want to stay one day less, it is impossible we break this rule ... Thanks

94%

Ilha Grande is a great place to visit and Welcome Surf Hostel a great place to stay. Even though in a large dorm you have your privacy and it's very clean 8including the bathroom that belongs to the dorm). Yes, you have to walk a little bit to get there, but not far at all. Whoever complains about that shouldn't have gone to Ilha Grande anyway, because you probably haven't appreciated the island with its small village and great nature either!


91%

really cool hostel to have a nice time!!

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A really nice hostel, great communal area to relax in and meet people, well organised and very helpful staff.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Breakfast was okay. Internet worked in reception fine. Rooms were quite dark and gloomy. We had 1 shower and toilet for a room of 14. Bags didn't fit in the lockers. Quiet hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for take your time to give us a feedback. We would like to clarify that we haven’t got any room for 14 beds, in fact, our biggest room is for 12 beds, we also offer rooms with 8 and 4 beds each. We also agree that only one shower and toilet for 12 beds room can be a bit crowded sometimes, especially at this time of the year, that’s why we have 2 toilets and 2 showers outside of the rooms. We appreciate your feedback and take on board your comments. Welcome Surf Hostel

97%

We stayed for a week in a tropical paradise called Ilha Grande and we have made a great choice staying in Welcome surf hostel. This place being almost in a jungle has ATMOSPHERE. The staff is great and really helpful, facilities and rooms are fine if you don't expect Sheraton for this kind of money. I would definitely recommend staying there


57%

Nothing special. But it was okey. The manager seemed more intrested in the hostels survailance cameras then the comfort of the guests.

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel. Wi-fi works fine, great beds and matresses, good vibe and staff. Just ignore the comment that says the hostel is in a hill. Its not a hill at all, its a 5 min easy walk to the center.


80%

chilled hostel in an awesome island. people complained about the walk but its was fine. like a 5 to 10 min walk Max. was chilled atmosphere and the guys who ran it was a chilled surfer. pretty expensive but I'm guessing most ilha grande accom is during January. could do with more toilets but overall it was cool

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your staing Here...

100%

Great hostel with a nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good breakfast and facilities. Great for solo travelers wanting to meet similar minded people. I was told it was a long walk there, but it was just up the road which was good as it was very quiet at night when you wanted to sleep.


86%

Very cool little hostel, staff were very warm and welcoming, despite language barrier, and not too far from the beach. Really enjoyed our stay here

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The breakfast was nice but that's the best part of this hostel. It's far away compared to the other hostels and at a hill. Looks cosy if you like that style but that's it. Internet wasn't working.


80%

Really nice stay, not to loud but still not too far away from the city center and the beach! Friendly staff!


89%

It was a lovely place to stay, the staff were great, it's a really chilled out hostel. The beds are comfy, the breakfast is good, warm showers. I would recommend you take a mosquito net as there are lots of them, but they're sort of inescapable on Ilha Grande.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Really liked this hostel! Very nice atmosphere. During the day chill and at night everyone comes together downstairs have a drink. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Would prefer real doors with normal lock with key, now it are separate locks with code. The village is very small so everything is closeby. Loved my stay here!


89%

The were really great and helpful. Even with a language barrier they tried to help us booking buses and drew us maps for out next destination. Great home feeling and chill out areas. Thanks for a lovely stay!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

This was a pretty hip hostel a short walk from the main village. I loved the hammocks in the common area, they were so comfortable!! The breakfast was good and the rooms were reasonably clean. It got cold at night so make sure you ask for a blanket.


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Ilha Grande Hostels

Please give us your feedback