X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Welcome Surf Hostel Reviews

Iha Grande, Angra dos Reis, Ilha Grande, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
91 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

the staff are very helpful and even stored my belongings for a couple of days while I hiked part of the island. The curtains on the beds is a nice little touch of privacy in such large rooms.


83%

I really like this hostel but we had no breakfast since it was a low season (beginning of June).

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I spend a really good weekend, the hostel was plenty of young travellers, the atmosphere was great, people from the reception are really nice, they are always offering help ang giving advices for the treks or any kind of tour. They let us organise a BBQ in the hostel. I recommend (especially for the kindness of the staff on reception) !

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The place is great! Clean, have a cozy meeting room, accept credit cards.. and abave all things have a great staff.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel to stay at and from there explore the island. The hostel is on the outskirt of the small town. There is a very relaxed vibe, couches, and hammocks where your can relax add to this feeling. The beds are exceptional comfortable; proper matrasses! And the breakfast contains all to start of your day. Staff is friendly, helpfull and cleaned two times a day when i was there. I would definitly recommend staying here.


69%

Cats all over the place (so be careful if you're allergic) and quite far uphill and not many lights on the road at night. Otherwise nice place, helpful host, good breakfast. Kitchen offers basic equipment if you want to cook for yourself, Internet is fast and reliable.


29%

The hostel is far from the beach or the main street compared to other hostels in the island, and the access is not the best if you're carrying a suitcase. There's no warm water in the shower. Leonardo, the owner, and his friends, are really creepy. If you book through any agency, like hostel world, Leonardo will send you an email asking for your credit card info to pay half of the prize on the reservation... I wouldn't repeat my stay at that hostel, not even for free.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Solo female traveller that stayed three nights. Positives: was quiet so got to know the others staying, clean, small lockers in room, curtains around bed, quiet, owner/manager friendly and we all went out one night. Negatives: rustic, had to walk downstairs for toilet, no soap for hand washing, a bit further back from the main area (not necessarily negative but I was followed one night and asked someone to walk me because it was quiet and dark)


54%

Really lovely staff, sadly though the property is too far away from the beach when compared to other places and also found it to be quite expensive for what it was . Very quiet place, stay here if you are looking to relax for a few days


63%

Quite far away from the beach. Although not a long walk, it's a little bit into the jungle which is a very damp and humid environment. The beds are very good have curtains. Plenty on charge points in dorms. Could be run better if the owner was around more. Decent value for Ilha Grande but not great place. Breakfast had ants crawling on it on more than one occasion. Could have been a bit cleaner over all.


49%

The room smelled damp, the room was not Secure. 2 staff members were lovely, one not helpful or friendly. Path to hostel, slippy and dangerous when wet and carrying rucksacks.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I booked this accommodation because it was the only one left on hostelworld with a decent rating. You can actually find cheap accommodation on arrival but under the circumstances this hostel offers adequate accommodation under the limited power that the island provides. Leonardo is a ledgend and there is certainly room for improvement but overall it's not the worst stay on the island.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

We had a great time at Welcome Surf, the man who welcomed us was incredibly kind and helpful. We were in a 12 bed dorm which was very crowded and dark and the bathroom always had a wet floor and no soap. Breakfast was okay. It has such a nice relaxed feel. We were happy to be there.


54%

There is not much to this place. It's a bed and not a lot else. Common areas are outdoors and basic. Very expensive for what it is and the checkin was a little aggressive in seeking upfront payment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry, but beyond the beds, we have a self service breackfast than you can eat at will, (less carry snacks for tours), internet, SmarTV 40 in. with 250 channels, netflix, you tube, etc., kitchen for guests, library, interactive games and refrigerator of community use. While in the payment on the checkin, we have many people to control, and when we leave to pay after breaking all control, so we need payment at the checkin.

54%

This is a decent hostel that does what it says on the tin. Unfortunately, the owners were inflexible, unhelpful and only seemed interested in the money.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Always help as we can, and we are felxiveis as this in our power, however the client arrived at the time of checkin wanting to cancel a day, and cancellation policy very clear that this refund only canceled 15 days in advance reservations, however several times refund money bookings canceled whith 2 days to checking, but come up with to check in with the news that want to stay one day less, it is impossible we break this rule ... Thanks

94%

Ilha Grande is a great place to visit and Welcome Surf Hostel a great place to stay. Even though in a large dorm you have your privacy and it's very clean 8including the bathroom that belongs to the dorm). Yes, you have to walk a little bit to get there, but not far at all. Whoever complains about that shouldn't have gone to Ilha Grande anyway, because you probably haven't appreciated the island with its small village and great nature either!


91%

really cool hostel to have a nice time!!

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
74%

Overall a good hostel. Only thing I did not appreciate were all the rules in terms of cooking, breakfast etc etc. Could be a bit cheaper though


89%

A really nice hostel, great communal area to relax in and meet people, well organised and very helpful staff.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Breakfast was okay. Internet worked in reception fine. Rooms were quite dark and gloomy. We had 1 shower and toilet for a room of 14. Bags didn't fit in the lockers. Quiet hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for take your time to give us a feedback. We would like to clarify that we haven’t got any room for 14 beds, in fact, our biggest room is for 12 beds, we also offer rooms with 8 and 4 beds each. We also agree that only one shower and toilet for 12 beds room can be a bit crowded sometimes, especially at this time of the year, that’s why we have 2 toilets and 2 showers outside of the rooms. We appreciate your feedback and take on board your comments. Welcome Surf Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Ilha Grande Hostels

Please give us your feedback