Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 650 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 650 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel Located at Venloer Str. 196, 50823 Koln, Cologne.
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel
Germany
Cologne North Rhine Westphalia Venloer Str. 196, 50823 Koln
83% 650
50.9462473 6.9260430
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Sep 2016
8.9

It takes 20-30 minutes to walk to city centre, but u just go straight and it really near aldi(I like it a lot). The bed is really clean too, totally recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Sep 2016
7.7

1. Kitchen has *extremely* stinked for even 3 days (!!) and bad odour was present even on WHOLE floor, which you can not avoid. 2. Absolutely sensational 20€ key deposit -- 40€ for a couple! 3. Location is decent, but very noisy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.9

What a lovely atmosphere! The staff are very friendly and the bar beneath the hostel is attractive and fun. Their own brewed liqueur is delicious! The clientele they receive comes from far and wide. I met more folks who weren't staying overnight then I did folks in my own room. It is a more vintage appeal, but just delightful. I would definitely stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jul 2016
8.3

Had a lovely weekend in Cologne. The hostel is at a super location in the middle of the lively neighbourhood Ehrenfeld. Bars, nice cafés and restaurants are in walking distance from the hotel, and there is a huge park nearby. Would go here again for another weekend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
8.6

It was a good place to recharge and just chill. Kitchen is awesome except that the wifi doenst work in there and that's pretty much the only common room space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
7.7

Hostel is in okay location out of town. Easiest way to get there is by underground. The shared kitchen was always duty with other people's dishes As it is up to guests to clean then but people always left theirs which we often had to end up cleaning other guests also stole our food from the fridge. Furniture in shared area broken. Wifi is very intermitant and does not work in shared area😭. Our locks didn't fit the lockers so unless we purchased one of theirs we were unable to secure our belongi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
7.1

Not the greatest, nor the worst hostel I've stayed in. The kitchen was dingy and unremarkable, so I decided not to cook food there. The showers and rooms were clean (the bed was very comfortable). Adequate for the 2 nights I was there since I wasn't planning on spending much time at the hostel during my stay. Some members of the staff were great, others were a little less so. I would only stay here again if only needed a place for one or two nights, otherwise I would go elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
8.6

Very accessible located right next to a underground train station. Clean facilities with a very open feel to the rooms. The staff are friendly and made checking in and checking out swift and easy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Wuffybrother
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.9

Great hostel in Cologne!! Awesome rooms, great quality comfortable beds, awesome facilities and super friendly and helpful staff. Everything you could ever need. Highly recommended! :) :D

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jun 2016
4.0

I found this to be overpriced. The staff were not terribly helpful. The check out times are idiotic as well. 8 pm ? So what happens if you get in late? You just sleep on the street? My room was also super noisy as it was on a main road. I would not recommend staying here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.