Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel Located at Venloer Str. 196, 50823 Koln, Cologne.
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel
Germany
Cologne North Rhine Westphalia Venloer Str. 196, 50823 Koln
84% 667
50.9462473 6.9260430
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
9.1

I had an excellent stay. The highlight was definitely The TS Eliot Appreciation Society playing in the café which is a lovely place to eat and/or relax in the day. Despite it not being close to the main attractions, the area around the hostel has loads of nice independent shops and restaurants and it's a nice walk into town through the park. Its also literally right next to an u-bahn station. The rooms were really nice but the wifi didn't work in them. Overall great stay though. I'd come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
9.1

This is a good hostel, location is a little bit of but next to the Underground makes up for that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice hostel with a great staff, but the room's lockers are too small. My backpack didn't fit in them. It's just at the Piusstraße station. Good location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
8.9

Great stay! 30 minute walk from centre, but short metro ride. Nicest hostel cafe I've seen. Real local spot. Kitchen closes at 22:00, so make your dinner before then if you're cooking your own meal. Homemade soup, salad, bread, 2 beers, and tea for €11 was a great deal in the cafe downstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Oct 2016
9.4

Always a pleasure! Only reading lights are not perfect. Way to bright and direction cant be mooved. They shine directly into your face.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
29th Sep 2016
10.0

Fantastic location, right next to a tube station and an excellent bar downstairs. Comfy beds, clean bathrooms and helpful staff, would stay again! Danke schön :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Sep 2016
8.9

It takes 20-30 minutes to walk to city centre, but u just go straight and it really near aldi(I like it a lot). The bed is really clean too, totally recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Sep 2016
7.7

1. Kitchen has *extremely* stinked for even 3 days (!!) and bad odour was present even on WHOLE floor, which you can not avoid. 2. Absolutely sensational 20€ key deposit -- 40€ for a couple! 3. Location is decent, but very noisy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2016
8.6

This was a nice hostel in a nice area. There is a common room and a cafe, but not the easiest to meet people there. I also tried doing laundry and the dryer didn't work properly. Not a huge deal, but annoying. Beds were comfy and the bathroom in the room was really nice!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.9

What a lovely atmosphere! The staff are very friendly and the bar beneath the hostel is attractive and fun. Their own brewed liqueur is delicious! The clientele they receive comes from far and wide. I met more folks who weren't staying overnight then I did folks in my own room. It is a more vintage appeal, but just delightful. I would definitely stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.