Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 710 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 710 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels I've stayed at! Rooms are a good size and confortable, very good security and staff are friendly too. The hostel is based above a very cool bar where small bands and artists perform every week; I saw a band called Burkini Beach there. It's not too far from Cologne city centre but the actual location of the hostel in the Turkish district with loads of places to eat and drink close by plus an Aldi for groceries. Also the Metro is literally outside the door. Top Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
5.4

Facilities were outdated and badly in need of some basic upgrades. The lockers especially. Breakfast wasn't worth it at all. The bar area had potential but the atmosphere was blah. I had few roommates, I think I had one single conversation with another traveler the entire time I stayed there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
7.7

The atmosphere while we were there wasn't amazing, but every fortnight they have a performer on, which would probably boost the atmosphere,we just didn't happen to be around for that unfortunately. The bar/café area was lovely with a good range of drinks and the soup we ordered arrived quickly and tasted great! Breakfast was a little overpriced for what you got in my opinion. Rooms were clean enough but kitchen wasn't great at all. Wifi didn't work in rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • CherylTeo
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Mar 2017
10.0

By far the best hostel I've experienced and I've been to quite a number of them across Europe. Got a private double room and it was very clean and welcoming. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Definitely value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
9.7

I literally only slept in the hostel, but the bed was comfy and very clean. The reception staff was really kind and friendly and explained everything. It is also possible to checkout in the middle of the night, if you need to catch a train or plane. You can even get a small locker for your personal belongings and valuables.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Mar 2017
10.0

very good hostal

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
8.0

Great place to stay! Loved the bar atmosphere by night and coffee shop by day. There are also occasional in house events like small concerts as well. Good vibe, and not too far from main sights of Köln. Would definitely come back to stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
8.6

It was overall a great stay! Great atmosphere and people were lovely and happy to be there! It was a bit of a distance from the center, but there's a metro station right outside that is very useful. Would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
10.0

Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
8.9

Really enjoyed our stay. I love the small hostel atmosphere. Also really well located, close to train and a 20/30 min walk into the centre. The kitchen was well stocked and mostly clean but the microwave and fridge need a serious clean. Room was spacious. Shower was powerful and bathroom facilities were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.