Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel Located at Venloer Str. 196, 50823 Koln, Cologne.
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel
Germany
Cologne North Rhine Westphalia Venloer Str. 196, 50823 Koln
86% 677
50.9462473 6.9260430
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.3

Good hostel, reasonable atmosphere, useful kitchen. The breakfast is a bit pricey for what it is, but the supermarket is a minute away, if that. Wifi was oddly picky, it wouldn't load some basic web pages, but could manage to stream video, fine but odd. Easy to access by U-Bahn, otherwise not a bad walk from everything either.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.0

Hostel was nice and in a pretty good area. The stairs suck if you're on the top floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Dec 2016
10.0

Very helpful and friendly staff, very modern with a great bar and Cafe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
8.6

Really convenient right in front of a U-bahn stop. The first floor of rooms is next to the kitchen for the bar and the hallway smells constantly of curry and made me always feel hungry. Beware if you are sensitive to smell. The area has some nice shops and is a great area to walk around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Dec 2016
9.7

The staff at this hostel were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay! On our corridor there was the hostel kitchen so despite the faint smell in the corridor, our room was clean and so we're the bathrooms and showers. Despite being out from the city centre, it is only a short 5 minute trip by metro to the cathedral. The hostel had a lovely atmosphere, cheap drink and knowledgeable staff who were up for some fun too! Would highly recommend 👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
10.0

I cannot say enough good things about this cozy, little gem. I'd absolutely stay here again! The arrival directions were extremely easy to follow, checkin/out made very simple thanks to helpful staff, room was extremely comfortable, clean and perfectly equipped (I was in a 4 bed dorm) and the cafe downstairs was welcoming and charming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
9.1

I had an excellent stay. The highlight was definitely The TS Eliot Appreciation Society playing in the café which is a lovely place to eat and/or relax in the day. Despite it not being close to the main attractions, the area around the hostel has loads of nice independent shops and restaurants and it's a nice walk into town through the park. Its also literally right next to an u-bahn station. The rooms were really nice but the wifi didn't work in them. Overall great stay though. I'd come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
9.1

This is a good hostel, location is a little bit of but next to the Underground makes up for that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice hostel with a great staff, but the room's lockers are too small. My backpack didn't fit in them. It's just at the Piusstraße station. Good location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
8.9

Great stay! 30 minute walk from centre, but short metro ride. Nicest hostel cafe I've seen. Real local spot. Kitchen closes at 22:00, so make your dinner before then if you're cooking your own meal. Homemade soup, salad, bread, 2 beers, and tea for €11 was a great deal in the cafe downstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.