Hostelworld.com

Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 620 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 620 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel Located at Venloer Str. 196, 50823 Koln, Cologne.
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel
Germany
Cologne North Rhine Westphalia Venloer Str. 196, 50823 Koln
83% 620
50.9462473 6.9260430
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
8.3

Overall great! The hostel is located above a nice little coffee shop which has a really great atmosphere. Anyone who wants to get to the living area has to either get recognized by the staff or go through the side entrance with a PIN code for the lock. The room is nice and clean with its own toilet if you decide for the private room. Although be aware that there's no double bed for couples. I don't really like the common room since there's no TV (for football fans) , is small and awfully quited.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.3

Great but it was lacking a party vibe when I was there. Staff were friendly and relatively good location. Clean for the most part but the only problem I had was the wifi. I couldn't get it from my room and if I did it was super slow

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2016
8.0

Great location because it was very accessible by train and it was just a few minutes away from central Cologne. Staff was accommodating and friendly. No elevator, so if you have a heavy suitcase, you'd have to carry it through the stairwell. Other than that, the rooms are clean and the bathrooms were also somewhat clean. One other con is that the hallway on our floor had a strong smell once you walked in...but other than that, it does not negatively affect your stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jun 2016
6.6

The hostel was ok, i would choose another one for staying in Cologne. It is not close to the center, but it has tram station right after the building. The lockers in the room are so small that not even my handluggage fit in, there was no hostel atmosphere in the place. The staff was really nice, and the rooms were ok as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2016
9.7

Exceptional customer service. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Clean too. The atmosphere was very chill, the ground/reception floor doubles as a cafe. The common room and kitchen is combined however, but it's well-stocked and cosy. Location, it's slightly out of central, but there's an underground station right in front. It's also surrounded by good eats and a large grocery chain is nearby. My only gripe was that the WiFi, though fast, was rather spotty for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2016
8.6

The location is fantastic, some nice cafes around, and the underground is literally outside the front door. It's 2 connections to Dom/HBF, around ~10-15min. The bathrooms could do with some work. There are also comments here the place smells like curry, and yes, it smells a lot like curry, It really really smells - but just in the hallways so it's liveable. Met some nice people in the room, and there is a bar downstairs which is good to socialise. As far as I could tell no events though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
7.4

The hostel was fine for my 2 night stay. The people were really friendly and helpful. Security was ok in terms of the rooms but once in the rooms the lockers were pretty poor and left a lot to be desired. Cooking and kitchen facilities were bare minimum but did the job. The bathrooms could do with a freshen up and there was only one toilet on my floor, having said this I never had to queue! Beds were comfy and nothing major to report!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
8.0

Very good location, the U bahn (underground train) is right in front of the hostel, 4 stops from Cologne Hbf (main train station, change 1 line). Very nice and helpful staffs. Great value at cheap price. Down things: not clean, some items broken. Should prepare your own toilet paper because they don't fill up usually.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel, very welcoming, great atmosphere in the evenings. Good value for money, bakery's and a tube stop nearby for the mornings. Music events in the evening. Only complaint is that on the 1st floor it smelt like curry the whole time. Very nice curry.. But I could see someone else being quite annoyed at this.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
9.4

Very good. I just think the breakfast could be better

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.