X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Lake Youth House Reviews

No.62-3Nanshan Lu, Hangzhou, Hangzhou, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
502 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

We were very very happy and impressed that when we needed to get a taxi one of the members of staff came out to help us which was invaluable because we would never have managed without her!! Thank you :)

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the rate,welcome back.

80%

Very nice, english speaking staff. Room could be better maintained and heating could be more evenly distributed in the room. Good location near the lake and away from the town.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the rate,welcome back.

97%

A great hostel: everything was clean, there was a heater, lots of seating, they had food (not the best, but reasonably priced), nice and helpful staff. The location wasn't the best because you had to walk a bit if you didn't want to eat at the hostel, but great for parks, viewing the lake, and there was a bus stop nearby. Also it was next to a school, and I imagine they get pretty loud. Also, one of the dogs had puppies while we were there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the rate,hope you have a great trip in Hangzhou.

89%

I thought the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, they gave me tips on where to go and how to get there. The hostel was cheap and the location is perfect for anyone planning to stay in Hangzhou, literally across the road from the famous West Lake.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the rate,welcome back.

80%

Good Latino right next to the West Lake and Leifeng Pegoda. Friendly staff that are very knowledgable about the area of bus routes etc. Food was good quality and a reasonable price. The only downside was the wifi connection in the bedrooms and the bathroom being a little smelly. I don't think the cleaner cleaned it very often? Overall, a great hostel with a great location! I would stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the rate,welcome back.

91%

Very helpful staff, great environment, acceptable food and coffee and very nice pets. The only problem was the low pressure of water in the shower. Highly reccommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the rate,welcome back.

97%

Absolutely loved the place. The staff were great, extremely friendly. Very willing to help with giving information. Steven, one of the regular staff, offered to order a charger for me online on the night I arrived after I told him that mine was taken at the airport, and it came the next day. Perfect atmosphere for a hostel - lovely, friendly, open, but also relaxed and not forceful. Very peaceful downstairs, and lovely dogs. Food good quality as well. Overall a great experience. Will C

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
glad you have a nice stay here,good luck with your job in Chongqing,see you next time.

100%

The staff are really amazing and kind. One staff member in particular went out of his way to help us organise a trip to see Anji's bamboo forest. Great location: very quiet and right near West Lake, just a short pleasant walk to the main part of the city. Room is super nice and the shower was hot. Other benefits: 2 cute puppies and a kitten running around the hostel! Only one thing can do with improvement: please don't put mayonnaise on the fruit salad! But we loved our stay! Thank you so much!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the rate,hope you can come back,have a nice trip in China.

89%

The staff was super helpful and very nice. There is a pretty good environment there for meeting other people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rate,welcome back.

86%

The hostel has a very cozy common area, with couches TV and in summer times one can sit outside. The staff is very helpful and friendly and speaks good English. They serve a variety of drinks and food and there's also a library in the common area. The rooms are standard, pretty small, but clean. The location is very close to the West Lake, though not in the busy area of the city. It takes a bus or taxi to get into the vibrant areas of bars and restaurants. The West Lake is in walking distance.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the rate,welcome back.

97%

Excellent location near the Lake & the pagoda. Staff are friendly & helpful also good food available at the hostel. Friendly dogs & cat make the place homely quiet location off the main road. Nice attic style room overlooking nearby school. Wish I could have stayed longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the rate,we are glad that you have a nice stay here.Hope you can come back.

63%

Very bad rooms. We had to move 3 times, once for the toilet electricity meter, twice for heating, even though the matter wasn't solved at all. We freezed all the time. The wifi doesn't reach the rooms, it's only in the hall. Staff very kind.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for the unpleasant things,we will improve that.

80%

Cold shower, however apparently it's being fixed


86%

Very nice and helpful staff. Unfortunately I couldn't stay longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rate,welcome back.

71%

Quiet, clean and helpful staff but need to be more hospitable.


89%

Excellent hostel! The location is very good and the staff are very friendly. They have a few hostel pets currently which are great for relieving the stress. Unfortunately our room did not have wifi, but the lobby does and it has plenty of comfortable seating. I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rate,welcome back.

74%

Staff is very helpful and friendly. There is a kindergarden adjectent to this hostel, so kiddies performing their morning exercises to loud chinese pop songs is a natural alarm clock ;-)

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rate,welcome back.

83%

While there are some minor inconveniences at this hostel like the noise from the school, the wonderful staff more than made up for these. The staff speak English very well and were very helpful with directions and information. The hostel really seems to want to make sure you have an excellent time. I stayed in the 6 bed dorm and it was nice with lockers and a kettle. The only problem I had was that it was quite cold in the room. I washed my socks and they weren't even close to dry after 2 days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for the inconveniences,we will improve that,hope you will come back.

89%

Staff in particular Steven is very helpful.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rate,hope you can come back.

77%

The location was very close to Wet lake and the staff were helpful in sending my the information in both Chinese and Pin yin before i left. There were a few mosquitoes so you need to be prepared for that. The hot water take about 20 minutes to heat uo before you have a shower. There is no Wifi in the room so this can sometimes be a little annoying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for the unpleasant things,we will improve it.



View all Hangzhou Hostels

Please give us your feedback