X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3029 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Thank you

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The women restroom wasn't very clean

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Housekeeping staff were in the hallway and loud through the entire morning. Having got in late at night after a long journey, it would have been nice to have some quiet. When I left my room at 11 am -- my check out time, they called out after me in Spanish, that the "Faggot is finally awake."

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Can be better, restrooms need to be improved!


91%

The hotel is located just near 59th Street Colombus Tube Station which will take you pretty much anywhere you want to go. The bathrooms are more than enough and the hostel in general is very clean.


83%

Location is just fantastic as is just 5 min away from Columbus circle. Rooms are quite basic but clean, and so are toilets which are individual rather than big showers (but are shared).

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Simple affordable place in a safe and amazing neighborhood in NYC, YMCA West is absolutely perfect. My best friend and I stayed for 3 nights. The room was simple, clean, and very affordable for being right down the street from Central Park and the 59th Street subway station. Being able to store bags for $2 per bag for a day was also really nice, considering check out was at 11:30am and our bus left at 10pm and we did not want to carry bags around all day. Definitely would stay here again.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Some good renovations over the last two years, so brighter and better condition and furniture too. It is a superb location and well run. My room had a closet but no hanging bar or shelves! Showers had nowhere to put soap and shampoo.


83%

You get what you pay for. Not more, or less. Great location though, just one block from Central park!

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

First you can start by taking down either very old or 'staged' room photos- It doesn't look anything close to that level cleanliness or esthetics / The Westside YMCA is a very scary place to stay and perhaps a ripe place to catch catch SARS or MERSA-. The entire hostel needed repairs, upgrading, carpet and for God's sake, more than the nasty filthy 4 stalls shared bathrooms for 50 guest rooms on each floor!! The dorms were a clean enough 'crash pad' but you get an F for the bathrooms. GLOOMY!!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Location is excellent, price is good for NY - for any other city it would probably be overpriced. The rooms are tiny and very basic, a crazy person was walking up and down the corridor in front of our room for hours talking to himself (he seemed harmless, but it was annoying) and staff is slooooow. However, if you plan to be out and about all day while exporing the city and just need the cheapest place to crash, this is probably a good option. If you want anything more, look somewhere else.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, just a stone's throw from Lincoln Center, Central Park, and Columbus Circle. Room was OK - the door didn't fit the frame well, and let in quite a lot of sound from the hall. Staff were mostly OK, with the exception of the housekeeper who woke me up by knocking loudly on the door, even though I had put the "do not disturb" sign out. For what you get it is expensive, but compared with hotel prices in New York, it's still good value, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The water temperature in the bathrooms were very different and often either very cold or very hot

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location and reasonable price. This was my second time staying there. Accommodations are very much like a college dorm, but that's all I needed. I know everyone has a different mattress/pillow preference, so be aware that the ones provided are on the firm side. Bring your own pillow if you prefer softer/fluffier.


77%

Great location for the price!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great gym in the same building.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great experience, especially if you take advantage of the group-exercise classes during your stay. New York can be stressful, so I'd really recommend taking some of the yoga classes, using the gym, and sauna, and all the other services offered (for free) as part of your stay. Staff was very friendly, helpful. Location is superb. Subway just 3 blocks away. A 24-hr drugstore/market 1 block away and a Whole Foods store 4 blocks away. Highly recommended.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Not a bad place to stay in the NYC if you dont plan to spend in the hostel more time than necessary :) The rooms are rather spartan, long corridors and not exactly smart facilities. The worst thing were in my opinion the showers. Only three for the whole floor and very little space for you stuff. Common room is on the ground floor but not very much of hanging around. Otherwise really good location near the Central park and Columbus circle subway.


89%

The room was very good, bathrooms need better upkeep as the soap dispenser was not working and there were no paper towels. Staff at the hotel was nice, not very outgoing but not rude either. For the money I thought it was a very good deal and would stay there again.


89%

The staff were super friendly, and the rooms were lovely, but the bathrooms were always so wet everywhere on the tiles.


(1716 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback