X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2814 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

The hostel has a very small room with common bath rooms. Bath rooms are often unclean. Mostly staff are uncooperative.

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The heating was broken it was during the end of October (25 / 27 etc) outside it was 5 C° we slept with all our clothes!!!!!! It has been horrible !!!! No other room available ???!!!! Bathroom and showers obsolete , in the room beds not comfortable and the painting of the wall was completely broken. Really not nice. The worst is that on web site pictures are about the only 2 floors renovated, but all the others are sooo old !!!!!!!!!!!! I think this is not correct.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Separate guests from non guests. Reestructure all the guests areas; rooms, bathrooms, common areas, entrance. Light colors at all the ambience. Too much people for a few bathrooms. You can't keep it clean. 9th floor is disgusting. I would only reccomend the stay at the 11th floor. Looks like you are in the early 50's! Windows dirty from outside. Take Berkeley Hostel in Boston as at least the minimum reference. You can improve. Go for it!


54%

The rooms, bathrooms en hallways are very old. The YMCA is so big that it's not a hostel any more. There is no personal attention like in a hostel. On arrival we got our key without any explanation about the code we got, the facilities etc.

  • 19th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I liked the place but I felt unconfortable because it seems that I have the most cheap bedroon of the hotel. Everyday there was a "cleancar" justo in front of my door. But there wasn't another in front of any other door. The view wans't good. The other bedroms have window but mine doesn't. It seems loke prejudice or something like that.

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Great location but the actual hostel has a Soviet prison feel about it and is very dark and foreboding. The showers were dreadful with a small stream of water that intermittently changed between freezing and boiling.


60%

It was only ok, security was very good.Perfectly fine if you just want a bed but nothing special!

  • 15th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I'm happy

  • 13th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

For staying in a very good location in manhattan was good value for money. Rooms are small and no frills kind of cell like and bathrooms not very nice, good value for money for what it is and location


86%

Good hostel. The location is near from downtown and the main attractions of NY city.

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

If you are looking for a basic, hostel -level accomodation with a great location, this is a good place for that. Only 3 mins walk to a busy subway station, Columbus Circle and a 10-15 mins walk to Times Square (two subway stops from Col Circle). Central park is 100m away. We stayed on 10th floor and at least there the toilets and showers were working and clean enough, the floor was quiet and the room really basic with a bunk bed but quite ok with towels, sheets, cloth-hangers and air con.


63%

No hot water for showers (checked multiple times through the night). Engineer checked but could (or would) do nothing to fix. Fans from adjacent building ran on and off through the night. Bring earplugs.

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

The location is fantastic. But the facilities are so disgusting. Most things either didnt work or where dirty. Wifi didnt work, the showers are the worst i have ever seen. The rooms are so small and feel disgusting and dirty. I saw so many cockroaches it scared me. The mattress and pillow where so bad i should have just slept on the floor.

  • 8th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Missen a rack/fence in bunk bed would have been Low wifi signal Great location/Nice price

  • 7th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I loved having use of the excellently equipped health club & did yoga & pilates classes each day. The bathroom was very wet - always a pool of water on the floor in front of showers, tepid water, wet sinks, not enough hooks or shelves to keep your toiletry bag from getting soaked. In the room, I wanted a window that opened easily, bedside table & light. But overall - excellent location & value for money. Would definatly stay again.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

This place is really horrible. Very dirty hallways, people smoking in the rooms, neither 8th nor 9th floor has been gone through any improvement -I guess- since the 1800s. The first room they gave me (9th floor) was like a nightmare, walls were damaged and not painted maybe for years, room was right above a HUGE outdoor cooler fan which was giving out a horrible noise. After complaining they changed my room to one on the 8th floor. This one was also not great. Remote for the TV was not working

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

great renovations......keep it up


94%

Excellent area to do Sightseeing, because you do have Subwaylines 1-3 and A-D with the Columbus Circle just around the corner. The staff was all friendly and helpful at all times. Single Rooms are big enough for one person with a Flatscreen TV on it. For Manhattan the price is pretty good! I stayed on the 10th floor in a renovated room, that was clean and nice. Toillets were clean at all times. 3 showers for one floor were not enough though.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Shared bathrooms needs more often and better cleaning! And private double rooms means always: bunk beds!!


60%

My room wasn`t clean.

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(1619 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback