X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Side YMCA Reviews

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2876 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Since 10th and 11th floors were newly refurbished, try to request for those floors as soon as possible, as they would be best for value. For a good clean shower, that is why the refurbished floors are the best option in West Side YMCA. Remember it is a shared bathroom, so I would recommend getting up early for the day if you would appreciate the alone time away from other users. Staff are exceptionally accommodating with any queries and meeting satisfaction. I would stay here again, money saved!

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • nashmonster
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The straff was unfriendly, Showed were only slightly warm so more or less cold. The bathrooms were pretty dirty. The tv in our room did not work and didnt change after i've asked for fixing it. The worst thing was that the internet did not always work sometimes it was shut down for a whole day and that happend a couple of times....

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

With real estate, it's all about location, and you cannot beat the location. Central Park is right outside the front door, Lincoln Center is across the street, and the subway around the corner, exactly the reasons I chose this location. The single room was clean and rather spartan (reminded me of my college dorm room), but I wasn't there to stay in the room. There is a small snack bar that had a nice selection for breakfast (and other meals). Staff was nice.


26%

Where to start. First they do not considered the advance I paid to Hostelword when I made the reservation, they said that that´s is no part of the reservation fee-. The room was not like in the pictures, the bathrooms were far away and dirty, most of all the ladies room. Regarding the room itself, it was sad, the beds were so old that it felt like you were sleeping in a spoon. There were an old TV and a desk. Pretty sad for the price. I´ve been in other hostels, this is the worst ever.


94%

it is a nice place to stay, really close from central park and other important touristic atractions in nyc


63%

I paid US$85/day for an individual bedroom. It was ok, simple, but comfortable, clean, new bedsheets, new towel everyday, bed made... But - The staff at the reception told me I couldn't pay what Hostel World says, it wasnt available anymore - while it was on the HW site. That "I wouldn't be able to do it" 1 (ONE) restroom for floor 2 with only 3 (THREE) shower cubicles, being 60 bedrooms per floor, is IMPOSSIBLE. The cubicles get dirty easily. And the water WAS NOT HOT, during the hard winter.


91%

The staff was very pleasant and very helpful. I also found that it was very well located for transit to the places that I needed to visit.

  • 12th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Lighting in rooms too dim for reading. Only sheet and cover, no blanket, and I was cold. Pillow thin and lumpy. Bathroom 80 steps away. TV did not work. Staff helpful. Handy and reasonably priced restaurant. Clean common area. Like the diversity. The location and price make this a good choice.

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

I wish they would re-model the restrooms.


83%

The location is awesome, just next to Columbus Circle. The Y is value for money. The rooms are VERY basic, linens a bit itchy, and the common bathrooms sometimes a bit so and so with sometimes clogged showers, but the location is unsurpassed for me. That's why I keep coming back to the Y. Staff is very nice and they have security on the front desk.

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I really like this YMCA , which is a stone's throw from Lincoln Center. To be clear, the room was clean enough, but the bathrooms were not. I do appreciate how hard it is to keep up with shared baths, but being honest, it's a problem.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

It´s great the place. Little old the place but great, in my room was only to power suply an donw a desk... if wanna swim there you need your cap. or hav to buy one for 6.5 dollars there is no kitchet properly.. only microwave..


91%

The only thing to let the hostel down was the cold water to the shower, we stayed there for four days and did not have any hot water showers at all.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Water in sink was piping hot. Showers were sadly cold. Room was chilly, take sweats to sleep in. In spite of this I would stay here for the convenience of location.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

the location ant place are ok. rooms are very small but i guess it's the manhattan rule. but why the heck do they have to control your internet activity? some cites THAT WERE NOT PORN, but were 'gay friendly' and 'gay updates' were shut down, isn't that basic homophobia? and the Wifi was quite ridiculous also besides that, i had a great time over there

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

This place is horrible. When I arrive at check in Ms Wade was extremely rude and unprofessional. I was given a Key to Room 919. When I got into the Room there was no Towels, no Hangers in the Closet, no Remote Control for the TV. In addition, if you want to do Laundry there is no Laundry Facility. Their advertisement is a lot of fiction. There is no Internet Access in your Room. You must go and use the Internet Service in the Lounge area. Also if you want to watch porn on the Internet you cannot

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guyana
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

bathrooms were extremely dirty..


60%

We had just cold water for 5 days, even though they promised us twice to fix it. Staff was unfriendly and not really helpful! But the location is perfect for NY!!!


83%

It was hard to get any sleep because people were loud and partying most of the night.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The 9th floor bathrooms were in disrepair. Should be set to fix and all bathrooms have operational, especially if it comes to public restrooms. thanks

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(1650 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback