X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

West Two London Reviews

22-23 Kensington Gardens Square, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
2138 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 52%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Our room was on the top floor, up 6 flights of stairs with no elevator. The toilet in our room was very difficult to flush and smelled bad, and the toilet door was broken and could not be closed. The matress on the bed was hard and you could feel the springs. The place did have Wi-Fi, but it only works outside of the rooms, so you could sit in the common room on the bottom floor to use it. But a lot of guests just sat on the stairs with phones, making it hard to go up and down the stairs.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Not as awful as lots of people have said. Indeed some suspicious people were around but more were just ordinary travellers. Toilets, showers and kitchen normally works well in the morning but the condition deteriorate dramatically at night. No safe deposits and after seeing the mountain of luggage in the reception I decided to put my stuffs at somewhere else. If one is determined to stay here, my recommendation is do not pick the lowest price band room. My eight-bedded room was OK after all.


49%

Lo peor la limpieza tanto instalaciones como habitaciones, moqueta de todas las escaleras vimos como aspiraban si pero muy sucia, muchas telas arañas. La seguridad lo peor, edificio antiguo sin salidas de emergencia claras, por zonas parecía apuntalado y las literas algunas sin escaleras para subir y otras sin la barra q protege q no te caigas de la cama de arriba.En concreto de la persona que iba conmigo en el viaje estaba sin ambas y se movía mucho lo q a su vez causaba unos chirridos molestos


100%

I had a lovely time, the housekeeping staff work really efficiently to ensure the kitchen and dormitories are kept really clean. The receptionists are very helpful and are very happy to take care of luggage left with them thank you to Mario and Marco and the rest of the staff.


46%

Terrible experience. You can feel the hundreds of springs in the bed and the pillows are stupidly thin. When your only purpose is to provide accomodation, why wouldnt you at least get that right? Was told the wifi would work in my room but it didnt. The staff were fine then the manager was an a** hole to me. He walked past at the vending machine area at the top of the first stairs and told me I couldnt use my ipad there. I was alone but every other time of the day there was at least 4/5 people.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The room was good. Staff is OK but could be nicer. Bathroom is really a problem, often dirty and blocked. I would recommend for a quick stay (max 3 days), you get what you pay for. The location is excellent.


51%

Vantagem deste hostel é definitivamente a localização, junto a estação de metro e jardins do pálácio de Kensington. A desvantagem está relacionada com a limpeza dos WC e dos próprios quartos e não existência de WIFI dentro dos quartos (as pessoas têm de ficar nas escadas do hotel, junto às casas de banho para terem acesso). Aconselho a raparigas que viajam sozinhas a escolher o quarto de raparigas (não aconselho a ficarem em quartos mistos).

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

Upon arrival of this hostel, we were greeted by not one but two rude members of staff. We could not check in on arrival, given that we were early. The staff were less than helpful and inconsiderate of traveller's needs. When we finally did check in, the room was not as it appeared in the photos (3 years old pics we found out). The two showers were substandard and that one toilet on our level was out of order. This is the worst hostel we have ever seen! Ever! And the staff are exceptionally rude!


97%

Great staff they really let you feel like your home. There are a lot of people but it's not crowded. Above all young people. Maybe there's the need of more showers, and a big fridge in the kitchen. The dining and the living spaces are good and comfortable. The location is marvelous!


74%

The rooms were very clean, but the toilet, shower, and kitchen facilities were just average. There are also no lockers in the bedrooms, although only the room residents have keys, so you cannot leave any valuables at all when you aren't in the room. Their fix for this is charging 1 pound a day per bag to leave it behind the receptionist, and when I checked in, I saw a mountain of bags behind the desk.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great people, cool staff, nice lounge


74%

Simple hostel, nothing fancy but perfect for a short stay. Funky architecture, friendly staff, perfect for a cheapish, comfortable enough night.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Bonjour, je crois que le personnel de l'hostel fait de son mieux pour garder les lieux propres malgré la vetusté, alors que les utilisateurs ne font aucun effort pour maintenir les lieux dans un état correct.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Unfriendly staff, blocked toilets, shabby rooms. However, on the plus side it's rather cheap and not far from Kensington Gardens. Also, Queensway Station (Circle Line) is just 5 mins away. You certainly get what you pay for when it comes to the rooms etc., but I wouldn't recommend the hostel to friends as the toilets were blocked (three at once!) and the staff either didn't care or was outright unfriendly. You can stay at much better hostels for a similar price (try Royal Bayswater).


60%

Ubicación ideal, tienes cerca dos lineas de metro. Lo que no nos ha gustado es que no disponen de taquillas para dejar las pertenencias durante la instancia, El mobiliario podría ser de mejor calidad. Por otro lado, tiene un espacio grande para poder desayunar y las habitaciones están limpias dentro de sus limitaciones. En general, para ser londres donde todos los hoteles dan pena, la verdad que este por calidad-precio esta razonable.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

West Two is a good place only for a very short stay. The shared room is too small and too busy. The kitchen is also too small and too busy, it as only one kitchen stove and no fridge at all. However they're open 24/24 and there's free tea and milk (should provide some plant milk as well for vegan or people that can't eat dairy products) Beds and cleaning are ok. Showers are shared and outside rooms and they are ok. They are still using keys, not keycard. Location is very good


63%

There was not any sink in the bathroom, what is not an impossible thing to be there I think. Also on our stage, the showers were not working in the bathroom, because the shower's tube was missing, what is about 3£ to get one, and made us disapointed in the evening:-/


71%

The twin ensuite rooms are pretty spacious and clean. Toilets and showers are ok. There are only 3 for all the guests so they need to be cleaned more often. The only problem with our room is that we had mosquitos and other flying insects at night.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

**** BEDBUGS **** BEDBUGS **** HOSTEL INFESTED BY BEDBUGS !!! GOT BITTEN ALL OVER MY ARM NO REFUND OFFERED NOR APOLOGY !!! Staff: Very Depressed Bunch Of Estonians Who Never Smile plus Awkward Security Man with No People skills Whatsoever !!! CONSTANTLY BLOCKED TOILETS FULL OF HUMAN FECES Very unpleasant experience :( AVOID !!!! P

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

This one of the cheaper hostels in London, but it is totally sh*t. You get what you (don't) pay for.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(142 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback