Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Westend Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 1091 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.5
  • Security 4.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 3.5
  • Facilities 4.3
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 1091 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.5
  • Security 4.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 3.5
  • Facilities 4.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
5.1

The amount of cockroaches in our room was disgusting, my friend and I ended up sharing a bed because we were so freaked out. They were on the walls/ceiling and the bathroom was pretty outdated. The front area was also under construction so we had to carry our heavy luggages up about 40 stairs just to check in. Would not recommend unless you have no other options for hostels

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. It is regretful to hear about your stay with us. Regarding the cockroaches in your room - we take issues like this very seriously and that room will be investigated by our Pest Control company ASAP. Can I ask if you alerted reception of this issue? Our friendly and professional team are there to help 24hrs per day! Regarding the construction - there is information on the site you booked through advising of this. However our team are always happy to help out with heavy luggage etc. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

  • emmaluck819052
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Apr 2017
4.0

It was dirty, mould all in the room. it smelt and it looked very unsafe as a building. Plug sockets not working, lifts not working half the time. Building work hanging down.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear about your stay with us. We are a heritage listed building and one of the oldest in the city - however that is no excuse for poor cleanliness. We are working hard to rectify the issues raised above ASAP. Thanks again.

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
4.9

Old unconfortable beds , you could feel the springs No knowledge or really poor, about other turistic places of interest around Cbd Pancakes promesed until 10 am, finished by 9 and thats it. Showers falling apart Poor general mantainance and cleanliness

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for honest review. We will be looking into all issues raised above with our housekeeping and maintenance teams and work hard to have these rectified ASAP. Kind Regards.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
6.0

Dirtiest & smallest kitchen ive ever had in a hostel 13 floors ONLY 1 elevator showers & toilets only in the room and on the 2nd floor so if you're with 6 or 8 people and you're on the 10th floor you either take the stairs or wait FOR AGES !!!! Some of the stuff are nice but I wouldn't recommend it at all

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
2.9

This hostel was disgusting. We booked for 4 nights in a 6 person girls dorm. We left early and had to ask for a full refund as there was a coachroach infestation in our room. Hundreds over the walls, floor and in our beds and bags. One of our group had no bed sheet for 3 nights despite asking several times, mould all over the walls, and no room to move in the room with 6 peoples luggage. The room smelt and the toilet door was broken. We were lucky to be able to speak to the manager and get a refund

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
4.6

Water faucet and shower leaked aggressively. Soaked the carpet in room. 2 security lockers for 6 people. Sheets and pillow had been washed, but still smelled. Tables in lobby wobbled unbelievably, to the point of not being usable. Disgusting community couches.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback on Westend Backpackers. I do apologise for the leaking shower in your room. Can I ask if you made reception aware of this issue? Our team is always there to help 24hrs per day! I will be following up on all other issues raised with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to have them rectified immediately. Thanks again for the feedback. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
7.4

Great location. Covers all the needs but isn't beautiful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
2.3

This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed- and I have spent 2 months in a remote Fijian village with no running water or electricity! The showers and toilet areas were unclean and filled with flies, the toilets broke several times and non of the staff seemed bothered to fix them even though the smell was terrible. The kitchen was constantly dirty and the staff were rude and unhelpful. I even heard them bitching about a customer as soon as they had left the reception area.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
5.7

The main concern was that the room smelt very very strongly of mould, making it hard to sleep and i would question just how safe it was to breath that in. large wet patches in the carpet and in parts it was coming away and you could see all the mould. There was cockroaches too. Staff were friendly and accommodating, one concern was that we had asked if they could look after a friends passport when we went to retrieve it the following day they couldn't find it.... they did in the end.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Feb 2017
4.3

Pretty god damn AWFUL place. I'm struggling to think of any pros! Security doesn't exist - you can access the hostel from Pitt Street, walk up straight in to the kitchen without passing reception, walk up to ANY floor without passing reception & with the number of residents that prop the doors open with a shoe (or similar) is crazy. My iPad was stolen whilst I was there & I 100% would not point the finger at ANY of the room guests. Place is filthy COCKROACH infested!!!! Dirtiest place ever!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.