Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Westend City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.1
Westend City Hostel Located at Fuegergasse 3, 1060, Vienna.
Westend City Hostel
Austria
Vienna Fuegergasse 3, 1060
77% 1562
48.1953158 16.3420557
Westend City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • florence1995
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Sep 2016
7.4

The claim that it has a kitchen is a lie. It has a sink a microwave and a sandwich press. You cannot actually make a meal here. Other than that the hostel is fine. Good location, nice staff, strange common room but did the trick. Dorms were clean, showers were clean when we arrived but not sure that they got cleaned again after that

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Sep 2016
7.7

Overall fine, easy to find. About a 40 minute walk though to the city centre but it's fine because you're walking through the rest of the city to get there. Bathrooms were dirty. Should not be advertised with a kitchen only has a microwave, kettle and sandwich press- no hotplates. Staff were great though and took care of a problem with another person staying in our room very professionally and understandingly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
9.1

Solid hostel with lots of common space. It was a bit far from the old town, but lots of shopping and food nearby (and the westbound train station was very close). Decent internet but the kitchen was poorly stocked--wouldn't be easy to cook here. That said, better than many hostels I have stayed in. One extremely bizarre thing: they have signs everywhere saying quiet hour starts at 8pm and they'll call the police if you make noise past that (and charge 100 euro fine). Didn't seem enforced thou.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Sep 2016
6.9

Close to Westbahnoff station so you can get around Vienna. Dorm room ok but ensuite had no soap in to wash hands with after using toilet. I do not think it is asking much of a hostel to provide soap in its bathrooms. Noticed couple of bits of chewing gum stuck to bed frame which does not say much for their cleaning. Pillows also not very comfortable as they lacked padding and support. Nice that they offered breakfast but for 5 euros they could offer more in terms of fruit and yoghurts.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
7.4

one employee was very rude & not the least bit helpful when we asked about train info to take a day trip to Hallstatt we told him of our plans & asked for info the night before & he sarcastically responded with "right now?" (Of course not it was the middle of the night) basically told us to look it up online & offered no help we asked where the train station was & he said "it'll say on your ticket" very rudely (I didn't have a ticket thats why I was asking) Could go on but not enough characters

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Sep 2016
6.0

Location is pretty good, although the atmosphere was awful. The room had a shared bathroom which was always soaking wet.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Sep 2016
6.6

Staff were incredible. Super friendly, super helpful! Let me leave my luggage and hang out after check out. First room (1) was clean and nice and fairly okay. Second (33) was pretty dirty and smelled bad, the shower had a button that had to be held in/pushed the whole time or the water stopped, there were flies everywhere and it was hot even at night. The kitchen doesn't have a stove which was awkward for a few of us trying to cook. Not sure why but there was no one hanging out anywhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.4

More of a hotel feel and doesn't have a great kitchen to cook in. The location is great and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2016
10.0

Great hostel, well organized and marked. Provided lots of helpful material and brochures. Good vibes. Would def recommend and stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
26th Aug 2016
8.6

Hostel was very clean, although i was sharing a bathroom with 9 other people which could be painful. Staff were nice enough. I met three other girls who were quite nice but I think the atmosphere just depends on who's there. Fairly close to the city centre, a straight 20 minute walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.