X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Westend City Hostel Reviews

Fuegergasse 3, 1060, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1217 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The location of the hostel is very convenient. The staff is also very friendly and the amenities are good. But there were no free lockers in the room. Also charging individually for bed linen is a bit over the top. Why not include it in the hostel fee? But these are very small issues. I liked the overall feel of the hostel. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Vienna.


74%

The hostel is close to the subway and 30 min from the city, the staff is nice and helpful .. Although, the 12 beds rooms are a bit crowded and still expensive

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel was great, really enjoyed the room. The only negative was some of the people I was sharing the dorm with weren't the best roommates, but that happens when your in a 8 person dorm. STAY HERE!!!


74%

It was a very comfortable hostel in a good location. The facilities were nice, but the WIFI was terrible, which was really frustrating when that was our means of communication and determining our transportation. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were fine, but they didn't provide lockers and renting a towel was pricey.


80%

Great position, close to the metro station and to the city center. We had to pay for bed sheets, towels and breakfast. Cool to have reception open 24/7


89%

The hostel is great, but should have internet in the rooms. The price for shared rooms is also a bit expensive.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

No hot water, only warm water! And it is a little cold in the night because the heater didn't work well. The rest is good. And the location is excellent.there is a underground nearby so it's convenient to go around the city.


77%

Good location, basic kitchen, the overnight person at the reception was a bit cranky /rude....but the rest were awesome and helpfull, internet was 6/10 but it worked


80%

Everything was great.. We would love to comeback to this hostel.. Highly recommended..


54%

The room wasn't much more than a hallway and though there was a bathroom and shower for four people it was right next to the beds so you couldn't use them with any kind of privacy. Everything seemed to cost extra (even just using the computers). I suppose the only benefit was that I wanted to be as far away from the hostel as possible so it got me out and sight seeing easier. WiFi was horrible. I haven't stayed at any other hostel in Vienna and they are all pricey so it may be a Vienna problem


43%

If you like a hot shower or wifi, this is not the hostel for you. None of the days I had a hot shower, the water was freezing... took a cold shower every single day. Internet doesn't work. tinny kitchen to use doesn't worth what I paid.


37%

Don't have hot water in the showers. Dirty and too small kitchen. Bad staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! Thank you for your review. During your stay we had some temporary issues with the main boiler. We want to apologize for any inconvenience caused and are happy to inform you that everything has been fixed :) Your Westend Team

57%

The water to take shower is too cold, and Wi-Fi don't work correctly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! Thank you for your review. During your stay we had some temporary issues with the main boiler. We want to apologize for any inconvenience caused and are happy to inform you that everything has been fixed :) Your Westend Team

63%

The hot water was over in the 2 days I was there. I took cold baths. The WiFi was really slow and would always took a long time to connect, between 15 and 60min. Sometimes it didn't work in the bedrooms, only in the stairs and in the living room. When we complained to the attendant about the water and the WiFi, he just told us that there was nothing he could do. A positive thing was the location, really close to restaurants, bakerys and a metro station.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! Thank you for your review. During your stay we had some temporary issues with the main boiler. We want to apologize for any inconvenience caused and are happy to inform you that everything has been fixed :) Your Westend Team

57%

No warm showers what so ever. The staff was ok... Kitchen only had a microwave but that was better than nothing. The common room was very small and over crowded. Not the best place to meet people. Ok hostel but I wouldn't stay again


89%

nice hostel. breakfast is ok, internet not very reliable. laundry expensive


66%

Handy to the main train station and city. Water was warm at best and usually cold showers. Breakfast was well below average and over priced. The communal area was small and not a lot going on. Had to pay extra for a tiny towel and bedding. Most staff were friendly but i would not stay here again.


77%

That was clean and near to metro station. But u must give money for everything.(linen,towel,washingmachine)


60%

Very bad WiFi signal in the rooms




View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback