X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Westway Hotel & Hostel La Guardia New York Reviews

71-11 Astoria Boulevard, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
977 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel, great value for money. Clean rooms, good beds, and 30 minutes away from Times Square. I recommend this place to anyone who is traveling on a budget.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

not goood


89%

I really like it. The only problem is that it is a little bit too far from Manhatan. But it is a very good hostel!


86%

I've always had the wrong impression about hostels until I stayed at Westway, now it's one big thumbs-up.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Cold at night, beddings were not nice and it was kind of loud at night.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

There was no common room for socializing,nor were the lockers sufficiently large for luggage.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Thank you all for a nice stay at your hostel.


51%

Place is clean but located far from the downtown. Commuting is difficult. The rooms are clean but adjoining the road with a lot of traffic noise in the room. Kitchen has very basic amenities. Also no social activities for the residents to interact. Also no stores for basic necessities present around the place.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is very far - you have to take a bus to the subway, and you're far away from the sights. It was worth it for me to save money and I would just spend the full day in the city. Some of the staff members seem a little out of it / slow. It's also very clean and I was impressed that they cleaned the bathrooms/sheets most (every?) day.


69%

Was about 20min walk from metro, would like to have been closer but overall good experience. Roommates were not the best but had no control over that.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It is excellent very clean and extremely friendly place to stay. I was there over month. Really cool

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel is generally very clean and linens and towels are changed everyday. The staff seems sometimes bored or not longing to give you information; there is not the atmosphere you would expect in a travellers' hostel. It is about 45 minutes far from Manhattan, but the bus station is right in front of the building. The parking lot has 24 hrs security, but anyone can enter the hostel and the kitchen.


89%

great place, clean and secure. not the best location but definitely value for money.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel for staying in NYC. Found this place to be one of the cheaper hostel, but they don't skimp out on service. The location is a bit far from the nearest train station, but that's the tradeoff.


54%

If you have a flight and want to stay near the airport, this hostel is the one you are looking for. But If you want to stay in any hostel with reasonable or cheap price just for traveling in NYC, this hostel wouldn't be the one that you are expecting. Because this hostel is quite far from manhattan. Staff was quite annoying. 30 dollars per night in dormitory and 7 dollars extra charge for tax? Are you kidding? Who is gonna believe that bullshit?

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I don't like the way other people in my room staying in the hostel for a long period, I like staying with traveler not worker. คนที่นอนด้วยกัน เหมือนเค้าทำงานด้วยเลยอะ เราก็แบบคือไร Hostel มาอยู่เพื่อเที่ยวปะวะ


69%

The staff was handsome.


91%

I don't think there is anything cheaper than this in the entire NYC. Got to meet really cool people at this hostel. I recommend it. The girl at the front desk was very friendly and nice, kudos for her, she helped me out a lot.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very convenient , price is cheap, surprisingly not too hard to get to Manhattan, staff was helpful

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Afghanistan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Good and clean hostel for the money. Is about 40 minutes away from Manhattan by bus and subway which I think is ok regarding the price.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(98 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback