X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Westway Hotel & Hostel La Guardia New York Reviews

71-11 Astoria Boulevard, New York, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
829 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

If you sleep on the side of the building anot next to the 9 lanes of the affic it's fine.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This hostel is great if you just want somewhere to crash near the airport. Get the M60 bus from the end of the yellow subway here (I walked which was a mistake). The staff are friendly enough but the hostel has no atmosphere and is a bit far from all the attractions. The security is a bit dodgy, there's no luggage storage, I just had to leave my case in the hallway till the room was ready.


91%

Great value for the price. Had a nice stay here :)

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place for the price!! Is not just cheap, but the accommodations were great! The rooms were big enough and did not have to share the bathroom with more than 3 people, and facilities were really really clean.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guinea-bissau
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a nice stay here. The staff was very helpful. Location was not bad at all, really easy to get to the city and 10 minutes away from the airport. The rooms had enough space for all my luggage, and each room has its own bathroom, that was a huge plus!

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I liked this place, really accommodating and staff was very helpful. I've been to other hostels where the staff ONLY checks you in and that's it! But here they will go out of their way to make sure you are ok.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great! Warm and cozy, it was really cold when we went there! Staff amazing!

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very very clean, so good!

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Didn't spend a lot for the night and the service was great. will book here again!

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really clean, awesome staff , transportation is pretty accessible and easy to get to. The subway and buses here in NYC are pretty straight forward. Don't be intimidated by the location, it is VERY easy to get to the city from there! Best of all the prices were cheap! Really recommend this hostel.

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This place was great. I didn't know I could leave a review, but since I can, I just want to let future guests that this is a nice place, rooms are big enough, every room has a bathroom, the staff is great, very helpful and friendly. It's really close to La Guardia airport and 20 minutes away from the city. will book for the coming summer!

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chad
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I was very comfortable here. The staff was great and they did everything they could to help me. The bus stop is a block away and it is really easy to get into the city. I got to meet really nice people here and I really enjoy myself here. Really recommend it!

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great stay, and cheap, will stay here during the summer. All good!

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greenland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We stayed there last week, nice place and really friendly people. Close to the airport which was great!

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We really enjoy my stay here. Very comfortable.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

If your looking for a convenient clean friendly place to stay for a stay in NYC try this hostel. It won't empty your wallet and accommodation is great! Staff was really nice.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We were stuck in NYC because of the snow storm and we found this place. It is really cheap and the accommodations are basic, but that is all we needed. The place is really close to the airport and the staff was really nice and helpful. The girl helped us out so many times, we were having a situation with our bank and she was very flexible. Thank you!

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, clean, rooms are fairly large, especially when comparing to other hostels in NYC. Excellent staff, location is good too, easy to get to the bus and the train station. Good value for the money.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This is definitely a good choice if you want a safe, clean, convenient, and good-value hostel. Location is very close to La Guardia airport which was very convenient as I was waiting for my flight to be available. The rooms are spacious with bunk beds, free wifi, kitchen, TV, etc. Good stay.

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great! The girl on the front desk was really nice! She was able to help us with every question we had and also able to accommodate with every request we had. Will come back here next time we come to NYC.

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(113 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback