X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Westway Hotel & Hostel La Guardia New York Reviews

71-11 Astoria Boulevard, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
993 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Super cheap. Beds aren't the most comfortable, but it's a place to sleep and for the money I'd take it any day. The rooms have two bunk beds so you'll share with up to three other roommates. Great for the money!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Only advantage with this hotel is that they allow early arrivals to sit in common area till check inn hrs. But there is no bath room in common area. Thayer charge bed charges in addition to taxes. Average and. Ok


77%

Place was overall pretty good value for money. Staff isn't the most accommodating ever but the facilities though basic, are nice and well maintained. Subway station is quite far (30 min~ walk) but the express m60 bus will get you there in about 5 min, and from there getting on the N train was extremely convenient for me since I commuted back and forth to Randall's Island for a music festival for 3 days. Doesn't take long to get to Manhattan.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The neighborhood is very safe and quiet, welcoming place, very clean, staff was friendly, and convenient.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is adequate. If you have an early flight from LaGuardia, this place is a no brainer. If you want a place to stay in NYC to explore, there are much better options


91%

I use this place every time i visit. Recommended loads of people to it too!

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

On average a good hostel. Reasonable prices, helpful staff, not so far from Manhattan, very clean.


60%

Noisy road beside

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place, convenient and cheap, ver safe location, a short ride on the bus to Manhattan, quiet at night, spacious rooms. Great!


89%

Convenient for the wallet, close to La Guardia airport, not so far from Manhattan, clean, comfortable, friendly staff.


86%

This place was not bad at all. I though it was going to be a hassle traveling to Manhattan, but it seems easier to just take the bus than the train, the train takes longer. The rooms were big, and there was a bathroom that I only had to share with the room not the floor! Very clean, staff was helpful, roommates were fun people also.


94%

IT was such a luxury to be able to use one of the washrooms after getting off a 12-hour bus journey from Toronto to freshen up, and the staff at reception were very friendly and helpful.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a wonderful place to stay. Jon made it an extremely inviting and exciting experience. Thanks Jon

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The fact that we can't check-in before 3 is a bit annoying...common rooms should be better


60%

Trying to weigh this as fairly as possible. The location is far from the city (about 45 minutes - 1 hour) via public transportation (longer in the late evenings). This isn't inherently bad considering the trade-off in price of the room. It was clean and safe as well. My biggest issue was the lack of any sort of atmosphere. If there was any common room, I was never told about it - nor did I find it. What I found were long corridors with tons of rooms on every floor. Not a fun place at all.


57%

Not a bad place to stay at all, but the location is poor relative to other hostels in NYC in that it's pretty much a suburban location far from any subway line or decent stores and restaurants. There's not much at all within walking distance, but lucky for us we had a car. With regard to value, we could have stayed at a number of other hostels for pretty much the same price, but would have had convenient access to the subway.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice places, I can say "nothing special" but very clean and quiet. A bit far from the city center.


69%

Its pretty basic and the rooms on the road front are quite noisy as the windows don't close properly and the blinds were a bit knackered so let in a lot of light too. But proximity to La Guardia airport is excellent.


63%

Bed was uncomfortable and the outlets didn't work and wouldn't charge our devices. Shower was hot though.


54%

After staying at the Westway Hostel I feel mislead and distinctly unsatisfied. DO NOT make my mistake and make a compromise for the cheaper price - you'll have to pay a whole pile of additional tax on your arrival anyway. And for what? A desolate, anti-social place with all of the cars in the state charging along the adjacent motorway. The journey into the city is also a bit of a hassle, combining an inconsistent subway line and an even more unreliable bus. DON'T DO IT. Just don't.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(98 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback