Hostelworld.com

Whitetail Backpacker & Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.4

Jun is a sweetheart and has made my stay very enjoyable. He is very kind and has helped me a lot.. The beds are very soft and comfortable, which is seldom the case in many hostels. The atmosphere is very intimate. Internet is good. There's TV available and games, and books, and DVDs. It's in a fairly good neighborhood and about 10 minutes from Hongdae Station. I can't recommend this place enough. Easily the best hostel I've stayed in in Korea, considering the cost and quality.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.9

My stay at the hostel coincided with the New Year, and I must say, the area is super quite and safe, a 5min walk will lead you to great bars and shops to keep you busy till late! the rooms seemed very clean, and everyone respected sleeping time, so managed to always get a good rest after hours of walking around Seoul. The staff was welcoming and even renewed my towels! the only small thing I would recommend, tho breakfast is really really nice, maybe not be so strict with the time :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.9

Liked: Nice hostel, a very friendly owner. Very clean, the bathroom cleaned every day. Breakfast included. Free tea or coffee all the time. Disliked: a little hard to find and a little too far from the metro station- at least 15 min on foot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
6.6

I did have an issue with Jun the manager during my 4 night stay. So on the wall in the house it said you need at least 5 night stay to qualify for free laundry. However he told the other guest in the room before I arrived that he'll do it for 3 days. This was confirm with 7 other people. But when I asked him he said it has to be 5 days. I even ask him to reconsider, since I'm already staying 4 days, which is only 1 day off. However he just wouldn't budge. Something is just not right.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We have listed the laundry condition on the "Things to note section". We did not tell and never tell any guest who stay less than 5 nights to qualify for free laundry service. The group of 7 guest you stayed with in the same room had been staying with us for 6 nights. The thing you said in your review is not true! We have to treat every guest the same, why we have to give you special treatment? You have rated our staff "Poor" because of the laundry? This just makes us think it is solely your revenge. We offer affortable prices to travellers who are on budget & provide free laundry service & breakfast for years, your review is depressing and it makes us want to consider if to continue to provide free laundry to every guest.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Oct 2016
10.0

I really like this hostel, very inviting & immaculately clean. It's tucked inside a quiet local residential area. 10mins walk to station & 15mins to Hongdae main district with full of great nightlife.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2016
7.7

I didn't really like this hostel. In my opinion, the staff wasn't all that friendly. He seemed rushed when trying to explain to me how the hostel functioned and seem very accommodating to guest. The bathroom wasn't so clean and the towel given to me to use smelled very strongly of a foul odor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we value your review. We would like to clarify that the towel you used was not ours. When we cleaned your bed after you checked out, the towel you left on your bed did not belong to us. We have proper procedures to clean our towels and we always make sure it is clean before handling to our guest.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2016
5.4

The hostel is quite far from the station and the owner really bitchy when you mention that. It's not a hostel you can check in 24/7 as he is not all the time there. The living room is really cramped and there is lots of mosquitos so are in the bedroom. The owner does not have much experience in customer service I guess else you can't treat paying customers with such a attitude. However he let me store my backpack for a few hours and take another quick shower before I leave that was pretty nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

As soon as you arrived you told me our hostel is far for you while I had been waiting for your check in for more than 1 hour. We've listed every detail including check in time (definately not 24hours), location, distance & map on the listing. If you think we are not your type of hostels & if you think we are far for you, you shouldn't have booked us. We've been hosting guest for years, we know how to handle guest.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.4

Fast internet, great hostel overall, but it does take 15-20 minutes to walk to Hongdae subway station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.