Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Whitetail Backpacker & Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • annecince9453
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2017
8.9

Really helpful owner, we extended our stay and he helped us book to see an e-sports match.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HarrietHarper1
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.0

We enjoyed our stay at Whitetail, it was well located near a train station and Hongdae area and the staff and other guests were very friendly. It was clean but sometimes didn't look it as some of the facilities are a bit worn. The dorm rooms are very small, there was no room in the dorm to put our luggage or move around much! All in all, good value with the breakfast included too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are moving to a new location in 3 weeks, so we did not replace most of the current facilties. The new hostel will have all brand new facilities, lots of space in the dorms and with bathroom attached. Welcome to stay with us again.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2017
9.7

The whitetail is a nice hostel, it's very clean and the girls room is cozy. There's a good international atmosphere, and you'll find always someone to have a chat with. There's a very basic free breakfast. It's well located and generally a good place where to stop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
8.0

It was a good place to stay for the price. The only thing is, I don't think it is worth a 9 rating. There were a couple of floors and only one bathroom to share among 13 people. While getting ready to go it was a little hard to shower or use the bathroom even though there was another bathroom on the first floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are moving to a new hostel in 3 weeks. Each room has a bathroom attached. So we won't have the bathroom problem anymore.

3rd Jul 2017
8.6

It was a fine place to stay on a cool street in Hongdai. The place is quite small but this is Korea (you learn to use space efficiently). The quality cannot be much better for the price. Owner is friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bahamas, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
9.7

Brilliant stay here. The guy who runs the place is really friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

Didn't get to stay here, but staff were very patient and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jun 2017
9.1

Really great, low-key place! Has a nice homey atmosphere! It's in a quiter area, but it's really close to Hongdae (which is a super cool area with lots of cool shops and bars).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
7.7

Owner is cool, unfortunately he was gone one night and the staff left in charge by the owner was an absolute scumbag, I lost phone on subway which had the code for the door. I get to hostel and saw 3 people through the open window (including the staff left in charge) lounging. I asked them to open the door and they tried to pretend they could not hear or see me, the door was opened after 2 hours of knocking, weird and uncomfortable experience, don't feel this would happen if owner was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
9.4

Great experience for the cost. Located on a quiet street near unique cafes and park area. 10 minute walk to subway station and 15-20 minute walk to the downtown area. Very simple to find using directions given by owner. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.