X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Wicked Hostels - Calgary Reviews

1505 MacLeod Tr. SE, Calgary, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
713 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Security is pretty bad in the rooms. I had something stolen. The staff didn't enforce the late night drinking curfew so it was hard to sleep. Lots of drunk disrespectful Australians staying there at the time. The location is great and everything else is ok


54%

No lockers so the security is not good. Had something stolen. The location is pretty good. Not that clean but maybe that's because the hostel was so crowded during Stampede. The staff did not enforce their no noise/drinking rule so I hardly slept during my stay. The facilities are pretty decent and breakfast was nice


97%

Best hostel ever, with free calls overseas, was a great way to keep in touch with family, breakfast was included, added bonous, and there were hair dryers and straighteners available for use really was nice having all these little extras, staff were great and best location for the Calgary stampede, right accross the road, highly recommend staying here

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The place is really great. Nice location, helpful staff, awesome services & amenities, though for a hostel the rates were a bit on the high side.even if it was Stampede week. They could do more to enforce the night time quiet rules - too many nights folks came in at 2 and 3 and made a lot of noise.


89%

Easy to find, clean rooms and comfortable beds, good facilities including an excellent range of breakfast foods but the best part was the staff who were super helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay again next time i'm in Calgary

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Couldn't have had a more pleasant stay! What a great place!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed at wicked for 7 nights during Stampede week and loved it so much that I stayed another 4. The place was spotless, the staff super friendly and helpful, the free breakfast was good, and the overall atmosphere was really fun but not exactly party central - just the perfect mix. I didn't expect free laundry service but was happy to use it 3 times. Only minor complaint was no lockers and the 4 bed dorm could use another few square feet per person. Overall 9.5 of 10.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Thanks to staff.


94%

Very friendly, accomodating staff. I had a great experience during my stay. Great atmosphere, clean.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great position for the Stampede and city/train access. Most staff very friendly. Chilled atmosphere, and reasonably quiet late at night, just occasionally hear guests returning home at night. Always nice and clean. GREAT facilities - free calls to anywhere, free internet, free printing, free access to computers. Nice breakfast too - including Vegemite, Nutella, fruit and pancakes!


100%

I love this Hostel! By far one of the best i have stayed at - in the world! Such a friendly team working here, I never had any hesitation when asking questions and I always got answers. The vibe in the hostel is also great and the location just made it perfect! Will definitely be back here and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Calgary!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

My first hostel experience, I absolutely loved it. The hostel is small enough to actually be in the common room with everyone and hang out, super chill. They do "activities" every night like what's hot in the city, on the night we stayed we went to ranchmans a bar and the staff called a cab for everyone, the owner of the hostel came to the bar and bought everyone a shot. Breakfast was good, fruits were actually fresh. The wifi ACTUALLY CONNECTED, some hostels have really bad wifi.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Landed in from Ireland and Calgary was the first stop to get sorted with banks/phones etc. The staff and management at this hostel r so so helpful and nice. They provide free breakie, wifi use if computers/printer and free Laundry. Since we have left calgary and moved up north more we realized how rare these free facilities are. The atmosphere here is great, helpful , friendly and chilled out. If I am back down I calgary...I will defo be staying here.


89%

Seemed like a nice place - we weren't really staying too long, just an over night stop to fly out early the next day. But the facilities seemed very good: good kitchen, free phone calls and printer, good showers. My only complaint would be the lack of lockers. Can't comment on the location, as we drove in and drove out.


71%

We chose a private room for two separate nights. Unfortunately we were given the same room both times. It was extremely small, as The double bed was pushed to the wall on one side and only had room for a small table at end of bed. Only one bag could be opened on the floor and the other on bed. Also the air conditioner had a loud rattle which made it impossible to sleep. We would not recommend this accommodation as too expensive for what you got.


91%

Very good location, staff were also very helpful. Only stayed 1 night so hard to judge atmosphere but met some really nice people and got the impression it could be a lot of fun if staying a few more nights


91%

It was such a awesome time!! The people are all great. You have a really good WiFi-connection and a phone where you can call everywhere you want to in the world. They also have computers and printer/scanner there. It works all perfectly, I've done everything ;). One of the best parts is the laundry, they do free for you. Its fast and its awesome, especially for travelers, who don't have a possibility to do laundry. One night for 30-35$. You won't find a cheaper and better place!!!

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Pro: Free laundry (they even do it for you), free int. calls, free wifi, free breakfast (incl. pancakes, juice...) and a lot of other free stuff, friendly helpful stuff, great location Con: no lockers


100%

I have stayed in a lot of hostels and this is probably one of the best ive ever stayed in. Had a brilliant time here and everybody is very friendly and up for a laugh and a good time :) facilities also brill and the hostel is very smoothly run.


94%

Great place to stay, good breakfast, free fruits, free international phonecalls, free laundry, free.... Sooooo many things for that money, great! And cool and friendly staff! Also the location is nice, directly at a train station. THIS IS A RECOMMENDATION!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all Calgary Hostels

Please give us your feedback