X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Wicked Hostels - Calgary Reviews

1505 MacLeod Tr. SE, Calgary, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
736 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Very helpful and friendly staff, the location is good (near the train station and about 8 min from downtown). Good wifi, good breakfast, the bathrooms are clean, the laundry is free, the international calls are free (that's awesome!). The only thing was the temperature in the rooms, it was very cold.


94%

great place to stay. i was driving out to the rockies from winnipeg and needed a place to stay fir a few nights in calgary on the way. This is a great place. great location too right beside the ctrain station. will stay again.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The girl who greeted us and checked us in, her name escapes me but she had red hair, was incredibly friendly, as was the rest of the staff. However, she stood out as being helpful in every way. The breakfast was better than expected full of great healthy options. No one was ever rude to us and nothing was stolen or misplaced. The bathrooms were always clean and having multiple showers made it easy to stay on schedule. Overall, just an amazing experience.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything perfect. That is rare! Thanks.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This place is in a decent location walking distance to downtown and train station right across the street with easy access to shopping malls. It's handy the laundry is done you here means you have more time to yourself. Breakfast is decent to fruit cereal etc. Helpful girl on reception. The only thing here there's no lockers in the room. It's also noisy here the room i was in was beside the kitchen dining area. There is a 12 am noise policy but i heard people at 3-4 am talking outside the room.


89%

Cool place to spend your stay in Calgary, great staff (and owner) which are not just there for work, but can also still enjoy the hostel life with the guest. Beds might have been the most comfortable in my whole Canada trip. Rooms and bathrooms are kept pretty clean at all times. Little unfortunate that the common room is adjacent to several dorm rooms, but I guess that just encourages you to get out and enjoy the Calgary night-life.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Bardzo dobrze prowadzony hostel. Nawet ci pranie darmo zrobia. Brakuje tylko szafek na rzeczy w pokokach wieloosobowych.


91%

Nice place, nice people, great stay. Plenty of spices available for cooking, tea & coffee available, great breakfast. Would stay again!


94%

Best hostel i'ver ever been to!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

One of the noisiest hostels I've ever been to. Albeit they have signs posted for quiet time after 12am, that rule was not observed or enforced. Music was cranked and people were yelling at the top of their lungs until around 3am.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Had a great time!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel ever, with free calls overseas, was a great way to keep in touch with family, breakfast was included, added bonous, and there were hair dryers and straighteners available for use really was nice having all these little extras, staff were great and best location for the Calgary stampede, right accross the road, highly recommend staying here

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The place is really great. Nice location, helpful staff, awesome services & amenities, though for a hostel the rates were a bit on the high side.even if it was Stampede week. They could do more to enforce the night time quiet rules - too many nights folks came in at 2 and 3 and made a lot of noise.


89%

Easy to find, clean rooms and comfortable beds, good facilities including an excellent range of breakfast foods but the best part was the staff who were super helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay again next time i'm in Calgary

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Couldn't have had a more pleasant stay! What a great place!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed at wicked for 7 nights during Stampede week and loved it so much that I stayed another 4. The place was spotless, the staff super friendly and helpful, the free breakfast was good, and the overall atmosphere was really fun but not exactly party central - just the perfect mix. I didn't expect free laundry service but was happy to use it 3 times. Only minor complaint was no lockers and the 4 bed dorm could use another few square feet per person. Overall 9.5 of 10.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Thanks to staff.


94%

Very friendly, accomodating staff. I had a great experience during my stay. Great atmosphere, clean.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great position for the Stampede and city/train access. Most staff very friendly. Chilled atmosphere, and reasonably quiet late at night, just occasionally hear guests returning home at night. Always nice and clean. GREAT facilities - free calls to anywhere, free internet, free printing, free access to computers. Nice breakfast too - including Vegemite, Nutella, fruit and pancakes!


100%

I love this Hostel! By far one of the best i have stayed at - in the world! Such a friendly team working here, I never had any hesitation when asking questions and I always got answers. The vibe in the hostel is also great and the location just made it perfect! Will definitely be back here and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Calgary!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all Calgary Hostels

Please give us your feedback