X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wicked Hostels - Calgary Reviews

1505 MacLeod Tr. SE, Calgary, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
831 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

An excellent hostel. The rooms are admittedly tiny and a little run down. The place is however clean (good condition clean showers which is important) and has a great friendly atmosphere. There is an excellent breakfast and fast wifi included.


86%

Excellent location. The hostel had lots of suggestions for local activities but the common areas could be really loud and it was hard to determine who were staff and who were guests at times. Free breakfast was nice too. Would definitely stay again.


100%

The best and friendliest hostel we've ever stayed in: great location, awesome staff,and friendly guests. It felt like staying in a house with friends.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very friendly staff and residents, free breakfast and laundry - what more could you want?


97%

As an older guy this was my first experience staying in a hostel but I chose this site based on other reviews and I was very pleased. I was a bit sick at the time so I kept to myself a lot so I didn't make anyone else sick. The place was very clean and the bed was very comfy, that's all that matters right? :) I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place to others.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

clean, neat and close to the down town

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

No lockers Not much room at all in the rooms for luggage or personal items No wall-chargers by beds Free and quick laundry but you can not do it yourself- staff must do it for you Most guests live and work there, so not exactly a fun back-packing environment


94%

Really helpful staff in a top class hostel.

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Heating in the downstairs dorm was way too hot!


97%

absolutely brilliant, perfect backpacking community atmosphere and breakfast served at a time late enough for you to sleep in. One of the comfiest mattresses I have ever slept on and free laundry done within the hour. Cannot recommend this place enough

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This was our first hostel stay, and we were not let down by the staff at Wicked! The staff were always friendly and very willing to help with anything that they could do. Fantastic people, fantastic area, and a fantastic time!

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Was a great hostel in a convenient location. Had a great atmosphere. Rooms were spacious. Excellent staff

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a fun time in this hostel :) Great people there but I wouldn't say there is much to do in Calgary. Definitely great as a stopover to the Rockies though!

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good place to stay!


91%

Great Location, and the locals know about the place very well so it was easy to get directions. The staff was really helpful and explained everything thoroughly and there's someone who will be up at any hour of the night. The atmosphere isn't the best for an unseasoned traveler, but the value of all the free things is a great offer. The best was the international Skype Phone you could use anytime for free. The showers could offer soap or shampoo or something, but free breakfast is awesome.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Well stocked kitchen, good breakfast. security wise i felt a lil unsafe coz there was no personal lockers. Very friendly place. Super easy to make friends too.


100%

great hostel great vibe great people!


83%

I think I could go back to wiked hostels. My room was tiny but my bed was comfortable. There is a lot of restrooms in the hostel, so there is always one available. Sometimes the kitchen is a mess but staff is always cleaning. Breackfast is super good, pancakes, fruit, cereal, milk. It is awesome. It is well located, you can walk to the center of the city if you want.


71%

The Wicked Hostel was pretty much an average place. The parking lot needs to be cleaned to look more attractive from the outside. It is just across the street from the C-Train Station Victoria Park which is quite convenient. I do like how the Wicked Hostel does try to create a sense of community so that people can meet other people. As far as the facilities, the air vents are full of dust and need to be cleaned.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, very helpful staff members


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Calgary Hostels

Please give us your feedback