Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wickham Retreat Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
9.7

Great management, clean rooms, good showers, friendly guests, and free breakfast! It is a little out of town, but it's well worth it for what you get.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.7

Very friendly place and full of laughs all the time. Thank you so much for helping me a lot,Chris. If you're looking for a place to share travel experiences and make friends,this is it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Apr 2017
9.1

Great hostel. We enjoyed our stay. Chris the Manager was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.9

Really nice place, small hostel and everybody is quite friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2017
10.0

Great, friendly staff! We got a lovely welcoming when we arrived and the place felt very safe and had a good atmosphere. Okay breakfast, not exactly as advertised on the photos so don't expect anything too much. It was cereal with milk or bread with jam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here at Wickham. just clarifying that the 3 cereals, bread and jams are all eat as much as you want. I think the photo you referred to was from one of our free pastry nights that we used to do. Il get that pic removed. It was great having you both and hopefully might see you again one day.

4th Apr 2017
9.7

Best hostel in Perth, great value for money and great staff 😃

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
8.6

Charlie and Chris really care about their hostels and their guests and it makes all the difference. They want to give as much as they can to everyone. Location is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.9

I really enjoyed my stay at Wickham! I liked the atmosphere, the friendly staff who's always interested on what you're up to, and the other guests. With the free laundry and basic breakfast, it's good for the value. The free Perth busses are just 5 min away, and it's very easy and fast to get to the cbd. Also, it seems like the hostel attracts not the only-there-for-partying-and-being-noisy-at-night people, which I was thankful for! Some of the showers clearly needs an update though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • zhanganshan
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
10.0

Wickham is best hostel i ever stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
6.0

After seeing rave reviews about this hostel, I decided to book. Upon arrival, I was slightly concerned about the trashy looking 'tarps' around the front porch and a poorly written sign saying Wickham Retreat with an arrow pointing around the side. It looked like a crackhouse to be honest. The backyard is unnattractive, there are no locks on the dorm doors (small lockers are provided) and there are only 2 showers for the whole hostel. The offer of free breakfast isn't enough for me to go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Well we cant please everyone now can we. The good quality expensive shade cloth was for extra privacy for guests wanting to have a little quite time on the front verandah. Im not an expert signwriter but I assure everyone the words are now full colour black, it was one of them little jobs on the to do list. We also have arrows pointing from the front of the building to assist new guests to get to the main entrance at the side of the building. It works. Iv never been to a crackhouse so thats new to me. Please tell me more about crackhouses. We have a beautiful outdoor area at the rear of the building with shaded seating areas for that harsh aussie sun. Its also really good for when we have our weekly free BBQ or free pizza night. The guests also use the outside area to talk to each other and develop friendships, have a laugh and a joke. Wickham is away from the city and is set up as a great friendly household where everyone talks, laughs, play pool, play board games, watch free movies and cook together. For this reason and the fact that we are very careful of whom we allow into the hostel, there have never been any security issues. A hostel with no dorm keys sounds like a safe and friendly hostel. Staying at any hostel is what you make of it. Some guests prefer to hide themselves away and don't want to talk to anyone. Wickham isn't about that, everyone is made to feel welcome and more importantly, everyone who arrives is given a personal tour and shown where the three showers are.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.