X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wickham Retreat Backpackers Reviews

25-27 Wickham st East Perth, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
475 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

staff go out there way to always help you!


77%

Not perfectly clean, but all in all we really enjoyed our stay. The staff was super nice and lots of food and services were included.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Would recommend this to anyone staying in the area. The staff really made it. Couldn't do enough for you. There's free tea and coffee. Also free food, which was great as it was our first night in the country. Having a hot shower was bliss! If you're on a budget and looking for somewhere to stay then here is great.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel, the staff and the athmophear is just awesome. It feels like a smal family. I am here the second time and I would come back every time I will be in Perth. Just keep on doing things the way you do them now.


86%

At first I wasn't too sure about this place. The location is in the outskirts of the CBD in the middle of a neighborhood and the place is like a giant house that was halfheartedly turned into a hostel. It's also filled with mostly people looking to find work in Perth, but apparently this is common in AUS. Once I got over that, it was a really great place. The people were great, the environment was homey and the beds were comfy. Plus free food AND laundry!!! Ended up being the best hostel

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Extremely responsive and helpful staff A very convenient location to the city in a quiet and safe area. Wonderful food available.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Wickham Retreat just feels like home! If you are looking for a place to stay in Perth, that's definitely the best one you can hope to find. It is really good value for money as you get a lot of free food (Sandwiches and pastries night twice a week and curry night) and you get to meet really nice people.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is a great place where everything is made to make you feel home instantly. The staff is just perfect and the boss Charlie, is a great guy always ready to help, even if he is always busy, he'll find time to help you out! There are several nights in the week with free food, cooked by Charlie and the team, curry, sandwiches, barbecue, all of which are delicious and contribute to create a place you can call home. And you'll also find a lot of practical info on Perth, what more can you ask for?


57%

good points: free food wifi and laundry. you get a locker for your valuable items. a pool table. a shared living room with some fireplace for cold days. a big front yard which is cool to enjoy in the morning. bad points: cleanliness of the toilets. staff is not available for help in the reception most of the time. i lost a towel and a nutella jar but this might happen anywhere. boundaries and spaces are not enough even for a hostel (i understand that this is not a hotel but still its too much


89%

The hostel is definetly highly recommended. Although it is not located in the central CBD, it just takes about 10-15 minutes walk to get there (or the free Yellow CAT bus). The atmosphere is really great because it is a smaller hostel for about 30 persons. Therefore it is like a big family. In case someone needs to rest, there are several options, e.g. movie room, free pool table, free wifi and several couches. The staff is friendly and always helpful. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice hostel. Staff were helpful and always available, the rooms were good with plenty of space for your stuff, decent wifi, a lot of free food in the kitchen. The best part is the free laundry, never seen this service offered. Good enough location and the facility was very clean.


89%

A really chill hostel if that's what you're looking for. Everyone was really friendly, and the common area was great to socialize and meet others. Really fast wifi & outlets right next to your bed were also a nice plus.


86%

Del has been very nice and warm, so is many others staying there. There isn't anything more to say than what has been said by the other reviewers.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

If you want a relaxed stay, this is the place.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

As a couple we shared an outside room in what I imagine was a converted shed. There was broken glass on the floor of our room when we arrived. The bathroom (located inside across the courtyard) was not clean. The other guests created a great atmosphere and there are free buses into town. The wifi is also excellent. If staying in a dorm I might recommend it but I would not recommend the double room I am afraid.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review, did you let the staff know about the glass as no one informed me. I will certainly look into that. It is stated on the room descriptions that the room is separate from the main building. Depending on what time you used the bathroom is respective to the cleanliness. All bathrooms are given a quick clean first thing in the morning and last thing at night with a main clean after most people have showered and done their morning business.

89%

Very warm and welcoming

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really nice hostel, very friendly atmosphere and staff. Free wi-fi with a strong signal, pool table and tv's, plenty of bathrooms so there are no queues in the morning, free food (they provide free cereals, rice and pasta, as well as spices, cooking oils etc.) If you want a really nice hostel experience, this is a great place to stay. You'll more than likely make good friends here who you can have great experiences with. It's very near food shops and bus stations too, to get around.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Simply one of the best hostel I went to in Australia! Very nice place with free wifi, free laundry, free BBQ... free everything!!! Love it!


89%

People are great, everyone know each other. Sandwich day is perfect and no hassle of worries to buy food for breakfast everything is there. I would definitely come back.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Wickham Retreat is small but very friendly and having breakfast provided is great. The yellow 29 stop is. 250 metres from the hostel. Get the 37/40 bus from Terminal 3 and get of at Bennet/Adlalaide junction and walk up the hill and then walk 450 metres to Wickham Retreat.(4.40 dollars). I am a mature backpacker (55 years) and I loved every minute of my stay.


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback