Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wickham Retreat Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 722 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 722 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Feb 2017
9.7

Checked in for one night - aircon was in the room which was soo good! People were amazing that I spoke with - a real mix of cultures, and yet family feel. I suppose it's the people that make it some times. If you want to stay I perth and want a more chilled out, relaxed atmosphere then book this. Perths worse kept secret.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.7

Fantastic hostel. Possibly the best hostel in Perth if you are looking to socialise and make friends. Friendly staff. Great location, with easy free bus transport. Value for money. Would definitely stay there again the next time I'm back in Perth.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
10.0

This is the best hostel ever. Everyone really made an effort to make me feel welcome, as it is just part of the culture there to say hi to everyone. They are strict, but everyone is super respectful. I loved my stay so much I tried to book an extra week, but they booked out SO QUICKLY. Get the beds while they're hot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
9.1

Never been backpacking or stopped in a hostel before and so I was a little anxious on arrival but the management and the other guests were great and I settled in quickly. A small hostel, around 30 people there, good facilities to cater for that many. Take advantage of the free breakfast and make sure you are there for the free friday night bbq when everyone has a feast and drinks together. Location is good, 5 mins from free bus service, 20min walk to centre. Would highly recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Extremely helpful and friendly staff, great for meeting other backpackers, close enough to the city centre, loads of free stuff (breakfast, tea, coffee, pasta, rice). Entrance to the hostel has a security code and then there are personal lockers inside the hostel itself. Oh and free BBQ on Fridays was great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
8.9

Pros: very social atmosphere but not a party hostel, comfortable beds with aircon, loads of free stuff (laundry, breakfast, pasta/rice, towel), great water pressure, friendly owner and day staff Cons: there are a lot of aggressive signs that threaten to kick you out for any violation of the rules, even a camera watching you in the kitchen. I'm a rule follower but it just felt unnecessary and made me uncomfortable. Also the night manager is on a creepy power trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
9.7

If you have to stay in one backpacker in Perth just go to Wickham! The atmosphere is amazing, you have a nice breakfast and you are 15 min faraway from the city center (by foot) or if you're lazy or tired you can catch the free yellow bus :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
8.9

Best place ever!! Chris and Charlie keep the place very well managed. Would definitely come back again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jan 2017
10.0

Loved every minute of my stay at Wickham, such a great group of people that we did loads of stuff together which was fun. Staff were really friendly and helpful and the hostel is smaller which makes it more homely and everyone talks to each other. Loads of people extended their stays and I wish I did too as I miss it now I've moved on, but what great memories! Highly recommend staying here, book it! Thanks Wickham X

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Dec 2016
10.0

This hostel is just awesome! First I was weired because from the outside you wouldn't expect a hostel in there but as soon as you walk through the door you got that whole hostel feeling. Charly and Chris are two warm hearted persons who showed me everything with a little tour trough the hostel on my arrival. There are free Pasta, rice, breakfast, washing... totaly enjoyed it and was so sad I only had a short stay there! Awesome place will deffinetly come back Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.