X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Wickham Retreat Backpackers Reviews

25-27 Wickham st East Perth, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
350 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Excellent stay , stayed for ten days and found staff very helpful , met some great people, the free food laid on by the boss ( Charlie) was excellent , sandwiches , pizza bbqs really helps out when on a budget which u will find urself on as eating out and drinking prooves quite expensive

  • 12th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I tend to not write reviews but places such as Wickham deserve to be highlighted as an outstanding hostel who will go above and beyond to help you out. It's clean, well located and the free food is in abudance and delicious. Yet without those factors, it would still be a great place because Charlie the owner and the girls are the friendliest people you will come across. Yes it's expensive but were else do you get bed,breakfast,dinner most nights, and laundry under 50 dollars a day. Just book it!

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I really enjoyed staying here! Friendly staff and good atmosphere.. Thanks!!


100%

I liked it very much! I stayed for a week, and then I went for a tour for 8 days.. And I immediatly booked for my stat after the tour! You won't regeer this hostel! It is small, but that is just why I loved it, everyone gets to know one and other. Loved it!

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel. Lots of good free food and the internet is free and fast. It's a small hostel and has the nice sense of community lacking in larger places.


91%

Really nice hostel, has a great homey feel. Rooms are clean and comfortable and there's a lot of good common space; a garden area with tables and shade, a TV room, nice kitchen and living room with pool table and beer fridges. Free breakfast, dinners most nights and laundry make this a great place to save a bit of money. Short walk to the free bus stop and a few shops.


69%

It's an aright place to stay! Not the cleanest of places but the freebies all make up for that. It's not a party hostel so you can get a decent night's sleep, but that doesn't mean it's boring- everyone was friendly and up for a day out.

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly and helpful staff. Cleaned daily and all the freebies really help. Its like staying over at a friends house and the type of place you can leave your laptop/phone out charging and not have to worry about it being stolen. Very laid back nice to just chill and relax and there are usually people going out partying also if that's what you want to do. But there is No noise In the hostel after 11 also so you don't get woken up by drunk people being rowdy. Best of both worlds!!

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The amount of free stuff you get here, makes it the best place to stay in Perth, you get bread, pasta, rice, milk, cereal, an evening meal (4 evenings a week).


100%

Simply the best hostel in Perth. More than the hostel itself that anyway is very good, clean, tidy and whatever, the people in it are what make this place so special. Everyone is very friendly ans helpful, there are many occasions to spend time together like dinners in the evening (usually 3 out of 7 are free), bbq time or simply a pool match. This hotel is very recommend for whoever wants to move his first steps in Perth and needs to talk and share his experience with others adventurers.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Highly recommended place, mainly because the staff is so welcoming and the price includes more than you can actually use, from WiFi and printing to laundry to food. Very social place, too, because it's rather small and you have more common areas than sleeping rooms, and everybody comes "home" for the free meals.


80%

best backpack ever. clean nice atmosphere free food like (pasta rice, cereals)


71%

Nice people, and free food! Not the healthiest food, but some days there's also a free bbq, pizza, sandwiches etc. :) All facilities are free, like washers, lockers and so on. Wifi was very unstable during my stay, but they were working on it. Down the road you can catch the free bus to the city center, which takes about 5min. Most of the staff speaks English, and the owners are frequently around and very helpful :)


91%

A real retreat. Nice small hostel, friendl staff and a great athmosphere


94%

A really good all-inclusive hostel. I stayed there for only two nights but met friendly people rightaway. The staff was really courteous and friendly; late-night check in worked without a problem and they were patiently helping me to find out about the bus connections and stuff in and around perth. The only minus is the location, as it is quite far from the "party" suburb northbridge. I would definitely stay there again!


91%

This is the best hostel I've stayed in all over Australia and I've stayed in many during my travels. Charlie and Chris the owners are really down to earth and the staff are extremely helpful. I stayed here on 2 occasions, loved it straightaway and continuely looked for the same kind of hostel in Australia but none lived up to the standard. Breakfast, sandwiches and BBQ all free!! The atmosphere is so good it felt like home. I'd certainly stay here on my next trip to Perth.


89%

It is good for you if you wanna meet more western people.


89%

When arriving at the backpackers it looks a little dodgy. It's more of a house than a backpackers. All that changes as soon as you enter the building. It's small (which is good) and just great overall. Would recommend to anyone visiting Perth.

  • 14th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The high price don't have to afraid you because there is no added costs. More than that, they provide breakfasts, almost every dinners and also provide a lot of foods. Had a great time in the wickham retreat backpackers. It's more like in a share house than a simply hostel.

  • 14th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Gabon
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The matrasses need to be changed as you would roll back to the middel no matter what position you're in.


(225 results)


View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback