Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1009 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1009 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Talmoyal
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
4.9

I was stay there 4 days ,The location is really bad far from all , the bathroom is alaways dirty . After all of this the hosel is really expensive I find hostel in half price in the center that is really similar and even better . Really bad experience totally different from wild rover hostel in Arequipa that was great .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
3.1

My first bad review in 1 year of travelling! To start the reception staff are disgraceful, unhelpful, rude and lazy (exception of Jorge). This is more of an Israeli stomping ground than "Irish". Don't expect any sleep here, at all! The general atmosphere is terrible, EVERYONE we met in Cusco stayed there a couple of nights then left as it is so poor. Oh and if you've lost your head and want to stay another night they will say there is no room when there is beds on hostelworld. Big dissapointment

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.9

As others have said it's a party hostel. Pros: amazing view, large dorms with ensuite, comfy beds, helpful staff great atmosphere and easy to meet others. Cons: Bathrooms can get dirty, basic bread and jam breakky, if in an outside dorm its pretty loud, plus up a massive hill. Would recommend for a good party night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover Cusco and giving us a review. We appreciate all customer feedback. As a new build we invested heavy to ensure we can provide our guests with a quality stay, where home comforts are of a high standard and our atmosphere is inviting. Bringing people together from all around the world is what we love about our hostels. We equally appreciate your feedback on the level of cleanliness of our bathrooms. They are cleaned every hour of the day, however, we will play a closer eye to this to ensure we are running a tight ship. With regards to our complimentary breakfast we do have a large breakfast menu available from 9am-12pm everyday. We do hope was made available to you. Thank you again for your review and we are extremely pleased to read you would recommend our hostel. All the best with your future travels and if you're still travelling S.A don't forget we have a Wild Rover in Arequipa and La Paz, Bolivia. Come and say hello! Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

13th Mar 2017
5.7

Good hostel. Great bar and food. However the staff is really awful. Made my stay there really annoying. This is good hostel with bad managment.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Daniel, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover Cusco and giving us a review. We are pleased to read you highly rate the hostel, our bar and restaurant. With this being said, we are equally sorry you felt really annoyed by our staff and management team. As you don't state what you found so awful, and your points are vague it is hard for us to respond. However, we do take all of our customer feedback seriously and never want our guests to experience such a service. So we will try to look into this to ensure our customer service is kept to a high standard at all times. Thank you once again for your review and we wish you all the best with your future travels. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2017
4.0

The hostel is nice looking, the view is pretty and the beds are comfy. The bar is not bad. Besides all that, the hostel sucks! The staff is absolutely terrible ! Very non caring and not interested in helping. Every morning I was moved to a different room/bed for no logical reason and when I or my friends wanted to expand for another night they would say they are fully booked when in Hostelworld there were plenty of beds. Breakfast was also dry and not prepared for all of the guests.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
8.6

A great place to stay! Only complaints were that the wifi was a bit spotty and the bartenders didn't seem like real bartenders

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Ryan, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover Cusco and giving us a review. We are pleased to read you rate our hostel a great place to stay. We strive to provide our guests with a memorable experience! With regards to our bartenders, some of them are guest volunteers, however, they all go through thorough bar training before starting their 1st shift. We do hope this did not affective level of your enjoyment in our infamous Wild Rover Bar. Thank you again for your review and all the best with your future travels. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Mar 2017
5.7

The hostel is nice. But thet duble booked our beds twice. At the first time they fixed it but in the scond time the shift maneger didn't even seat up from her chair, she kept seatting on the other side of the room and said she has nothing to do. Very unrespectfull treatment from the stuff.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Tamar, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover Cusco and giving us a review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our hostel, however, slightly confused about the customer service you express received in Reception. We can gather that you felt is was disrespectful and for this we can only apologise for the confusion with your reservations and what you express was bad customer service. We presently have a new booking system in place which we are getting used to therefore, at times there may be small confusions, however, all our staff teams are dedicated to ensuring our guests are provide with a high quality service. We'd like wish you all the best for your future travels and hope you can accept our apology. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

  • nicklander
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Mar 2017
8.9

Great hostel to stay in, huge place, nice chill area and also the bar is great atmosphere and not too expensive, only downside is the staff are very unorganised, when we checked in in the middle of the night, our beds weren't available and weren't clean so we had to wait for that and also when we asked to extend are stay it seemed very confusing for them and took 2 days for them to sort us out beds and another week, other than that, great place to stay 👍🏻

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Nick, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover Cusco and giving us a review. As a newly built site we are extremely pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and found comfort in our design and facilities. We are equally sorry to hear you had to wait for your beds to be prepared upon your arrival and that it took us some time to finally extend your stay. As an incredibly busy hostel, in high demand and a new booking system in place guest reservations, on the odd occasion, can take a little longer. This chant be for long! We do apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused and pleased to know you still rate our hostel a great place to stay. We would like to wish you all the best with your future travels and if you're heading to Arequipa or La Paz don't forget we have a Wild Rover there too. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

28th Feb 2017
9.7

Oh man, this place cut a month off my life in the best way possible. This is THE party hostel that knows exactly what it's doing. It's an institution, several stories with an on-site bar/club and restaurant, with good food and cheap alcohol. But the rooms are quiet, the beds are great(mine had a nice, thick curtain to shut out the noise/light/drunken shenanigans) Every night the place is trashed and by morning it's completely put back together. Cleaning crew deserves gold medals. Loved it here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.4

Great for parties, not so great for sleep. Facilities are new, how showers, great bar and it is better than Wild Rover in La Paz!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Harry, Thank you for choosing both Wild Rover Hostel Cusco and La Paz. We are extremely pleased to read you found great comfort in our new build. We paid much attention to ensuring our guests have access to the best facilities and services in Peru. We would like to wish you the very best with your future travels and thank you again for your review. Don't forget stay at Wild Rover Arequipa and become a 'True Wild Rover'. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.