Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wild Rover Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Aug 2017
9.4

Exactly what you'd expect from a party hostel. Bar is a going every night. One bonus is the beds are very comfortable. All the staff were really friendly and fun too. And don't even get me started with Marty! This man is an absolute legend! What a guy! A true lad. Stud of studs. Guy gets it on the real!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.6

Great party hostel with amazing staff and always joining in on the fun! Cheap and amazing food like home! Showers and toilets are spotless and always clean! Only con is our room was right beside the bar so when you have an early flight it's not ideal being kept up till 3am by other drunk people but overall a great hostel to have fun and meet people!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Stephen, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover La Paz and giving us such a fantastic review! We are thrilled to know you had such an enjoyable stay. We strive to provide our guests with a stay they'll remember and we hope yours last you a life time. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the noise levels. Once our bar has closed at 2am we have onsite security committed to keeping guest noise down to a minimum. Thank you again for your review and if you're still travelling S.A, don't forget, we have a Wild Rover Cusco (our brand new and impressive build) and a Wild Rover Arequipa with its very own pool. Come and say hello! All the best with your future travels. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
11th Aug 2017
7.4

Great party hostel and super clean. However Wi-Fi doesn't work. In our 10 bed dorm we had only 2 plugs. Sorry but I need my phone for alarms and stuff so I cannot charge them at reception overnight . That's just ridiculous. Staff was the worst I ever had. Unfriendly. Rude. Not helpful. The moment you book you have to reconfirm via email the day before which is also just idiotic. In house travel agency also overcharges and the tour I did with them was below average. Great for party though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Jessica, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover La Paz and giving us a review. We appreciate all customer feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our infamous wild parties and our high level of cleanliness. We do aspire to be more than just a party hostel. We also appreciate your feedback on our booking system. Due to the fact we do not take the deposit from our guests whom book through HW we need further confirmation to ensure guests are actually arriving. As a hostel with great demand we are sure you can appreciate our predicament. It is often we have reservations made with no further confirmation and then guest don't turn up. We are sorry if this caused you any inconvenience. In relation to our wifi connectivity we have actually invested heavily to improve this, however, internet connectivity has never been Bolivia's strong point but we will endeavour to crack it! Regarding the lack of electrical outlets in your dorm we are working on increasing the number. Sorry this was not ready in time for your stay. We are also sorry you found our staff team unfriendly. This is no the feedback we often receive therefore, if you could provide us with more detailed information we would be happy to look into this for you Lastly, we will pass your feedback onto our in-house travel agency as we are not actually affiliated with them in any way and they are housed in our hostel for the comfort of our guests. Thank you once again for your review and we wish you all the best with your future travels. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.9

If you're looking for a party hostel in La Paz, this is the place. If you want to go to bed early: search for a different place...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.9

Great hostel, la paz in general is very hard to stay healthy in due to pollution but the hostel was kept remarkably clean, bathrooms and showers were awesome. All staff were fantastic, namely Jorge on reception, Marty Alex and Hughie on the bar. Wouldnt have been the same without them. Also, i tried Loki in La Paz which sucks in comparison!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Lenny, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover La Paz and giving us such a fantastic review! We are thrilled to know you had such an enjoyable stay. We strive to provide our guests with a stay they'll remember and we hope yours last you a life time. We will also be sure to let Jorge, Marty and Alex know about your positive feedback. It will be greatly appreciated! Thank you again for your review and if you're still travelling S.A, don't forget, we have a Wild Rover Cusco (our brand new and impressive build) and a Wild Rover Arequipa with its very own pool. Come and say hello! All the best with your future travels. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
1st Aug 2017
9.1

As mentioned in previous comments, it's a party hostel. No chance to get any sleep before 1:30am.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Katrin, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover La Paz and giving us such a fantastic ratings! We are thrilled to know you had such an enjoyable stay. We strive to provide our guests with a stay they'll remember and we hope yours last you a life time. Thank you again for your review and if you're still travelling S.A, don't forget, we have a Wild Rover Cusco (our brand new and impressive build) and a Wild Rover Arequipa with its very own pool. Come and say hello! All the best with your future travels. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2017
9.4

Booked for 2 nights, stayed a week. Really really sociable hostel, great for making friends. The rooms are sweet also. Sergio was an absolute legend, so helpful and friendly, would def stay again!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover La Paz and giving us such a fantastic review! We are thrilled to know you had such an enjoyable extended stay. We strive to provide our guests with a stay they'll remember and we hope yours last you a life time. We will also be sure to let Sergio know about your positive feedback. It will be greatly appreciated! Thank you again for your review and if you're still travelling S.A, don't forget, we have a Wild Rover Cusco (our brand new and impressive build) and a Wild Rover Arequipa with its very own pool. Come and say hello! All the best with your future travels. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

28th Jul 2017
9.1

For Bolivia really expensive. However, the bar is always busy (turn down the music though - way too loud!), the facilities are clean and the wifi works well. Someone broke into my locker so security isn't 100%. Also not recommended to book tours through their agency, it's more expensive than elsewhere and the tours are not always what's promised. Breakfast is not very good. Overall recommend stayig here!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
7.7

Ricardo at reception was the best part of my stay. He was so nice and welcoming when I arrived after a night bus at 4AM. Stayed in 8 bed dorm. Had to climb up a short stairwell and hit my head several times. Was very far from the bar, but could still hear it at nights. This was too much of a party hostel for me. Loud music, shots all day, really drunk people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover La Paz and giving us a review. We are sorry to read our hostel didn't quite work for you. As a party hostel we do recognise its not everyones scene and can appreciate your feedback. We are, however, extremely pleased you were happy with our customer service and will be sure to inform Ricardo on your feedback. Thank you once again for your review and all the best with your future travels. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

24th Jul 2017
7.1

On the surface, this hostal is great. Permanent staff are great, it's clean and they offer a lot of things to do. Unfortunately my stay here, and many others I spoke to was ruined by many other selfish travellers and the volunteers. Volunteers who work behind the bar care only about getting drunk and not proper service. Selfish travellers get drunk and have no respect or decency when staying in dorms. If you want to be woken up at 4 every morning then stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover La Paz and giving us a review. We are pleased to read overall you enjoyed your stay and our customer service despite the upset caused by other guests. Unfortunately as a party hostel certain dorms are crazier than others. We do wish you had informed us on your difficulties to sleep as we would have happily addressed this on your behalf. We do wish you all the best for your future travels and thank you for your review once again. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.