Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wild Rover Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
16th Mar 2017
9.1

Wild Rover lives up to all expectations and its reputation. It's a lively, loud and extremely fun place to be in La Paz - you literally don't need to leave the hostel and often don't! The bathrooms and facilities are great, they are always clean or in the process of being cleaned - the cleaning staff deserve gold medals! Reception staff are also helpful and the bar staff are more than enthusiastic ;) Thank you Wild Rover La Paz for an EPIC stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
11th Mar 2017
8.6

Great bathrooms, always being cleaned. Showers had good pressure and hot water. WiFi always worked in common areas but was patchy in rooms. Bar food was reasonably priced, but think i got sick off one of their burgers - the burger wasn't cooked through, so i shouldn't have eaten it (being in Bolivia) but stupidly i did! Rooms in the main building would have been super loud until the bar closes at 2am. Luckily my room was off the main building and you could still here the music but it wasn't too bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Pros: location, hot showers, good food, activities, fantastic staff, clean bathrooms Cons: expensive tours, weak breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.9

Great if you want a party hostel with lots of British people but bad if you want a quiet, chilled out place to crash in the evenings. Excellent bathrooms/showers, easily the best I've seen in 3 months travelling around S. America. Rooms are basic but functional. The breakfast is standard for Bolivia (bread, butter, jam, tea/coffee) but the bar does good food to buy. Late check out at 1 is amazing for travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.0

The party is as intense as other people make out - it's fine if you're in the mood but tough going if you're not feeling 100%. The dorms and bathrooms are great although I did have to go outside in the rain to get from one to the other. A kitchen would also be good although the food in the bar is decent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Adam, Thank you for your review and for choosing Wild Rover Hostel, La Paz. Despite being unwell we are pleased to hear you found great comfort in our facilities and services. We would like to wish you the very best with your future travels and hope we can look forward to your custom in the future and hopefully you can enjoy our parties. If you are still travelling around South America, as well as La Paz, we have two Wild Rover Hostels in Peru; one in Cusco and the second in Arequipa, all perfectly located in the city centre. Many thanks once again, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Best wishes,

22nd Feb 2017
8.9

It's like stepping from your bedroom into the middle of a night club/bar. This is the type of place where the party continues to the early hours and you will be sat on the toilet and there's 2 people going at it in shower opposite, so if you like party's and not sleeping, this is the right place, if not STAY AWAY! Side note - cleanest hostel I've ever been to with cleaners always working, great range of food from behind the bar, and best showers I've found so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Andrew, Thank you for choosing the Wild Rover Hostel, La Paz, and giving us a review. We are extremely pleased to hear we are the cleanest hostel you have ever been to, despite being a party hostel, and that you found great comfort in our 24hr gas heated showers and fruitful bar food menu. We do strive to provide the best services and facilities in South America. If you are still travelling around South America and want more of our great service, as well as La Paz, we have two Wild Rover Hostels in Peru; one in Cusco and the second in Arequipa, all perfectly located in the city centre. Many thanks once again, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

21st Feb 2017
9.1

Beds are comfy with nice duvets. Bathrooms clean with hot water. Bar upstairs has good drink deals and yummy food. My dorm was downstairs so noise was not a problems..but definitely a party hostel. Fun events each nights...Speed dating, karaoke, beer pong, etc. Area with blow dryers, curlers, straighteners, etc. Can book tours right from the hostel. Security at the door and lockers in room + luggage storage. Only downside...no kitchen. Good stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Michelle, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover La Paz and taking the time to give us such a great review. We are really pleased to read you found great comfort in all of our services and facilities. But most importantly that you had an enjoyable stay. We strive to provide our guests with everything they need and more - Giving you a home-away-from-home! Thank you once again and all the best with your future travels. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

18th Feb 2017
7.4

Staff was really hit or miss. Mostly guys and all of the girls except for one seemed pretty rude. The food is mostly great and the drinks are cheap, if you're looking for a party you'll find it here. Not for the faint of heart.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Ashely, Thank you for choosing Wild Rover La Pa and giving us a review. We are extremely pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay whilst equally sorry you found some of our volunteer bar staff potentially a little rude. This is not acceptable and we are grateful for you bringing this to our attention. We will keep a close eye. We would like to wish the very best with your future travels and if your still traveling S.A, as well as La Paz, we do have a Wild Rover Hostel in Cusco and Arequipa. In fact our hostel is Cusco is a new multi-million dollar build, offering our guests a panoramic view of city from our roof terrace, we're sure you'll love. All the best with your future travel and we hope to look forward to your custom again in the near future. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Incredible place for stay while you're visiting La Paz, very clean, good staff, nice beds and very good food, i enjoyed to be in La Paz in wild rover hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Roderigo, Thank you very much for choosing Wild Rover La Paz and giving us a great review! We are extremely pleased to read you had such an enjoyable stay and found great comfort in our services and facilities. If you are still travelling S.A, as well as La Paz, we have a Wild Rover in Cusco and Arequipa and would love to have your custom again. All the best with your future travels and thank you once again! Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
10.0

Really fun hostel with comfortable rooms and clean bathrooms. The staff were amazing, especially Owen and Sergio! Will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Miranda, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well as La Paz, we have two Wild Rover Hostels in Peru; one in Cusco and the second in Arequipa, all perfectly located in the city centre. Many thanks once again, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.