X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wild & Wandering Backpacker Hostel & Bar Reviews

94/67 Moo 6 BanTai, Haadrin, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

59%

Rating
194 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 43%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 45%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

If you aren't concerned about spending much time in hostels it's ideal. Very close to the FMP and cheap! However if you are picky about cleanliness and bathroom facilities I would look elsewhere. Cheerful, friendly staff. Mediocre wifi


26%

We arrived at our hostel and our room wasn't clean. It looked like someone stayed in our room and it wasn't cleaned afterwards. The staff told us that they would clean the room while we were having dinner. When we came back, the room was still dirty. When we asked the staff to clean the room they reacted very irritated. After the room was supposedly clean, the sheets were still the same as the ones that were there before. The hostel in general was also very dirty and the staff was little around


31%

We arrived on schedule and was told that there was no air conditioning and there was no ventilation of any kind whatsoever. We were then sent to another hostel affiliated with the owner which was in an even worse condition that W&W. We decided the hostel was not possible to stay in, hence we decided to change to a hotel. We requested for the refund of the deposit which was not returned eventhough they admitted its their fault but do not want to refund. Waste of time and please beware. Good luck

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The day before the guests arrived, the aircon to their room broke. We had repairmen out, but the part had to be ordered from the mainland. We tried to reaccommodate at our sister hostel, and offered discounts. The guests told us they couldn't stay at either property because their suitcases were too big for Koh Phangan staircases. We were happy to negotiate, but oversized bags is not a fair reason for a refund. Had the guests told us of other complaints, we would've happily worked for a solution.

97%

Absolutely excellent service & lovely staff. They couldn't have made my stay any better. Staff went out of their way to help me when I arrived early. Great location, not too far at all from the bars & beach but not so close that it's noisy. Plenty of room, cleaned everyday. Very affordable compared to the rising prices of other hotels, resorts & hostels Absolutely loved my stay, heard plenty of terrible stories of lots of other even mid-range hotels, & I would highly recommend staying here.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff were friendly and engaging made me feel welcomed and part of the family. Loved the decor and having a dj on site.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

No water during full moon. reception always closed. rude staff. rooms never cleaned even after being there for a week. leaks in the bathrooms . no water meant no flushing toilets which where never cleaned. sand everywhere no one ever swept. staff did nothing all day except smoke weed outside our bathroom door. terrible service. asked for a refund but was told they had no money to refund despite paying over 10,000 baht for stay. worst hostel i have ever stayed in.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

For full moon party it is good. You got a bed in the middle of the action. Just be sure that you like hip hop/gangster rap music cause they play it loud 24/7.


66%

The staff was really nice and the hostel has a great location (not even 5 mins walking from the party beach), tons of restaurants and bars close. Unfortunately the bathrooms were really yuckie and the wifi barely worked.




View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback