Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wild & Wandering (formerly Moonstone Hostel) Reviews

94/67 Moo 6 BanTai, Haadrin, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


187 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 59%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Staff were friendly and engaging made me feel welcomed and part of the family. Loved the decor and having a dj on site.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


No water during full moon. reception always closed. rude staff. rooms never cleaned even after being there for a week. leaks in the bathrooms . no water meant no flushing toilets which where never cleaned. sand everywhere no one ever swept. staff did nothing all day except smoke weed outside our bathroom door. terrible service. asked for a refund but was told they had no money to refund despite paying over 10,000 baht for stay. worst hostel i have ever stayed in.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


For full moon party it is good. You got a bed in the middle of the action. Just be sure that you like hip hop/gangster rap music cause they play it loud 24/7.


The staff was really nice and the hostel has a great location (not even 5 mins walking from the party beach), tons of restaurants and bars close. Unfortunately the bathrooms were really yuckie and the wifi barely worked.


Stayed here for the full moon party, had a good time but were a few issues. If they ask for a 50% deposit on PayPal, DON'T PAY! It isn't required, and they tried to charge me the full amount anyway, but got it sorted it eventually. Only one bathroom upstairs, toilet and shower but no sink at all! Wouldn't be hard to put a proper latch on the door either. Not enough space to put your bags. Good location but make sure you get dropped off in the right place as a few others have similar names.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. The 50% deposit is REQUIRED to guarantee your booking. If not paid, your beds will be released for rebooking, so bed NOT guaranteed. Apologies for confusion on your arrival - last month we had 2 bookings where PayPal received payments but did not email us. It's unwise to risk not paying deposit and losing your bed though. We have rebranded to avoid confusion with similarly named properties, and we are making improvements to the bathrooms, doors, latches & room design!


stayed here for one night the night of full moon. definitely the perfect party hostel. situated right in the hustle and bustle of all the full moon festivities. was abit surprised to find the door to the rooms had no lock and is pretty much accessible to any passerby. so make sure you lock up valuables!


Ok the place is well located, but it is the only advantage. The owners and staff are high 24/7, it's fun but not really professional. The bathrooms are awful and really dirty, most of the time no hot water. They can play very loud music until 7 o'clock.... It's not cheap (one of the most expensive place for my whole stay in thailand!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback.The "high" staff have been replaced when the issue was discovered. It's important to note that you stayed here on New Years Eve, which directly affects all of your comments. During the biggest event of the year (40,000+ people) bathrooms get dirty quickly, hot water run out, music and parties go late, and prices are up to 10 times higher. Our bathrooms are cleaned daily, bar quiets when guests go to bed, and prices are competitive in our area. :)


I was here over new year. The hostel has a great atmosphere and the staff were brilliant. It is minutes from beach and the full moon party and I would absolutely recommend a stay if you want to party on the island.


Really nice staff :) they try everything to make ur stay as comfortable as possible. The lounge downstairs is perfect for meeting people or get to know new people. I can definitelly recommend this hostel for backpackers.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! After some trouble arriving, we were glad you stayed with us here and in Koh Samui! Had a great time! Keep in touch and enjoy your travels! :)

View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback