Hostelworld.com

Willy Fogg Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.5
Willy Fogg Hostel Located at C/ Maldonado 977, , Montevideo.
Willy Fogg Hostel
Uruguay
Montevideo C/ Maldonado 977
72% 411
-34.9099711 -56.1950469
Willy Fogg Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Apr 2016
7.4

If you get past the uncleanliness, it's not a bad hostel. Just can't be too uptight and you'll enjoy it! Very easy to get to/from the bus terminal and close to the historical center and a supermarket is very near, as well. The staff is super cool. Nice atmosphere and a good place to socialize.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
9.1

The hostel is very relaxed and the people are very nice, although most of the people running the space speak only Spanish. There is a lovely terrace and the common spaces are very nice; the kitchen is also valuable and it helps that they provide a basic breakfast of bread and coffee every morning. Some of the bathrooms are a bit messy with water on the floor but there are other bathrooms that are relatively under used and so are cleaner; in any case all bathrooms are cleaned every day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
5.7

staff was friendly and the location was good but that's about all I can say. The place immediately smelled of mold. Very dank and dark in the rooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2016
6.0

You get what you pay for. I wouldn't come back here but I know a lot of people liked it. Facilities are very dirty and the place is smelly. The good thing was our room had air conditioning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2016
5.7

Not clean

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2016
7.1

The atmosphere at the hostel was very friendly and the the common spaces helped to meet people. At nights the terrace could get a bit noisy but bearable. The hostel needs some maintenance and the bathrooms were a bit dirty. You get your money's worth.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2016
10.0

Perfect location and very nice vibes!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2016
6.0

Staff: Very friendly, willing to help, a few only speak Spanish. Room: Clean, beds are okay. Bathroom: Needs work - quite dirty and I avoided it. Location: Good location - close to everything and able to walk around, fairly safe. Atmosphere: There was no one at this hostel when I stayed there - I was the only one in my room - Definitely not a party hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2016
8.6

Hostel had an amazing atmosphere and great staff, really great location close to the old city in a large building with lots of space to chill out in. The hostel was a little 'rough and ready' but this only added to the cosy nature and homely vibe. The pet kitten wandering through the hostel was a cute bonus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2016
3.1

The staff here are the biggest bunch of gronks ever. I don't usually leave negative reviews... but the way they (the very blokey Uruguayan volunteers) bullied the young French lady volunteer - I felt I had to say something. No need for details other than she's now moved on thankfully. The hostel is pretty average other than that - wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.