Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Willy Wallace Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 805 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 805 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
Willy Wallace Hostel Located at 77 Murray Place, , Stirling.
Willy Wallace Hostel
Scotland
Stirling FK8 1AU 77 Murray Place
88% 805
56.1195652 -3.9375900
Willy Wallace Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.4

The staff on reception was very helpful and friendly. I was in an 8 bed female dorm. The room was clean but lacked a big enough locker to put my rucksack in. Though my handbag and valuables did fit in the small lockable cupboard provided. I was the only person in the room too. Oh and the room was cold. Kitchen was clean as was the bathroom. There was a bit of a smell in the stairwell going up to the recption

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
10.0

I loved this hostel. Pros: - Great feel. - Helpful staff. - Cheap paid parking lot ~3 blocks away. - Bathrooms are beautiful. - Common room has huge tables, games, and movies. - Right in center of town. - Cheap. - Colorful place, themed artwork (posters and handmade). - Fairly comfy beds. - Good places to eat everywhere. - Stirling is a cool city. Cons: - ... - Only got to stay here 1 night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
10.0

Great location in the smack middle of old city, 5 minutes walking distance from castle, 40 minutes from Wallace monument and 1 minute from Brewdog pub. Nice common room, comfortable beds, great staff, everything hostel should have. Definitly worth more then money you pay, recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Waw, what a great reward for the work we put into our dear hostel! The Willy Wallace team is very grateful to you and we're glad to know you had an enjoyable time here with us. Thanks again. Francois.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Oct 2016
9.1

Great town and hostel, super location.... Only suggestions are enough lockers for everyone and more towels for drying dishes as they get wet quickly! Small minority of guests forget that hostelling means cleaning up after yourself in bathroom, kitchen etc... Thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, The Willy Wallace team appreciates that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for that suggestion about the lockers. We will take note of it during the next meeting with the owners and managers. About the dishtowels, it's a bit of challenge for us to maintain the kitchen clean at cooking times. We'll make sure to change them more often though. Thank you for coming!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Oct 2016
8.3

Stayed with 3 friends, staff was good, good common area, beds were comfy and solid bunks. Awesome location. Walking distance easily to bars, clubs, food. Only stayed the one night but was a good place none the less. No complaints about noise. Not sure what those other reviews meant by that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to write about your Willy Wallace hostel experience. It's important for us to know what we do wrong, but it's encouraging to know when we're doing things right. Thank you again. Francois.

14th Oct 2016
8.0

It would be helpful to have directions on where to park your car on your website. Stirling is very difficult to drive if you have never been there before. Written out directions would be so helpful!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Oct 2016
6.0

This hostel had a great location but was dark, damp, and not very comfortable. The common room was nice and spacious but the dorm I stayed in was in serious need of a fix-up. It was also VERY loud all night because of the partyers. I probably wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. It's important for us to know what we're doing wrong . The Willy Wallace team will take advantage of a low season, when our activity is slowing down, to refurbish whatever needs to be redone. Sorry for the inconvenience. Francois.

2nd Oct 2016
8.0

A great place to stay in Stirling - convenient location near the train station, decent facilities and a cozy, welcoming common area that seems perfect for meeting new people (although that wasn't on my agenda). Beds are pretty hard/unforgiving and there were a couple strange people in my dorm room (sat up all day/night watching shows on their phones/coughing/getting up and returning in the middle of the night) but overall it was a fine stay for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for your time. Reviews are the main way for us to know what should be improved in our hostel. In that case, I thank you to point out the comfort of our mattresses. We are precisely just about to change them all. I am very sorry for these inconvenient people in your room. That would have been a pleasure to relocate you to another room. We'll make sure the next time you come that you'll stay in a smaller dorm. Kind regards, Francois.

  • smile4vi
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
7.4

Staff was nice. Female room was first come first serve. Not enough lockers(1 small nightstand size per 2 beds) and not secure at all. Bunk mattress horrible and bumpy. Our door was code entry but 90% time not closed properly so no point. Bathrooms were average. Great central location and pizza mafia place across the street made the stay worth it. Very very very loud at night with people screaming and going crazy. Bring ear plugs. Wifi barely worked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for this review. Glad to see you broadly spent a good time with us. However, pointing out the inconveniences that you experienced here, is important too. We already took actions about the female dorm door and the wifi. Both are now working great, and it's a bit thanks to you and this review. The loud Stirling streets are a one-time-thing. It happens from time to time, mostly during the week-ends. And you obviously staid during one of these nights. Sorry for this unfortunate bad luck. Kind regards, Francois.

25th Sep 2016
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay at the Willy Wallace hostel. The staff are very friendly and there is a large common area to relax and meet people. The facilities are clean and the rooms don't feel cramped. The location is perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.