Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Willy Wallace Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 776 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 776 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Willy Wallace Hostel Located at 77 Murray Place, , Stirling.
Willy Wallace Hostel
Scotland
Stirling FK8 1AU 77 Murray Place
89% 776
56.1195652 -3.9375900
Willy Wallace Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.1

Perfect location with the train station 3 minutes walk away and a shopping mall 2 minutes walk with everything you'll need, although the street can be quite loud. The staff are friendly and easy to talk to. Beds were very comfy, as were the huge sofa's in the lounge. There is 1 small locker for each bunk bed, which isn't ideal. The lounge is large but cosy with a Guitar and Piano available to play whenever you want. All in all, a nice hub from which to explore Stirling. I would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
8.6

Friendly staff for the most part. 18 people is a lot for one room, but surprisingly it didn't smell like it. Town is noisy, but hostel was quite quiet. No where to make a private phone call, but plenty of people to chat with in the cozy living room. Clean kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
8.3

The good, I enjoyed my stay at Willy Wallace. The location was close to the bus and train stations in the middle of city center. The warning, there is little to no security in the building. The door to my room didn't close and with no locking facilities to lock up my case I had to leave everything out. There was also no internet in my room, I had to use the internet in the lounge. Overall a good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thanks for telling us your experience. I can see you mostly liked your stay, and I'm happy to read it. Since yesterday, there is a wifi range extender that gives internet access everywhere in the hostel. I can see you were staying in our dorm 1. Someone is coming today to do some repair here, I'll ask what he thinks about the door of your room. It should be fixed today or tomorrow. Thank you for bringing this problem out. Kind regards. François.

6th Sep 2016
9.7

I loved Willy Wallace! Walking distance from Stirling Castle. Very welcoming staff and clean location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.7

Great hostel, beds were super comfy and the room was so big it didn't feel like I was in a 16bed dorm. Good kitchen and bathroom. Few negatives though, wifi doesn't work in the rooms at all, there were quite a lot of staff members and they all hung out in the common room (where the wifi does work) and were so loud I couldn't even hear myself think.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for sharing your experience. About the wifi, I've just extended the wifi range to the dorm 1 (the room where you staid) yesterday. It works now perfectly fine. I'm sorry you couldn't use it during your stay. I sincerely apologize about the noisy staff members. The beginning of September is this period when the old team is leaving and meets the new staff crew. It involves some celebrations and certainly too much cheering and shouting. It's a good thing this is happening only once a year. Sorry for the inconvenience. The manager.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Sep 2016
8.9

I had a great stay at this hostel. Friendly staff, perfect central location, and close to the train station. The kitchen is well stocked, but unfortunately when I stayed there was no space to store my food in the fridge. Perhaps a second fridge would be helpful. Also, there's only one locker for every two bunk beds, so it would have been better if everyone had their own locker instead of sharing or missing out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! It's great to feel like you enjoyed your stay here. About the fridge, I think you are absolutely right. We are precisely planning to go for a bigger one this month. And thank you also for bringing out the lockers problem. I'll see what I can do about it. That could be a good improvement for the hostel. Thanks for sharing your experience and for bringing us new ideas. The manager.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
8.9

Very close to the train station. Bathroom was renovated and suoer clean. Beds weren't the best but still manageable. Storage of baggage the next day was a pound, well worth the freedom while climbing hills. Lots of pubs and cafes around. The rooms are a little dated but still a good place to rest after a long day. Staff was super lovely. Also super convenient that you don't have to check out if you are leaving early. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for letting us know your Willy Wallace experience. Please, let us know if you come around again. It would be my pleasure to give you a special price for this amazing review, the next time you come. Glad that you enjoyed your time with us. The manager.

  • adamblack93
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Aug 2016
8.0

A good little hostel, right in the city centre. Five minutes from the train and bus stations and surrounded by shops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Aug 2016
10.0

Another favor hostel. The location is good. The room is big. The toilet is clean. The bed is comfortable. The kitchen provides free coffee and tea. The staffs are super friendly! This would be right choice if you are looking for a convenient location and great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2016
9.4

Excellent staff, nice rooms, better than your average hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.