X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Winsor Hotel Reviews

20 6th street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
119 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 61%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great value for your money. Super nice staff. Rooms were nice and clean.


60%

The hotel didn't offer breakfast, don't have bathroom in the bedroom, and the price is too high. However, the bedroom was comfortable, clean and easy access to public transportation.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

It's a very simple hotel, but with very good location, just at the corner of Market Street. However, it lacks for details inside the bedroom: nor fan or air conditioned neither decorating. The bathroom and restroom are too tight. And there are lots of homeless in front of the hotel front door everyday and everynight (with a very strange flea market).


20%

This "hotel" is the worse by far that Ive experienced in my life. It smells and the rooms are tiny plus you have to share a community toilet etc and the front desk people were not personal and rude

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cambodia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Honestly I was very shocked as soon as I saw the room. It looked more like a prison than a room. There are only one electric power plug on the wall , so that I had to charge electric stuff one by one which is very inconvenient and needed a lot of time. There are also no night stand, only one light on the ceiling. But the location is very good, center of downtown, close to everything. Stayed there only 3 days and moved into another guest house nearby which was very neat compared to Winsor.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Dodgy street but the homeless are harmless. The location is very close to downtown which is convenient for transport/shoppping/etc. It's weird how the toilet doesn't have a sink but rather an alcohol-based hand rub dispenser. The sinks are in your room. It's the cheapest place I could find downtown that had a minimum rating of 6/10 on Booking.com.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The hotel it's on a board of the dodgy area of SF. Get a room far from the street noise and try mattress.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean hostel, great location in city center. The homeless people in the area can be a bit depressing, but it's a great value for the money. Would recommend if you just need a place to sleep and shower while enjoying the city.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


23%

The worst street in San Francisco and the worst (the most dirty) bed in the Street.


51%

Neighbourhood and street in front were very unsafe. Room was not that clean. No safe/vault.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Helpful staff.Thanx to Amit and Bee for their helps.For the next time I will stay here again.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean, lovely atmosphere, I felt very at home. The bed was really comfortable and clean and comfy sheets and bedding. The room was really dark with heavy curtains, but was a ltitle noisy outside, but not enough to stop me sleeping. Friendly and helpful reception and located so close to everything! The whole hotel was very clean and quiet. Very impressed!

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Very local but definitely in the hood, I guess. Lots of drugs and cravkheads out front. Still... It's easy to walk to everything


77%

This place does very wel with what they have. Super clean, awesome staff secure and comfortable rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. They let us drop our packs early and all was secure. The neighborhood was a little sketchy, but no problems. A bit loud all night, but as I say they do very well with what they have. I would stay here again. Convenient to public transport so you can ride the Bart from Oakland or SFO for like $10. Don't bother with the shuttle.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Overall, this hostel was a perfect little place to stay in the heart of the Tenderloin District. Although this area, happens to be in a notoriously bad neighborhood, I felt safe and the location was in walking distance of nearly every major transportation system in Downtown San Francisco. I definitely recommend Winsor Hotel if you're looking to save money and don't plan on staying in the room long. This is a great stay for single travelers & tourists.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel itself was pretty standard and pleasant, the staff were helpful and that was all fine. But the location was quite shocking, staying on 6th Street which we later found out was notorious for being a sketchy neighbourhood. There's lots of homeless people on the street outside and although the hostel is close to the top of the street, and therefore to the main road which is safe and full of shops, I wouldn't stay here myself as a solo female traveller and feel comfortable coming and going




View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback