Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Winsor Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
4.3

Really insuafe neighboorhood! There was homeless and drunkie peaple all around the neigborhood! 6th street is the most unsafe street of San francisco! Also, there was a big cokroach in our room. DO NOT GO THERE

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • coertbotha8573
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
28th Aug 2017
7.4

In a very busy street. The plenty of homeless people SCREAM AND YELL 24 hours. And beg 24 hours. I had to sleep with ear plugs. This hostel is too expensive for its value. No parking for cars. You must park your car one block away under roof, which cost $34 per day !! The rooms are very shaggy and SMALL. Will never stay in the city again. SAN FRANCISCO is the most expensive city in the world.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
9.1

Great stay for the money - central Tenderloin location can't be beat and the staff were very friendly! The room was nice and clean, as were the toilets and showers. Would definitely recommend and make a repeat stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
5.1

The location of the property is a concern even though it is exactly a minute from the high street specially for a solo female traveler. Too many homeless in the vicinity and below the property therefore one does not feel safe to walk down specially in the evening. While the staff state that they are harmless, one needs to take all required safety precautions while stepping out. The room is basic. Lighting and ambiance could be improved. Housekeeping is provided on request which is a concern.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
8.6

You get what you pay for in San Francisco. For the price it was a great pick. located right off Market St and 6th. not far from Tourist center and all major municipal transportation spots. Yes, there is a homeless problem in San Francisco with the rents being so high. The Winsor was a good pick for the $$$ spent. Clean and polite owners.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
7.1

The hotel facilities are minimal and clean. The restrooms are shared so that is something to keep in mind before booking. The location though can be a little alarming due to the crowds outside. Also its quite noisy till late in the night - either due to garbage(or other heavy traffic vehicle) trucks doing their work late in the night or homeless people shouting outside. The staff was quite helpful. Also they charge a dollar (in cash) for the small water bottles.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
10.0

Winsor Hotel in San Francisco is a good place to stay. Located right in the middle of downtown near the public transportation to all attractions and near the Bart (Subway) line that you can take to the airport. The staff is very friendly and keeps the facilities very clean. The place is secure, the entrance is locked all the time. The staff is on duty 24 hours a day. This is a good value for money. I had a private room and even 2 people like a couple can easily stay for the same price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2017
5.4

The Winsor Hotel is a great place if you're on a budget, however it is located on a dangerous street overcrowded with homeless. The showers and toilets are clean, the bed was uncomfortable but okay and there was no AC, which meant we had to keep our window open at night which didn't help with the noise issues. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again as there are better hostels in SF for the same price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
10.0

The Winsor is a great budget hotel! It is clean and has everything you need for a stay in San Fran. The staff is friendly and care about your comfort. My husband and I needed a fan and the guy at the front desk was lovely enough to find us one and bring it up to our room. The neighborhood is very central and close to everything. There are a lot of homeless around at night but we never felt like we were in any danger. They are all just people trying to live too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
9.1

The hotel is clean, the staff is helpful and great but the location is rough. There are a lot of homeless people roaming but they mind their business and I never once felt unsafe. The hotel staff is attentive and are so very nice!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×