X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Winsor Hotel Reviews

20 6th street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
62 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The security in the Wifi network was terrible, and probably infested with hackers.


86%

Sketchy area but great place to stay!


46%

My wife and I have been in many hotels so far in different cities around the world. In one word,So awful and no value for money ! No Air conditioning controllable at room, too cold at nights, No refrigerator at room , not even one refrigerator in whole building to put my sandwich in summer time! No hanger for towels, it was presented on our bed! No desk at room, small dark room with teared up certain, too much homeless around! The only good thing about there was only the cleanness.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Good location, but poor cleanliness. Not the best place to stay,except if you want to be really downtown and don't care about cleanliness of your room.


51%

The hotel was rather clean and the room was Ok. The problem was all the homeless people outside. As a woman I felt very uncomfortable. Especially when we came back late - this area is not a good one.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The area is crowded by homeless and pepole on drugs. The hotels it self is OK, but you really cant look away form the social issues in the area

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Good compared to other places in San Francisco.


89%

The first impression of the Winsor Hotel was a bit shocking because of all the homeless people in front of it an the rough looking in the inside, but the staff is great and super friendly. Furthermore the rooms are big with a sink, TV and wireless. The room and bathrooms are very clean as well and the Hotel is based very central in the shopping district! I highly recommend the Winsor Hotel!


74%

I arrived at the hotel at 10.30 at night- not the time that a young woman wants to be walking down 6th street in San Fransisco! This is a frightening area of town, literally full of homeless people and terrible crime. Prepare yourself! That said, it's very central to town, the hotel staff were wonderful and it's very clean and safe once you're in the building. If you can cope with the terrible location and/or your in a group, this place is not bad at all.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff were helpful and answered any questions we had There are a lot of homeless people on the same street but none of them give you any bother and the hotel entrance is secure. There were some small stains on the bed sheets but this was resolved when we asked. Toilets and showers were always very clean and available Good sized room Good location Room felt quite dated but you get what you pay for

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Perfect place to stay for one or a few nights. Staff was really friendly and helpful, and it was open 24h. Great location with 5-10 min walk to Bart station and car rental at OFarrell's st. Private rooms that was clean, with a tv, a sink and a bed in every room, felt a bit empty in the rooms. Not much of an atmosphere, but nice with cheap private rooms :)

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Can't beat the price for what you get. Location gets a little sketchy at night.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Except for the countless homeless people outside, no complaints. Nice stay, reasonable price.


94%

The hostel was in a prime location and provided excellent service. While the area itself was rough the hostel was safe and well run

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It is what it is. A very very cheap way to base yourself in the middle of a pretty pricey city. It was clean. Excellently located. Which made enjoying awesome San Fran very easy. And the cafe on the corner of Market does great breakfast. And the lil bar next door was nice too.


66%

The staff is pretty nice and the location is close to everything. It's really nice to have a cheap private room. It would be awesome , though, if they had some sort of common area.


94%

Excellent value for money hostel. It is in the center of city an close to everything. The place has been renovated and is clean but the building is old as most buildings in the city. There are few beggars outside the area in night time but they look harmless. It is a bit noisy so it is good idea to have ear plugs handy. For that money I don't think you get a better place.




View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback