Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wish You Were Here... Backpackers.Bar.Restaurant.

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.3
Wish You Were Here... Backpackers.Bar.Restaurant. Located at Sangkat 4, Mittakpheap, Otres Beach, Sihanoukville.
Wish You Were Here... Backpackers.Bar.Restaurant.
Cambodia
Sihanoukville Sangkat 4, Mittakpheap, Otres Beach
66% 229
10.5758673 103.5494041
Wish You Were Here... Backpackers.Bar.Restaurant.
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jun 2016
6.0

Atmosphere is nice and chilled. There's a good communal area with food (food's a bit pricy for what you get) also lots of board games available. The beds were horrible! Dirty mattresses on the floor and were all very damp and stank. And a smelly fleecy blanket is given to you which doesn't help in the heat. Got rained on during a storm while in bed too. Large boxes with locks are provided outside of the bedrooms which is good for not turning the lights on in the rooms and attracting mosquitos.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. It is difficult to keep things dry during wet season, I have spoken to our laundry service regarding the “smelly blanket” you had on your bed and they ensure me this wont be an issue in the future. We hope you have safe travels for the rest of your journey :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jun 2016
5.7

Bathrooms are a bit gross, but it is a building made out of wood and grass roof. Dorm beds are on the ground under mosquito nets, and the fan is basically non existent. Lots of ants.. They play music very loud so it's hard to have a conversation when sitting in there lounging area. Also if you try to go to bed early just feels it's playin in your ear. Staff wasn't really that nice other than the bar girl, it almost felt like it was an issue when I asked to get the bus booked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. Our bathrooms get cleaned several times during the day by our amazing cleaning staff. Our bar is open late as it states on all of our advertising. I am sorry you felt like you were an issue when booking your bus ticket. We have spoken to our staff and this will not be a problem in the future. We hope to see you next time you are on Otres Beach.

  • emilygiel
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
9.1

Wish was very nice, the staff was friendly, and the restaurant was a nice plus! The dorms are pretty average, but the mattresses are super soft. Note that this is on the other side of the road from the beach- super short walk, but I kind of wish I'd booked a hostel on the beach side of the road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome review. We wish you an amazing holiday and look forward to seeing you next time you're on Otres Beach :).

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th May 2016
6.3

Dirty bathrooms. Our pillows didn't have pillow cases. Rooms are dark. mattress very old you can feel the bed underneath. The Food specials couldn't be cooked because the cook was drunk. The food was alright and the beer was cheep. Don't stay here... Just eat and hangout here

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feed back. We ensure that every room has adequate lighting and bedding is provided, (I am unsure as to why you did not get pillow cases, but I have followed this up with our fantastic cleaning staff.) We have tasty nightly specials that our chefs are more than capable of preparing. You can ask the many happy customers :) We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Cambodia.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
4.3

Staff at this hostel were unhelpful and appeared disinterested. The bathrooms are tired and were unclean, the entire hostel shares the same roof, with small walls that don't reach roof height separating dorms, rooms etc so it is very noisy. The hostel is tired and was really over priced for what it was.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you feel this way. We have been working with our staff in communicating awesome customer service. We have stand alone bungalows out the back that provide more privacy for our guests that require this. We are constantly maintaining and improving our guesthouse, I am also sorry that you feel it is “tired and over priced”. I hope the rest of your travels did not tire you. :)

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd May 2016
4.9

This is such a rip off for what you pay. Dorms should be $3 a night given that it is literally a massive shack with 2 fans and 12 flimsy mattresses on the ground, with mosquito nets that are riddled with holes. The "atmosphere" at the bar wasn't great either. I think this place is really chill but if you're gonna be that basic with facilities and rooms, it needs to reflect in your pricing.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. Our dorm is an 8 bed dorm, we have 2 very large overhead fans. During your stay at Wish, Cambodia was experiencing a very intense heatwave & scorching temps of up to 44°C, beating all-time national highs. We encourage all our guests to communicate with us if there are any issues with anything, especially mosquito nets, we always have many new ones & it only takes a few seconds to swap it for you relieving you from the annoying buzzing of the mozzies in your ear at night

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
7.4

I don't really know what to think about wish. Good rooms with fans that can stay on all day which is a god send. Michael is fabulous but some staff can be fairly rude and you feel a bit like you're invading their personal home. Toilets need to be cleaned more often and you have to buy toilet paper. Lovely chillout area and food is wicked. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt like you where invading, we have since been working with our staff on customer service and our home is your home :) Thank you Michael is fabulous. we hope you had safe travels and look forward to seeing your again.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
4.6

The only good thing of this place is the live music on sundays. It is dirty, loud, full of people who want to get high and drunk. Unless it is your style, I would not recommend it at all. There are several.other accomodation next doors which are a lot better for the same price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you felt this way. We do have quite a large bar on Otres beach and in having a bar unfortunately for some that does bring people that like to have a drink or two and in turn that does bring noise as people do like to talk to each other when they are travelling about the experiences that they have encountered. I hope you found a more quieter place throughout the rest of your travels. :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.