X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombat Backpackers Reviews

195, Hay Street, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
165 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

i only booked this hostel because it was the cheapest. it was worth the price that i paid

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The staff were friendly and the location was good. However, the hostel is very dingy and looks nothing like the photos. The outside is covered in grafitti and the windows have been painted over. Some air freshener or incense is badly needed. It's not mentioned in the hostel world listing, but this is an international only hostel. Over all it's ok as a place to sleep but if you want somewhere with a nice atmosphere it's not the place for you


91%

A nice hostel! Friendly and obliging staff. Next to the City centre and very cheap.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

DISGUSTING!! The worst place we have ever been...

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The Kitchen and toilet are not clean and the mattress is very bad.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Hostel was awful! Floor had a layer of water from leaking showers next door. Room was damp obviously and no windows were able to be opened to even help slightly. We managed to stay no more than 10minuites before asking for a refund which they did kindly do after even the receptionist said it was not acceptable.


29%

Proprably one if the worst Hostel I have stayed in. After just finshing a RTW trip for 6 Months, I was actually embarrased that this Hostel is Australian. It felt like a halfway house for drug addicts. My room hadn't been cleaned in I don't know how long, I didn't even bother having a shower as they were so filthy.


94%

The Wombats might not be the fanciest place in town but it got loads and loads of love offer and after just one single evening, I already found myself among some really great people! The cleaners are doing a wonderful jobe and I'm surprised that even though there's so many guests in this hostel, it's still sparkling clean at all times! Alex + Laura, the incredible receptionists, are always friendly and ready to help if problems might occur. Would definitely recommend this place to everyone!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really good atmosphere and great staff! It's close to the centre and has all the facilities you need. Would definitely recommend this hostel.


100%

It was an awesome experience. The staff is great and the rooms clean. Lots of fun people, great place to hang out. All the best, Maples

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

What a beautiful atmosphere!! 10/10!


89%

Very nice and helpfully staff Great atmosphere Good facilities Very central area Big and clean kitchen Nice rooms

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Clean, clean, clean that hostel...


91%

now i'm already since 3 weeks in this hostel. at the beginning there were a lot of problems (cold showers, dirty) but the new staff changed a lot and they try to do the best. They fixed the showers and all the other problems. Now i feel like home, i'm working on construction site as well and the wombat is not a party hostel. It's always pretty quiet! The best thing: they have a tv room where i can watch all the football (cl and epl) matches and the kitchen is so tidy, i really surprised!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

This place is disgusting. The dorms are dark and dingy, the toilets are filthy and broken, the kitchen was so poorly equipped that we couldn't cook and wansn't ever cleaned. Don't be fooled by the cheap price for the area, it is worth spending a bit more to not stay in this dump. I stayed here 2 nights and couldn't wait to leave. It felt infested and crawling with germs, bed begs and even the carpet had fleas that bit. I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy. Ever.


49%

Not well looked after, really shoddy facilities and overall underwhelming vibe. One shower with fully working taps and faucet out of 6 is not good enough, and the kitchen was disgusting.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Showers were freezing, and the aircon unit in the dorm rattled so bad it was impossible to sleep :(. Beds were okay Id recommend only if you need one or two nights stay definitely no longer!!!!!!




View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback