X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombat Backpackers Reviews

195, Hay Street, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
121 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Free wifi, friendly people, helpful staff.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Cleanliness was pretty good. There is a female bathroom with powerpoints for a hair dryer but bring your own. There is a common room in the basement down stairs which needs more lighting but the temperature is nice for reading and there was Foxtel on the tv. Having free wifi was a positive and the staff were friendly

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were helpful on arrival and told me some nice places to visit. The free WiFi and air con was pleasant as it was hot at night. Could use some new floor matts for the showers as it was very wet.

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I enjoyed my stay at this backpacker. The staff were friendly on check in and kept me well informed, the location is not far from the city centre and it was the cheapest hostel when I book in Perth. The cleanliness was good but the shower screen I used could be cleaner. Free wifi - can be slow at times when everyone is using it

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We stayed here for one week it has a good vibe, good value for the price. Can be a little quiet at time. Our room was facing the sun and the curtain wasn't the best and got woken up early from the sun

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I made some great friends here. The cleanliness lapses at times but generally the hostel is clean. The lockers are in the rooms but they are a little small.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cameroon
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Dirty and noisyy but cheap and friendly

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

It's definitely the cheapest hostel and not the grossest place I've been. However, the whole place smells like feet and its pretty stuffy in the rooms. I'm a very frugal person, and even I would recommend spending a little more. Just a ton of people around if that's your kind of thing.


40%

need lots of improvement in everything!


31%

Disgusting, Items robbed, broken, falling apart, got bit real infected, every single rule broken, no lids on toilets, wireless was good tho.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Couldn't find it, not clearly labeled, is it still open? Where is it? Went somewhere else

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

If you would like to sleep during the nights, don't book here. As the cheapest hostel in Perth and located about two kilometres away from the city and bars, people tend to have a party there every single night and they were so loud that it was hard to sleep. Very social hostel tho. Toilets and showers are dirty but if you're used to stay in hostels, you can get over it. Not maybe the hostel where you wanna stay long term!

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It's clean enough, friendly enough and located well enough to justify the price. However it's shoddily organised, fairly grimy and don't expect a decent mattress. Spend a few bucks more if you can afford it but if not you probably won't mind too much.


100%

Good people and free wifi

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Probably one of the worst hostels I've stayed at. Extremely unclean and unhygienic. Water soaking from the lavatories across the carpet in one of the hallways causing a mouldy, pungent stench. Toilets had faece remains all over them and the hostel was a general dump. This semi converted factory needs some severe attention. Wouldn't recommend to anyone

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


23%

The hostel is very untidy, dirty and it smells very bad because there are no windows in most of the very small rooms. The picture which is shown on hostelworld looks very different in reality.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Only stayed for one night and was in a two share room with a friend. The location is really great, right downtown and near all the free buses in Perth. Everything else was mediocre -- not too clean, not too dirty and it's decent value for a hostel in Australia. Would stay there again if I was in Perth.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback