Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Wombat Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.1
Wombat Backpackers Located at 195, Hay Street, Perth.
Wombat Backpackers
Australia
Perth Western Australia 6004 195, Hay Street
78% 233
-31.9589849 115.8729556
Wombat Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2016
2.0

Disgusting! The dirtiest place I have ever stayed in! The sinks and showers were Moulded and brown .. There was doors hanging off all over the hostel. The bed collapsed on me twice bottom bunk- it was a terrifying sleep! Every time top sleeper moved we felt the whole frame would collapse and it was so noisy! You could hear neighbours move in their sleep all night too. Our room smelled terrible all the time and heater didn't work - we were frozen! staff & guests arrogant and immature. Horrible.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
10.0

Kangaroo Inn is highly recommended to stay for those Backpackers! The hotel was sooooo clean and tidy and feel like own home. Thank you very much for the great hospitality and friendly staff to Lilian, Mogu (hope spelled correct..hehee) and Jae. There are very good, friendly and helpful. I'm as a backpacker really didn't expect the place is so good as 4 stars hotel as other place Backpackers hostel is really nightmare! I will definitely come back to Kangaroo Inn if I come again to Perth!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
9.1

Cheap 'n' cheerful, good crowd, free bus into town and the staff were accommodating in changing my booking and driving me around to get documents signed. A bit grubby and rough around the edges, but what do you expect for this price?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • blumemin
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
6.6

When i got, i was so surprised about this hostel's facilities. It was so different from picture that I expected. But it was quite amazing time during my staying. Everyone was so nice and i felt like home. Actually it was not a clean place at all. But the people make this place much better. After i left this hostel, even i wanted get back. I was happy to meet them all. And i still miss them all. I wish their luck.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
6.0

Cheap hostel. Not too secure as people can just walk into kitchen area. Quite a walk from cbd. Little atmosphere. Mostly clean but bathrooms needed some updating!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
8.9

cheapest hostel i could find and they had free breakfast so was worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
5.7

The hostel is dingy, rundown, and in serious need of redecoration. The bunkbeds are so creaky I woke up when anyone in the room turned over. The mattresses are so thin you could feel the slats underneath. The bathrooms are pretty grim, with nothing useful like hooks to hang your towel. The kitchen was the worst. It was absolutely disgusting. I genuinely thought I might catch something from the layers of grime in the microwave. Yes this place is really cheap, but there's a reason for that!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
4.9

Girls bathroom doesn't have locks and they are in terrible condition. I guess you get what you pay for but don't stay there on a weekend because they increase the price and it isn't worth that! Also, private rooms aren't private! Might as well be in a dorm room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
3.4

One of the worst hostels I've stayed in. Rude staff, very unclean, no locks on toilet door. Paid for the "privilege" of a private room, but wasn't really private with just a thin sheet separating us and the next room. Wouldn't recommend unless you want a really cheap hostel, with no atmosphere. Only saving grace is the location which is good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
10.0

Meet some awesome people for my road trip around Australia. Hostel was the cheapest in Perth, they had free breakfast and wifi so not bad

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.