X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombat Backpackers Reviews

195, Hay Street, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
151 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

What a beautiful atmosphere!! 10/10!


89%

Very nice and helpfully staff Great atmosphere Good facilities Very central area Big and clean kitchen Nice rooms

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Clean, clean, clean that hostel...


91%

now i'm already since 3 weeks in this hostel. at the beginning there were a lot of problems (cold showers, dirty) but the new staff changed a lot and they try to do the best. They fixed the showers and all the other problems. Now i feel like home, i'm working on construction site as well and the wombat is not a party hostel. It's always pretty quiet! The best thing: they have a tv room where i can watch all the football (cl and epl) matches and the kitchen is so tidy, i really surprised!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

This place is disgusting. The dorms are dark and dingy, the toilets are filthy and broken, the kitchen was so poorly equipped that we couldn't cook and wansn't ever cleaned. Don't be fooled by the cheap price for the area, it is worth spending a bit more to not stay in this dump. I stayed here 2 nights and couldn't wait to leave. It felt infested and crawling with germs, bed begs and even the carpet had fleas that bit. I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy. Ever.


49%

Not well looked after, really shoddy facilities and overall underwhelming vibe. One shower with fully working taps and faucet out of 6 is not good enough, and the kitchen was disgusting.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Showers were freezing, and the aircon unit in the dorm rattled so bad it was impossible to sleep :(. Beds were okay Id recommend only if you need one or two nights stay definitely no longer!!!!!!


46%

Dirty, delapitated, damp and dingy. Don't stay here.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The only good things were the location and the helpful staff. The showers were dirty & one was leaking. The bathrooms were also in a state of disrepair and had wet floors! Security is a big concern as my dorm had no lockers and a broken door lock! Wombat Backpackers is dank and dingy.


46%

Filthy place! It was full of long term stayers that are working, and very little backpackers in this place! I felt sorry for this staff as they always seemed to be cleaning or working on the hostel, but nothing they did ever seemed to make an impact! There is a lack of management in the place, and everything about the place needed to be cleaned, replaced or improved. The showers where cold, bed was uncomfortable and the kitchen was gross! I am surprised people aren't ill from this place! avoid!

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Really cheap backpacker so if u want to save ur money, book now! value for money. But wifi is little bit bad and noisy at night.


57%

Had a flight that left at 8.30am, went to reception to check out at 6 and there was no one there but a number to call in case of emergencies, and out of hours checkouts. I rang solidly for about an hour before giving up and leaving my bed sheets and key out side the front, as I was beginning to be in danger of missing my flight. They still owe me my $20 key deposit, and haven't replied to my emails regarding it.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The whole place needs a good clean, especially the bathrooms. There are no recycling facilities and the doors are left open and unlocked most of the time. Anna was great and doing the best she could with what she was given. Good for a few days cheap stay but you wouldn't want to be here too long.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Need to step up the game on staff, have someone who actually wants to manage the place instead of just a bunch of people that are there cause of free accommodation. Get on that AC system, I know it costs a bit, but one fix to the main one on the roof would solve the whole ordeal. What happened to the events ya'll used to do? Mustang Wednesdays? Rottness? Universal Fridays? Put those deals on the board again, get the connectivity in the hostel flowing. Also update your jobs board.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly staff. They had a free bbq which was good to meet the other guests would recommend to other travelers on a budget.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Free wifi, friendly people, helpful staff.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Cleanliness was pretty good. There is a female bathroom with powerpoints for a hair dryer but bring your own. There is a common room in the basement down stairs which needs more lighting but the temperature is nice for reading and there was Foxtel on the tv. Having free wifi was a positive and the staff were friendly

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were helpful on arrival and told me some nice places to visit. The free WiFi and air con was pleasant as it was hot at night. Could use some new floor matts for the showers as it was very wet.

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I enjoyed my stay at this backpacker. The staff were friendly on check in and kept me well informed, the location is not far from the city centre and it was the cheapest hostel when I book in Perth. The cleanliness was good but the shower screen I used could be cleaner. Free wifi - can be slow at times when everyone is using it

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We stayed here for one week it has a good vibe, good value for the price. Can be a little quiet at time. Our room was facing the sun and the curtain wasn't the best and got woken up early from the sun

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback