Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wombat Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 259 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.4
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 259 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.4
Wombat Backpackers Located at 195, Hay Street, Perth.
Wombat Backpackers
Australia
Perth Western Australia 6004 195, Hay Street
61% 259
-31.9589849 115.8729556
Wombat Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
2.0

My experience at Wombat hostel was not a pleasant one. They cancelled my booking and relocated me without responding to a single email, did not forward all of my information correctly to the new hostel & expected me to pay the same amount for less service. The hostel (Hive) they transferred me to was disgusting (worst hostel I've seen and I've stayed in third world countries). The employees at Hive were at least nice and understanding. Avoid the Wombats chain in general- never have good service.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
8.3

Cheap hostel located 15-20 minutes away from central Perth. Very basic, but you get exactly what you pay for, Free breakfast was a bonus. Lockers are provided for valuables. Helpful staff, not a great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
4.9

No air conditioner and bad hygiene.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
10.0

i really liked the staff at the backpacker, they helped me out when i needed it. the hostel was cheap and a little messy but there was free breakfast and wifi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
3.1

Door was unlocked when arrived at 1am from airport, and remained propped open all day the following day. Our bedding was left out by reception and only enough for one person (we paid for 2) and when we reported it the next day they said "oh someone must have taken it" with no refund or discount. We had to share a single bed and single duvet to stay warm. Bathroom was filthy and the whole space was vacant of any atmosphere. The most enjoyable part was leaving.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
3.7

I've hardly ever seen such a dirty hostel. Room was smelling bad, shower dirty, same for toilets, I did not enjoy staying there and do not recommend it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Aug 2016
5.7

After 24 hours of flying I had a shower that went ice cold mid hair wash, it did not get hot again. This was at midnight so couldn't be because of other users. The floor was dirty and covered in hair, the rooms had people's things everywhere. No lockers to put bag in inside room, just small old ones in common area. Breakfast was bread and cereal strewn all over kitchen. Far walk to town. Stayed one night, would not again. Pay the extra 5 and stay somewhere better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
6.0

Had everything you need - kitchen, bed, showers, but wasn't always the best. People came in off the street and stole things from guests. Over heard a guest say his room and bed were so messy and smelly they couldn't stay. My experience was fine though. Bathrooms get cleaned once a day so go early or they are covered in hair and dirt. No real atmosphere to meet people, but if you're in a group or down to do your own thing and want a cheap bed, go for it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
2.3

This is by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The bathrooms resemble a schools showers that haven't ever been cleaned, the toilets are vile to the point of public toilets were cleaner to use. The beds were children's bunk beds which if there was a person above is rather sleep on the floor than risk the bed falling through. Id go as far as to warn people away from here it's disgusting. And the poster stating there's been measles in the hostelas soon as you walk in is extremely worryi

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

Had a great stay here, happy mood to the place, clean and friendly staff to and the manager was awsome. All found brilliant time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.