X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombat Backpackers Reviews

195, Hay Street, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
95 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

23%

The hostel is very untidy, dirty and it smells very bad because there are no windows in most of the very small rooms. The picture which is shown on hostelworld looks very different in reality.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Only stayed for one night and was in a two share room with a friend. The location is really great, right downtown and near all the free buses in Perth. Everything else was mediocre -- not too clean, not too dirty and it's decent value for a hostel in Australia. Would stay there again if I was in Perth.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Enjoyed my stay at the hostel due to great staff and fantastic atmosphere. However, the facilities in the hostel were questionable and not reliable, and the owners were very very cheap and not very social or hospitable. Good place to meet other travellers but mustn't be fussy to stay long term.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Was ok, but felt a bit ramshackle and unloved. Dorm had no window (except into the corridor which was a big weird). Ok location though, close to the free bus into town.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

No major complaints. There is a very young party crowd in the hostel. Might be too loud and hectic for some people who want to relax. However, most people were nice. Showers are not good, because theres not much privacy. There are lockers, but you need to bring your own key and locker. All in all i would suggest it is for the younger and wilder crowd and not so much for quiet loving people. Wifi worked fine. Try to get a 4 bed dorm with long termers, because they sleep earlier ;)


83%

Everything is great except the fact that the dorm was a bit stuffy


83%

The cold water in showers, but this may be done on purpose to stop excessive use.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Got free wifi throughout hostel which was good as well as being very clean especially the kitchen which is really good.


80%

It seems that hostels in Australia are a bit run down, at least at this price average (in USA you get a lot better, for the same $). The bunk bed is not that much and shakes as anyone moves, so you don't get to sleep that well. Although big, the kitchen is the downsize. Don't even need to mention. The atmosphere was nice. Some people live there, but they're pretty much all travellers with part time jobs. Nice people. Staff friendly, location great.


91%

Good cheap accommodation. Good vibes as alcohol free

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We do appreciate your kind comment. Thank You

54%

This was the worst hostel we have been in WA.We booked a room with a double bed and got 2 single beds.The dorms were next to our rooms and the wall was not until the end of the room,that's why we heard every word the people talked in the dorms.So we paid for a room and basically had a dorm.The showers were awful,there is no place where you can put your towel and you can see the other people through the glass.The toilets were dirty and there was no soap. The location is 25 min to railway station

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your comment. We only offer a Twin room as how we have advertised on hostelworld. We do not offer a double room. You were in a Twin room with walls and i am not sure how you classified it as a dorm room. We do have hooks for the towels in the showers.

83%

Nice place for short stay. Perfect wifi-internet access. The only really annoying thing was room cleaning on time despite the fact that some people on the room are still sleeping that is why only average on staff.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank You for your kind comment



View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback