X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Wombat Backpackers Reviews

195, Hay Street, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
89 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 62%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Was ok, but felt a bit ramshackle and unloved. Dorm had no window (except into the corridor which was a big weird). Ok location though, close to the free bus into town.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

No major complaints. There is a very young party crowd in the hostel. Might be too loud and hectic for some people who want to relax. However, most people were nice. Showers are not good, because theres not much privacy. There are lockers, but you need to bring your own key and locker. All in all i would suggest it is for the younger and wilder crowd and not so much for quiet loving people. Wifi worked fine. Try to get a 4 bed dorm with long termers, because they sleep earlier ;)


83%

Everything is great except the fact that the dorm was a bit stuffy


83%

The cold water in showers, but this may be done on purpose to stop excessive use.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Got free wifi throughout hostel which was good as well as being very clean especially the kitchen which is really good.


80%

It seems that hostels in Australia are a bit run down, at least at this price average (in USA you get a lot better, for the same $). The bunk bed is not that much and shakes as anyone moves, so you don't get to sleep that well. Although big, the kitchen is the downsize. Don't even need to mention. The atmosphere was nice. Some people live there, but they're pretty much all travellers with part time jobs. Nice people. Staff friendly, location great.


91%

Good cheap accommodation. Good vibes as alcohol free

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We do appreciate your kind comment. Thank You

54%

This was the worst hostel we have been in WA.We booked a room with a double bed and got 2 single beds.The dorms were next to our rooms and the wall was not until the end of the room,that's why we heard every word the people talked in the dorms.So we paid for a room and basically had a dorm.The showers were awful,there is no place where you can put your towel and you can see the other people through the glass.The toilets were dirty and there was no soap. The location is 25 min to railway station

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your comment. We only offer a Twin room as how we have advertised on hostelworld. We do not offer a double room. You were in a Twin room with walls and i am not sure how you classified it as a dorm room. We do have hooks for the towels in the showers.

83%

Nice place for short stay. Perfect wifi-internet access. The only really annoying thing was room cleaning on time despite the fact that some people on the room are still sleeping that is why only average on staff.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank You for your kind comment

31%

It s not an hostel... just scamming... the worst mattress of the world in our dormitory, nothing to cook in the kitchen, no common space to meet with others travellers... the hostel have just 5 showers for males and 3 for females and it s not clean (as all the hostel...). In our dormitory, we had screws in the wall, hole in the door, no lockers in the room... the owner just want to make money with backpackers ! You want to enjoy Perth ??? Don t go there ! only good thing, free wifi

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment. we provide sufficient utensils to cook, if there is nothing in the kitchen, guest are advised to come and see the reception staffs. We have a backyard area, tv room and coomon area for travellers to meet as well. lockers are provided too. next time, please ask reception staffs for some infos before assuming any negative assumptions. thank you

46%

When i walked into the dorm, it was the worst smell i'd ever experienced. It was like someone had shat themselves. There was little or no ventilation so the smell remained for the whole of my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi David Thanks for your comment. we have fixed the problem now. our sincere apology from the management. Thank You

60%

Good point was the free wifi, low points are the common areas and the location. Good spot if you are staying for a couple days but not for long term


97%

Thank you!!


86%

While at first we were not too impressed by the hostel it did grow on us. It had a really chilled out atmosphere, the staff were very friendly and helpful and was easy to meet other travellers either in the TV room or on the terrace. Some of the facilities are a bit old (shower, kitchen etc) but it does offer free wifi although the signal is iffy. Pool table free but bad! Close to free bus into Perth. Frequently organising hostel nights out. Mattress not the best. Would and have stayed again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Darren Thank you for your kind comments. We will try to improve them soon

86%

This hostel seemed homely as it is not one of the main big commercial ones. I only stayed one night at Wombat between things. The staff are really nice and easy to deal with. It is closer to the city than most. The showers are not set up well at all, they lack storage space for clothing. My bed was very comfortable so I had a great rest, though the air conditioning in the room wasn't very good. For a cheaper stay I would stay here over the scummy places I've stayed at in Northbridge any day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Abel, Thank You so much for your kind comments

54%

nice hostel, very nice staff. but the facilities were a bit old so even if they clean it they look always dirty (or maybe they are?) in general we enjoyed our stay, even if it is a bit expensive compared to the service.


74%

Kitchen was a bit shoddy.....as in there was very limites utensils, pots and pans No curtain in the bedroom so we were up at 5am every morning with the sun. Front door was never locked and people in area looked dodgy. Maybe lock the door. There was a code for the door......use the lock and use the code Other than that, excellent staff, free wifi, nice location, free bus outside into city


74%

Too much noise from the patio at night with people talking and listening to music.


83%

I stayed in the hostel for four months. Staff: nice, friendly and helpful Location: easy to get to downtown or the airport and park.. Supermarkets are in town, so you have to walk or take the free bus. general appearance: big downside of the hostel. Showers are weak, hard to control the temperature. A/C working only sometimes. In general some areas look neglected and dilapidated. Young owners seem not to care much about the hostel and are unexperienced in terms of running a business! Sad!

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

There are shops close by including a liquer shop and the free bus into central perth was a short walf down the road. The atmosphere was great though the no drinking policy was bit of a let down. Staff were friendly and were easy to approach. The only real downside i found was my bed which was just a sheet of foam rather than a proper spring matress.

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback