X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Berlin Reviews

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
11892 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

wifi tv towels

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your review. But I can't follow your comments. What do you mean with "wifi tv towels". We provide towels in every doubleroom. Wifi is working in the entire building. And as you can see in the description, there are no tv's in the doublerooms. So it was clear, that there is no TV in your room, at the point of your booking. For that reason, we find it a little bit unfair to get a negative rating. I advise you to book a Apartment next time with a big flatscreen and two seperate rooms.

97%

Amazing hostel, clean and at a perfect location! The bar is great, it's nice as a solo traveller as well.


97%

Location is perfect, it's safe & close to the underground as well as Alexanderplatz (walking distance - 10 min). The staff is really helpful. The bar tender could be a bit more communicative but hey, everyone has bad days. If you need anything (hairdryer...) they will be pleased to help you at the front desk. Our bath room as well as double room (we got an upgrade, booked 2 beds in a 4 bed dorm, got a double) were really clean. The breakfast is good and cheap.


100%

Staff went out of their way to help me print boarding passes. Very friendly and open environment.

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Its a big hostel, but a good one. Beds are comfortable, you've wifi signal without problems, but the wifi is kinda slow, but good enough to book next train or whatever you need. The kitchen is good, has everything you might need. I would prefer bathroom outside the bedroom, but that's a personal opinion.


97%

Definitely recommended. Great location, just a couple of subway stops from the railway station and Potsdamer Platz (where you can find the huge Berlin Mall with just about everything you need for your stay), service is excellent, my room was clean and equipped with bathroom. The only thing that needs to be improved is the rather laggish wi-fi connection, but it's not a big deal really.


83%

friendly staff, cool atmosphere, great value for money. Breakfast starts a little late for those who have to continue their travel.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel! The rooms are great, the bar has a good atmosphere and the staff is nice. Located close to subway, tram and bus stop but also possible to walk to the main attractions.


91%

I cant complain about anything that Wombats couldve influenced but there was this weird girl in my room who didnt know how to use the ladder and always jumped off the bed. Uncool at 7 in the morning.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a nice, cosy, clean (sheet set was super clean, smelling laundry soap) hostel with a nice bar on the top of it. The location is fab! 10 points for the locking system!


100%

We had a excelent experience at Wombat's. I really recommend the bar!


86%

Food machines are not working!!! Cleaning in corridors are not enough

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest feedback. The food machines are operated by an external company. We already quit the contract with our actual provider. So from march on we will have new vending machines, which will work perfectly.

94%

My friend that I was traveling with got food poisoning and the hostel let us have a late checkout for free which was very kind of them. The staff were the best part?

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

What a fantastic hostel. Felt welcome from the start. Great staff, comfy beds and a friendly atmosphere. Would recommend to everyone wanting a brilliant base to explore Berlin.

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was great! Maybe you could try and find a wayof selecting where will each guest go? I mean, i staied in a mixed room and the last days we were 5 guys and only one Girl. So if there could be a way of keeping a somehow similar amount of girls and boys per room that would be deffinitly more fun and maybe less awkward for the Girl.


89%

Clean hostel with a good bar and great atmosphere


100%

Fue una Bonita experiencia Muchas gracias por todo! El personal perfecto! ************************************ It was a really nice experience! Thanks a lot of everything! The staff it's perfect!

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall the hostel had a great atmosphere especially in the bar on level 7. The rooms and linen were clean. The laundry facilities were cheap. It was easy to meet people as a solo traveller. I think that scrambled eggs should be included in the breakfast cost. The female receptionist with the brown, short hair, was very rude and unwelcoming and it was a chore for her to check me in. Other than that, it was great.

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Big hostel, and good if you want to party in Berlin.


91%

This hostel was great. Rooms were a pretty good size. Location was fairly central (could walk everywhere you needed/wanted to).


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(319 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback