X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Wombats City Hostel Berlin Reviews

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
9092 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

I had a good experiency in the Hostel except be tumult that some guys performed two following days early morning. It ought to be more warned by the hostel.


100%

Always a pleasure to go back there. It's so convinient located and very clean.


77%

They could have single rooms at the hostel

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

As the Wombats I've stayed in Budapest, I can say that the wombats Berlin is a great hostel, very clean, with a great pub (go there and see the view of the city from the terrace!) and a lot of facilities. The breakfast is not so expensive and is really good. The room is big and you have a socket and lamp in each bed.


97%

The hostel is a great place to stay, very close to alexanderplatz, great atmosphere, amazing roof top bar, very clean (they clean your room everyday), delicious breakfast for only 4 euros...i would stay at Wombats any time again!!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Can not recommended this hostel enough. More hotel than hostel with the awesome atmosphere of a hostel. Will definitely be going back!


97%

Great place! Perfect localization and atmosphere! But the wifi was REALLY terrible. I mean, it was impossible to use the internet in the room and even in the main hall it was very difficult.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good hostel. We were absolutely satisfied. I would definitely come back and I do recommend it :)


91%

Very Too noisy !! it's the very black point

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Hostel is very clean and comfortable. Overall atmosphere in the reception area and bar area is quite good. However, it is located quite far from the main tourist attractions in Berlin and one needs to take underground to reach the hostel. But it is really value for money. So if someone is not very particular about location, then it is recommended.


100%

Very good hostel, great overall atmosphere. Location pretty close from subway, supermarket, places to go out... Cheap booze at the hostel bar as well during happy hour :)

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

it was a great choice, the staff was friendly and professional , they answered all the questions and gave us good tips about many things.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Wombats was clean and close to everything you would want to see. Lots of food and drink options near by with excellent suggestions from the staff. My only complaint is that my bed was mistaken as being vacant midway through my stay and the cleaning staff removed some personal items of mine. It was nothing of significant value (clothes, a book and some travel notes) but the staff was useless in resolving the issue. Lesson learned. Lock your things up at all times, no matter what you have.


83%

I had intermittent wifi connectivity in the room.


97%

Everyone was so lovely here - staff and travelers - really easy to meet people with a roof top bar! Security was great, very clean. Will definitely be coming back!

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Wombats was clean, friendly, quiet enough or at least the rooms themselves kept the noise down and the bar on the roof had a good atmosphere and nice specials. Wasn't hard to meet other travelers


71%

The common room is poor and isn't conducive for meeting people at all. The place is very clean but smells like chemicals all the time.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Staffs are really kind, and kichen is convenient to use. You can get free bar ticket when you check in, but bar close 10pm. So careful :) Location is close to Alexanderplaz and Museum island, but far from berlin philharmonic and potsdamerplaz.


63%

It can not happen, as in our case, that someone who doesn't live in the room, can enter with his cart.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I've stayed in all of the wombats around Europe and this is a very good one! Very good bedrooms and facilities, location is ok if you don't mind walking a bit and the sky bar is great! The only problem was the internet that just worked if you were lucky...


(301 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback