X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Berlin Reviews

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
11906 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Amazing hostel..superb price good facilities...definitely reccomend anyone wanting to stay for cheap in a central location

  • 29th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was the best part about the hostel. They were friendly, welcoming, helpful, and fun. Joked around and really seem to love their job. Rooftop terrace is amazing at sunset too!


91%

Wombats is definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Comfortable bedrooms, clean showers, nice facilities, infra-structure and security. Also, if you are not into partying, it is fine as the bar is upstairs and isolated from the rooms. So you barely hear any noise.


74%

I had a room for myself but had to pay for two persons. At the end it has been to expensive. For 78 euro I could have a better Hotel in Berlin.

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very recomended! East Berlin rules :-)


86%

Great atmosphere! Very welcoming staff. The 4 person room and bathroom were big and has the much need personal locker to stash things. Also had a nifty free drink voucher to welcome you and is valid at the rooftop bar with great views of the city. Very convenient to the Ubahn station and walkable to sites.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff were really cool and gave great recommendations! The bar has a good vibe as well. In spite of being a big hostel, it still has a great vibe to meet people.


86%

Great place to stay. Centrally located hostel with great atmosphere. Loved the view from the rooftop chill out area. Really liked the lockers in the room which locked using the card used to get into the room. Friendly staff. Each bed has its own mains charging area next to the bed which is useful.


80%

Despite there is a 22h closing time of the inner courtyard people stayed outside chatting and laughing until 0:30h. Nobody cared, me neither if the room windows wouldn't have shown in exactly that courtyard. Selfservice kitchen was dirty and really disgusting, but I blame for that more the guests. A lot of schoolclasses over there, ergo a lot of noise (nightly singing, door slamming, screaming).

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The tram and subway are very nearby. The staff are also nice and helpful.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed in a 6 bed with an ensuite bathroom which was great! The room was clean and there was a plug, light and little stand by each bed. Location was awesome with cafes and shops a couple steps away and only a few minutes walk to the metro station. The free drink coupon for their bar was nice too!


89%

Great location, within walking distance to pretty much everything! Awesome rooftop bar and the all you can eat breakfast for 3,80 euro is definitely worth it. This was the second Wombats hostel my boyfriend and I stayed in (the first being in Munich) and we'd recommend both to anyone!

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

great location. lovely people. would stay again


89%

Good and well-organized hostel. The view frow the roof bar is great!

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff here were absolutely fantastic, so friendly and always happy to help. My only gripe is that there were only 2 washing machines which for the size of the hostel was ridiculous.


83%

very good location - walking distance to Alexanderplatz, Berliner Dom, Island Museums. would stay here again when i visit Berlin.


94%

I am happy to have stay in Wombats because the staffs are very helpful and welcoming. And the room is rather spacious enough even though is hostel. And the room is clean. And the location is right next to the train station makes the trip even easier. And also good tips from the staffs what to do when all the shops are closed on Sunday.

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is, hands down, the best hostel i've ever been to. 5 stars!!

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean and great social atmosphere. Rooftop patio was a nice touch. Friendly staff and building felt very secure. Rooms were reasonable sizes and bathrooms were clean. Would for sure stay at wombats again!


100%

Great place to meet people if travelling solo. Bar is great for a cheap beer. Good clean rooms


(320 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback