X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Berlin Reviews

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
10300 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This hostel is really amazing! I totally recommend it!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

nice stay!

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Terrific stay at Wombats Berlin! Planning on being at Wombats Munich after Christmas, really looking forward to it. Breakfast a terrific bonus.....great value and delicious coffee! One suggestion for room 407 though......sofa upholstery needs a steam cleaning as it is stained and dirty looking. Thanks to all the friendly and helpful staff.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I can't think anything negative about my stay in the hostel. clean, friendly stuff and nice facilities. Also the location was perfect. Right in the center! I highly recommend it!

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We thought that the receptionist who checked us in could have been a little more helpful. We had no idea where we were going and he wasn't too keen on showing us places we needed to go. The atmosphere was wuite dull, we found it hard to meet other travellers so went to St. Christopher where we had a couple of really good nights. I think this is due to the size of the hostel, not sure. The place was, however, extremely clean and the facilities on offer were better than good.


51%

The staff is not friendly at all and the location is just ok because you stay right near of a metro station. But to go everywhere you have to do changes. The bed is good, you have good lockers and plugs. The breakfast is worth considering the prices of the city. Bathroom not very clean.


100%

This hostel ruined all of the other hostels in Europe for us. Great staff as well as other travelers. The highlight of Europe for us! Awesome experience.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome hostel. Staff keep everything very clean, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was fantastic. Their cozy chairs and lounge area made this place feel warm and inviting. The bar was great too - cheap drinks and a friendly atmosphere. Great security for yourself and your belongings. I would definitely stay here again!


100%

The hostel is amazing. Amazing staff - super friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The ambience was cozy and very hostel like. Loved every bit of it. The bar was amazing too. And we can never ignore the skyline of Berlin which was visible from the roof top. The stay was very comfortable.


86%

Really good location, really convenient for everything - no problems finding it at all. Everything was clean and up to a good standard. FANTASTIC breakfast - way more choice and variety than what I was expecting. Good value too.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Pretty awesome apartment. Very clean, balcony, free coffee and tea, nice furniture and decoration. A great place to stay.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Love this hostel so much! Will definitely stay here again!


94%

Great location, walking distance to Alexanderplatz, where you have all the main U/S-bahn/ tram/bus connections. Very clean, gets cleaned every day, comfy beds. You get a key card to enter your floor, your room and your locket so it's pretty safe.They have a nice bar at the top floor with reasonable prices, also a terrace with a nice view of the city. Wifi was reachable everywhere in the hostel, in the room as well. Good value for money, would stay there again.


80%

Excellent stay, wifi could have been better.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel! NO WIFI signal in the room though ...


94%

Great facilities, some staff were nice, others not so much. Location is good, just next to the subway, very safe with cards in all doors. Very clean rooms and bathroons, sockets and lights in every bed, which is great. Breakfast is payed for but worth it! All in all a good hostel, would recommend it.


100%

It was really cool hostel, room, kitchen, restorant, bar, staf, all was good.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It was a very nice experience! I really had a very good in Berlin at wombats city hostel. The breakfast is good and cheap, the room is very clean as the bathroom, the locker is safe and they have towels and hair dryer for free. And the subway station is really close. I would come back for sure!


91%

Friendly and helpful staff, straightforward room with a nice view of the Alex. We even had a plant in the room. Facilities were great. The free drink at the top floor bar is a pleasant bonus. Pretty good atmosphere despite it being a big hostel. Very close to U-bahn station and to Alexanderplatz. Prices of the rooms are decent for Berlin standards.


89%

Super clean, high security, good location (just one stop north of Alexanderplaatz, which is a station that can get you basically anywhere; and you can do a 10 min walk to Alexanderplaatz if you want, but the station is barely a block away from the hostel). My biggest complaint is the WiFi. At this stage in the game, I feel like all hostels should have free wifi for their customers AND it should be available in the rooms. But I knew that going in!


(330 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback