X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Berlin Reviews

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
9221 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel we have ever stayed in, thank you!!!

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Cool place, nice bar, helpful staff. 1 thing I didn't like. A person in my dorm walked in with a friend. They weren't doing anything bad. The person was not staying in the hostel. People should not be allowed to bring guest in to the dorms.


77%

This was the 4th wombats I have stayed in. I like the security and they're usually in a good location. But the staff are never anything special and not particularly helpful in any of the locations. Also, I forget how spotty the wifi is (again in every location) and you have to fight for it to work even in just the main lobby.


80%

Breakfast was not great, they say all you can eat breakfast when you have to pay to get a croissant. It could be better


94%

Everything simply great! But too much noises from the bar (I was on the 5th floor).

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good location & atmosphere, good food, the staff was friendly and helpful. Also the room was warm and clean with a very beautiful view from the balcony.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good location, near the station and great view from the bar. Dryer is for rent and wi-fi connection is not strong. Except those, one of the best hostel ever!

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel! The best I've stayed at (and I've stayed at a lot of various hostels in Europe and the US) Great location, nice staff, spacious rooms, clean, has guest kitchen and female dorms.


89%

This is a great hostel and you get real quality for your money. tou have lockers in the room, skybar (which is nice), and good staff. Also, the kebabs that are around the corner are great. Recomended!


89%

Wombats was fantastic with great staff and facilities. I was a solo traveller who met lots of people in the bar. Ok location next to a metro stop. Not a youth hostel tho.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay. Excellent localization, really good place!

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great welcome by staff at check-in: we arrived with bikes and staff were very happy to accommodate. Free welcome beer at the rooftop also a nice bonus. Apartment we rented was huge, clean, great views, and very comfortable. Wi-fi worked seamlessly. Breakfast was a bit lame but OK. Will highly recommend this place to fellow travelers.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Originally i was to stay in another hostel closer to city centre, but I gave up and booked Wombat Berlin because it has an assured quality which I can expect (since I stayed in Wombat in Munich and Vienna). They are not the cheapest or the ones nearest to city centres, but they are definitely safe, clean and quiet - totally worth the money. And I really do prefer toilet / shower inside the room instead of down the hallway! Beds are of good quality and don't "squeak". Totally enjoyed the stay!


94%

Great hostel, very big and clean, nice staff...

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff was super nice and helful!! Everything was very clean and love the atmosphere with the other clients. Love it and definetly will come back if needed

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

If you a group that book separetely remember to contact the staff if you want to sleep in the same room

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Had an amazing time at the wombats! Clean and modern facilities, nice staff only the wife signal is not the best in the rooms, other than that really recommend! :)


89%

Fantastic hostel. I reccomend it for everybody.


97%

It's the best hostel I've ever been. The rooms are big, and you have a lot of space. You also have lockers in the room and a big and beautiful bathroom. I loved the fact that the hostel has a bar AND a kitchen, that's very important (and the 2 happy hours of the bar). Nothing more to say… Wombats is the perfect hostel.


80%

Contrary to popular belief, you will not find cute cuddly Australian animals here. Instead you will find a pretty decent hostel. Analogous to a Big Mac with fries, this hostel does what it should do right, but leaves you craving for something a little more unique. If you're into a more homely feel hostel then this place is not for you, I'd rather you order the McChicken or the cheese burger for a more authentic experience.


(341 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback