X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Berlin Reviews

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
10475 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel is walking distance from the main attractions. Also the atmosphere in the bar is great, I meet 5 people and just became lifetime friends in 4 days. Is really cheap also and has everything a backpacker needs.


80%

towels should be provided. bedsheets and stuffs should be done ready instead of guests doing.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice hostel at a great location (5 min away from Alexanderplatz, U-bahn right around the corner). You can walk to all the "major" sights in Berlin. Breakfast is nice - good food and quite a big selection. Wi-fi works also in the rooms :) Would definitely stay again.


97%

Very good hostel! location is very good and sky bar is amazing :)


91%

Nice and clean. It is actually as a hotel (with the difference that you share the room and bathroom with some other). It has a bar upstairs that is ok. The location is close to metro station (30 m?) and the guys un the Reception can give you a lot of info.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Fantastic!!

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

My first time going in solo abroad, and wombat hostel just tops it off. I got to meet people with same goals and got around the city with them

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good for a weekend trip with some friends staying in a six bed room

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Only had one issue, with a rude room mate but the staff solved the problem within the day. Bar upstairs was a definite plus, a good place to start the night, unfortunate the terrace isn't open later.


97%

this place rocks except wifi doesnt work in rooms and you must re-log in every few minutes


100%

It's an awesome hostel! You can get a nice clean room with a very clean bathroom in a good price. The bedding and the luggage room are free of charge. When you check in, you get a ticket for a welcome drink, which is very nice. The bar is a great place to meet some new people. The prices are ok, especially during happy hours. The location is great, very close to the underground. The staff is helpful. The atmosphere in the hostel is great. It was probably one of my best stays in the hostel ever.


97%

This was my second stay at a Wombat Hostel (the first time was in Munich) and the quality was exactly as expected. Loved the roof-top bar!

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great atmosphere and vibe to the place, friendly and helpful staff - bar at the top was especially great for meeting and socializing with other travellers!


89%

Good location near a train station but also walking distance to Alexanderplatz. Rooms were fine with a really nice bathroom. Very clean woth power sockets, lamps and lockers for each bed. Bar on the top level had a good atmosphere. Good wifi most of the time.


83%

Excellently run hostel with comfortable beds, spacious lockers, and clean facilities. However, two major Achilles' heels: (1) Bathrooms are absolutely freezing during the winter. Showers have plenty of hot water, but the bathroom will never warm up due to the huge drafts. (2) Wifi does not reach the rooms properly and is only reliable when in the lobby. As nice as everything else is, those two are deal breakers for me and I'd rather pay extra to obtain those amenities.


97%

I had the best time staying at Wombats! I made lasting friends that I will never forget. I will only ever be staying here when I'm in Berlin.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really good location. Easy to get to from the airport. Rooms were cleaned everyday. The bar also does cheap happy hour drinks!

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good hostel, clean rooms and friendly staff. Bar is good and breakfast too. Thanks Wombat's! Good luck!

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Overall, I have a pleasant stay in this hostel. The hostel is strategicly located next to metro station and within short walking distance. The hostel also provide luggage storage facility due to early arrival as well as Kitchen. The dorm room has reasonable space for all occupants with a digital locker. Staffs are friendly and courteous, thanks to Ruth and Milenko as they have going beyond extra miles to assist me when i encountered a problem there.


100%

Awesome place. Just open the bar a bit sooner! For those crazy (me) day drinkers


(327 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback