X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Berlin Reviews

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
9342 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Excellent hostel! The best I've stayed at (and I've stayed at a lot of various hostels in Europe and the US) Great location, nice staff, spacious rooms, clean, has guest kitchen and female dorms.


89%

This is a great hostel and you get real quality for your money. tou have lockers in the room, skybar (which is nice), and good staff. Also, the kebabs that are around the corner are great. Recomended!


89%

Wombats was fantastic with great staff and facilities. I was a solo traveller who met lots of people in the bar. Ok location next to a metro stop. Not a youth hostel tho.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay. Excellent localization, really good place!

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great welcome by staff at check-in: we arrived with bikes and staff were very happy to accommodate. Free welcome beer at the rooftop also a nice bonus. Apartment we rented was huge, clean, great views, and very comfortable. Wi-fi worked seamlessly. Breakfast was a bit lame but OK. Will highly recommend this place to fellow travelers.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Originally i was to stay in another hostel closer to city centre, but I gave up and booked Wombat Berlin because it has an assured quality which I can expect (since I stayed in Wombat in Munich and Vienna). They are not the cheapest or the ones nearest to city centres, but they are definitely safe, clean and quiet - totally worth the money. And I really do prefer toilet / shower inside the room instead of down the hallway! Beds are of good quality and don't "squeak". Totally enjoyed the stay!


94%

Great hostel, very big and clean, nice staff...

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff was super nice and helful!! Everything was very clean and love the atmosphere with the other clients. Love it and definetly will come back if needed

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

If you a group that book separetely remember to contact the staff if you want to sleep in the same room

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Had an amazing time at the wombats! Clean and modern facilities, nice staff only the wife signal is not the best in the rooms, other than that really recommend! :)


89%

Fantastic hostel. I reccomend it for everybody.


97%

It's the best hostel I've ever been. The rooms are big, and you have a lot of space. You also have lockers in the room and a big and beautiful bathroom. I loved the fact that the hostel has a bar AND a kitchen, that's very important (and the 2 happy hours of the bar). Nothing more to say… Wombats is the perfect hostel.


80%

Contrary to popular belief, you will not find cute cuddly Australian animals here. Instead you will find a pretty decent hostel. Analogous to a Big Mac with fries, this hostel does what it should do right, but leaves you craving for something a little more unique. If you're into a more homely feel hostel then this place is not for you, I'd rather you order the McChicken or the cheese burger for a more authentic experience.


97%

This was one of the best hostels we stayed at on our 30 day euro trip. The rooftop bar allows you to meet people from around the world and gather groups to go to the club. This is definitely a lovely hostel. As well, the bartenders up there are awesome! The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. Really no complaints at all.


83%

Sometimes you should control the beds and pillows. That is our only critical point. We enjoyed our stay in Berlin. Compliments and best wishes to your staff.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Sometimes to loud. The doors !!

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Recommended hostel in Berlin, cozy, comfortable and clean The staff was super nice, precise and complete in their explanations. The area nearby the hostel it's generally safe. Cons: the wi-fi signal in the rooms wasn't that good and consistant - sometimes it's not so quite during the night (especially until 1am 1,30am) and due to the thin walls you can clearly hear people's laughs and talking in the corridor. conclusion: truly recommended, i would definitely go back to WOMBATS

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a private and so it was as if we were staying in our own hotel. It was really clean and the staff were very friendly. All the Wombats in Germany are nice to stay at.


83%

This is a perfectly nice hostel. Clean, safe, friendly staff. The atmosphere wasn't really my thing; it's a pretty commercial hostel that attracts a lot of oblivious, partying backpackers. If you're looking for something with more funk and personality, try another one. But no serious complaints in terms of value for money.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I had a good experiency in the Hostel except be tumult that some guys performed two following days early morning. It ought to be more warned by the hostel.


(370 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback