X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Berlin Reviews

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
10480 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel ruined all of the other hostels in Europe for us. Great staff as well as other travelers. The highlight of Europe for us! Awesome experience.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome hostel. Staff keep everything very clean, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was fantastic. Their cozy chairs and lounge area made this place feel warm and inviting. The bar was great too - cheap drinks and a friendly atmosphere. Great security for yourself and your belongings. I would definitely stay here again!


100%

The hostel is amazing. Amazing staff - super friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The ambience was cozy and very hostel like. Loved every bit of it. The bar was amazing too. And we can never ignore the skyline of Berlin which was visible from the roof top. The stay was very comfortable.


86%

Really good location, really convenient for everything - no problems finding it at all. Everything was clean and up to a good standard. FANTASTIC breakfast - way more choice and variety than what I was expecting. Good value too.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Pretty awesome apartment. Very clean, balcony, free coffee and tea, nice furniture and decoration. A great place to stay.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Love this hostel so much! Will definitely stay here again!


94%

Great location, walking distance to Alexanderplatz, where you have all the main U/S-bahn/ tram/bus connections. Very clean, gets cleaned every day, comfy beds. You get a key card to enter your floor, your room and your locket so it's pretty safe.They have a nice bar at the top floor with reasonable prices, also a terrace with a nice view of the city. Wifi was reachable everywhere in the hostel, in the room as well. Good value for money, would stay there again.


80%

Excellent stay, wifi could have been better.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel! NO WIFI signal in the room though ...


94%

Great facilities, some staff were nice, others not so much. Location is good, just next to the subway, very safe with cards in all doors. Very clean rooms and bathroons, sockets and lights in every bed, which is great. Breakfast is payed for but worth it! All in all a good hostel, would recommend it.


100%

It was really cool hostel, room, kitchen, restorant, bar, staf, all was good.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It was a very nice experience! I really had a very good in Berlin at wombats city hostel. The breakfast is good and cheap, the room is very clean as the bathroom, the locker is safe and they have towels and hair dryer for free. And the subway station is really close. I would come back for sure!


91%

Friendly and helpful staff, straightforward room with a nice view of the Alex. We even had a plant in the room. Facilities were great. The free drink at the top floor bar is a pleasant bonus. Pretty good atmosphere despite it being a big hostel. Very close to U-bahn station and to Alexanderplatz. Prices of the rooms are decent for Berlin standards.


89%

Super clean, high security, good location (just one stop north of Alexanderplaatz, which is a station that can get you basically anywhere; and you can do a 10 min walk to Alexanderplaatz if you want, but the station is barely a block away from the hostel). My biggest complaint is the WiFi. At this stage in the game, I feel like all hostels should have free wifi for their customers AND it should be available in the rooms. But I knew that going in!


97%

Great location! Loved meeting the people here. Lots of great restaurants in the area. Walking distance to Alexander Platz. WIFI was poor on the 4th floor for me. Simple relocation to the 7th floor terrace or the common area was ok for me. Would have liked it better in my room though. Would love to come again!


86%

Price vs location is just excellent, staff was also very friendly. WomBar disappointed us a little bit, but it's just a small issue - you're not going to Berlin to spend evening in the hostel pub :)

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant stay. Staff were very accommodating, hostel perfectly clean. Going to London in January and staying in Wombats there after our experience of Wombats Berlin.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

There were 2 gentleman and 1 lady in total manning the reception. Both the guys were humble, but the lady was outright rude. First of all, i would like to say is that checkout time is 10 am next day which is not mentioned anywhere on website. When we requested if the check out could be 11 am next day she reluctantly agreed but told us in very firm manner it should be 11 am, a minute later and she would charge us. Anyway, we were up and ready by 10:45 am except for one person who was still using


100%

Wombats absolutely fantastic on all fronts !!! I'll be back and will recommend to all

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Wish the rooftop bar was open later than 10pm! Other than that excellent for the price :)

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(329 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback