X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
5082 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

A brilliant hostel, very clean, really convenient and good facilities. Staff were great and very helpful. A really good base for exploring such a beautiful city!

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The locker facilities were perfect. The shower was easy to use, clean and with good pressure. I was also really pleased with the free wi-fi and the fact that towels were provided free of charge too. The staff were helpful and the hostel bar added a great atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again. Great location!

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a nice stay. The hostel is huge, clean, in a good location and the staff were friendly and helpful. Only comment is monitor the halls for loud drunk groups carrying on late at night for ages making it difficult to sleep.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel and facilities were as expected and to a high standard although there wasn't much of an atmosphere. The hostel is in a fairly good central location with access to public transport and some sights close by. What did disappoint us was how we were sometimes dealt with by staff. I asked a few questions and each time felt as though I was becoming more of an inconvenience. One member of staff at reception made a particular distasteful comment about the night staff. Check-in time annoying.


89%

The atmosphere was amazing. I totaly recommend.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Laud, it was very loud, but of course you are not in budapest for sleeping.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

If you are not party people it's noisy at night.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Locker in shared dorm wouldn't lock. Fixed several times and broke again each time shortly after being fixed. Staff gave me two free breakfast vouchers to compensate and offered to store my expensive items behind their desk though. Very clean and good facilities.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very noisy until 3:30AM. Maybe this is somewhat of a party hostel?


66%

The hostel was nice. Big room, nice and friendly staff and also good location. Unfortunately, the wi fi connection was not good. It often disconnected, usually in the afternoon till mid nite. It seemed that it was over capacity.


100%

The must in terms of hostel! I especially liked to have lockers in the room, and night stand on each bunk bed to charge the phone. Excellent

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect place to stay. very close to maina attractions with helpful staff. a bit noisy guests to be controlled.


91%

loved to be stay there. close to almost everything.


80%

i've signed up their enquete.


89%

everything is very nice.but eat could be..

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved staying at this hostel! THe location was great! the facilities were amazing and we loved the breakfast! Clean, good location, friendly staff!! what more could you ask for?!!! I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The shitiest internet ever

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel.


94%

Excellent stay. Previously stayed at Wombat hostel in Vienna and this was equally excellent. Only thing that went wrong was getting stuck in the lift!

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Manage nice control. Echoy halls, loud people up and down the halls all night on both nights.


(2391 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback