X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
5716 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Ubicacion e instalaciones de diez. Hay mucha gente, es solo un dato.


77%

Lo único malo es que no funcionaban ni el aire acondicionado ni los ascensores. La verdad es que hizo muchísimo calor y ni siquiera solucionaron ofreciendo ventiladores. La ubicación es excelente, las habitaciones amplias, te dan ropa de cama, tenes lockers. La cocina es muy amplia y limpia. El internet no es bueno, se corta todo el tiempo conexión.


49%

We've spent in this hostel 4 days (3 nights) in the end of August. We chose Wombats as we've been before in Womnbats in Munich and Berlin. What a huge disappointment we found in Budapest! This hostel has not much in common with the chain. Elevator out of order, cold drinks machine out of order, room was warm as hell and the "AC" didn't work, one morning there was no water, one evening no electricity, some staff friendly, but most not rly - making problems of small favours you ask...


60%

We booked with Wombats as it is a chain and we had recommendations of their other hostels, but were very disappointed with this one. Upon arrival, we were told the AC and lifts were broken (not ideal), but on the first morning the cold water was switched off with no warning. In 36*C heat, having no running water was not ideal, and the showers turned scalding in seconds. The kitchen was ill-equipped with no mugs/glasses, cutlery or cooking utensils, and the kettle vanished. Would not recommend!


66%

We had problems with the reservation of the rooms, had the damaged window, the air conditioning did not work, the broken elevators, and were almost an entire morning without water in the rooms.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

I spent 4 nights in Wombats Budapest and had a really bad time. When I arrived I was told that that the elevator was out of service, but they didn't tell me that the air conditioner wasn't working as well. Even in the middle of the high season, the hostel manager left for vacation, so nothing could be fixed even when it was 40°C degrees outside. Thing were nonfunctional since at least a week before my staying.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It was very hot and we have suffered all night

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The advertised A/C was not working and the room was so hot it made it very difficult to sleep. Also it is very noisy but it wasnt as bad as the heat. The staff was not helpful; They put the least amount of effort in answering the questions i asked. The fact that it is a very large location with organized groups makes it hard to meet new people. On the bright side of things: the breakfast is good for the price, the rooms are really large and it was very clean!


77%

The hostel was cool looking and the staff were really nice. But as far as I could tell, there was no A/C anywhere. We reserved 2 different rooms, paid extra for A/C in both rooms, and it never worked in either room. I heard this similar complaint from other travelers about their "A/C" room. In addition, no fans or any thing else was provided. All in all, it was a very sweaty stay. Which I don't always mind if I'm prepared for it, and of course unless I specifically pay extra to avoid it.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thank you for your feedback and we are more than sorry for the unpleasant stay.In Hungary we still had the heat alert on during your stay,plus we had to suffer the comlications of a massive strom lately,that's why our elevators and AC didn't work.However you don't pay extra for the AC,it is installed in each and every room and it is a free,extra service,what we couldn't provide this time and we are reallly sorry for that. :( Hope to welcome you again sometimes with full service. Cheers

94%

Prefect as usual good breakfast buffet


77%

We stayed 4 nights in August on the 4th floor (top floor). Although it was quiet on that floor, the heat was unbearable. The temperature outside was about 33-38 Celsius but it was hotter in our room at any point of day/night than it was outside of the hostel as the air con didn't work. Also, the lift was not working. Stay overall was good and breakfast was fine for the price you pay. The pub crawl was great on Friday but horrible on Sunday - and late both nights! Just FYI for when you stay.

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

Absolutely horrendous, I have travelled the world and this is the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The main issue being its 35 degree so we booked this for the 'AC', which did not exist, was just shrugged off by rude and incompetent staff when we asked for a fan to compensate for the fact it was not working. Told us a lie that someone would be in to fix within the three days but nothing. The lift was broken for our entire stay as well so that's another issue, all in all this hostel was terr


89%

Such a shame that the air conditioning wasn't working as it made sleeping rather uncomfortable. Other than that, it was a great hostel. Right in the middle of all the action.

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

didn't enjoy my stay here. it is well located which is a plus but the staff are really unhelpful and one lady in particular was soo rude! the dorm I was in was a good size but the window was broken and the a/c didn't work - the room got so hot and it was hard to sleep. a single bathroom was in our dorm and was pretty dirty. there didn't appear to be any communal bathroom facilities on the floor either so if someone was in the bathroom you had to hope they wouldn't take long. wouldn't recommend!


83%

A very good place, ideal for socializing. The elevator was not working, WiFi was very poor.


94%

Buen hostl, esta muy bien ubicado cerca a bares, restaurantes y sitios históricos de interés, el personal es muy amable y ayuda en todo, el WiFi en los cuartos no es muy bueno. El desayuno aunque no esta incluido es muy económico y delicioso.


86%

Air conditioner and elevator was broke, but if those were worked that time it could be even awesome. Special thanks to good breakfast

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Super fun and super nice staff i think i fancy them all, not just the reception people everyone is just so lovely. Bar is good and fun and huge cool area to hang out. Amazing location near loads of ruin bars and clubs and can easily walk home alone at night and not feel scared at all. Only downside was the heat (the weather did just get super hot though so not entirely the hostels fault) because a lot of the air con was down. Also wifi not amazing connection all the time.


97%

Classical Wombats, they are always good choice :) Everything ok, very nice building and all. After a crazy pubcrawl I was unable to check-out before 10am, but it was not a problem at all, thanks for that ;)


89%

only two drawbacks: 1) elevator was not working; 2) WiFi was very poor


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(453 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback