X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5105 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Vibrant hostel , large communal kitchen, convenient location. Wifi is the big negative factor for the otherwise better than average hostel, it is so very weak and keep dropping out every minute even it is used in the designated location ( such as the communal area.)


91%

Staff, location and breakfast were outstanding but t was really frustrating to not have wifi. It didn't even work consistently in the lobby which made booking next travel plans very difficult. This is so necessary for travellers!!


77%

O Hostel tem uma ótima estrutura porém uma internet TERRÍVEL. Todo viajante precisa ao menos de uma internet aceitavel para se comunicar com outros amigos e familiares, porém por vezes a internet chegava a velocidade proxima de zero.


37%

Been traveling Europe for months and this was the WORST stay. Found a bed bug in the bathroom and were told that no one who could deal with them was on staff until morning. One employee said that they don't give refunds because it's not the hostel's fault and it's the risk you take. Long story short: we found more and stayed up ALL NIGHT washing everything. THEY SAID THEY HAVE BED BUG INFESTATIONS ONCE A MONTH. Forced them to call a manager the next morning and got a refund and apology.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!We are more than sorry for your unpleasant stay,but I think we tried our best to compensate you.We provided you free laundry,a different, super clean room and refunded the whole stay.Pls understand,that refunding such amount is managment responsibility,so such cases always need to be discussed with them.And with staying is hostels you risk this problem,cause "they" travel in backpacks,sleeping bags etc,so this issue easily turns up in the cleanest hostels as well.Hope to see u next time!

100%

Hostel muito limpo e seguro, muito bem localizado também!


91%

Excellent location and staff but too much noise at night. If you're looking to party in Budapest, great place, if you want to have a nice rest and wake up early to walk all day then it might not be the best option, although the price is excellent..

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Don't stay anywhere else ! Nice Staff, big rooms and walking distance from everything !

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I chose to stay in girl dorm, really. But didnt expect to stay in mix wing. Cant sleep all 3 nights as some male teenager shout, slammed the door, sing songs every 20 minutes. If you are party guys, do stay here. But if you want a place to stay calmly, choose another place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!Thank you for your feedback and sorry for the noise.:( Next time pls come to reception asap so we can solve the situation.We could even provide you a different room.Otherwise we do have GIRL rooms, but no GIRL "wing" and even if we would have, female guests can be noisy as well..:-) Anyway, really sorry again and hope to have you here again to provide you you a more quiet stay. All the best

66%

En general todo bien, la gente que atiende no me pareció para nada simpática. El wifi NO funciona bien en ningún ladoooo!!!

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

internet não funciona!


80%

Nice space, but lacking in more "local" charm. Great facilities, amenable staff. Mostly English speaking travellers throughout.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Someone puked in the lobby bathroom and it took a day to clean. The wifi simply didn't work and what's the deal with no hand soap??

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are extremeply sorry for your expereinces. :-(Usually we are proud of our cleanliness.If it happened in the middle of the night after guests returning from clubs,it could happen that only our 1st cleaning staff noticed it early morning,but it`s max. few hours later, not a day.We do provide hand soap,next time pls feel free to ask if it runs out in your room or if you need any extra cleaning.We are working on our wifi to make it more stabile,it will be fixed very soon! All the best!

86%

The hostel is good located and the staff is really helpfull! The bathrooms are in the Bedroom so it can be a little noisy and the wifi doesn't work so good in some bedrooms.


94%

The internet is really the bigger problem in this hostel.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was incredibly noisy when we were trying to sleep at night. Felt like the walls were paper thin!! We were on 4th floor. I've stayed on other floors before and it's not been like that. Maybe 4th floor is better for dormitories and not 2/4 person rooms.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! we are really really sorry for your bad sleep. :(( we are working on a new solution with some special sound proof material for the corridors to avoid such inconveniences in the future.it will be done very soon.also, you can come to reception anytime and we'll try our best to provide you a nice&quiet room. cheers from budapest!

97%

Really nice location right in front of nice bars and restaurants. It's gets really crowded around the hostel area at night, everyone goes out around there, what makes it safer to walk round at night. Right near a bus/metro station that connects you everywhere.


89%

预定的女生宿舍,结果房间里有一个男生,虽然态度很好,换了房间,但是好麻烦。


80%

Perfect location, terrible Internet, bathroom not very clean. But worth it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot for the feedback. We are working on the wifi issue, it will be fixed very soon. Usually we are proud of our cleanliness, so next time pls ask for extra cleaning anytime at the reception. In more bedded dorms it could get messy very quickly, even if we clean it pertfectly every day.Hope you had a nice stay anyway and we'll see you again. Happy travels!

80%

Wombats in Budapest was better than I expected. It was not too loud for a party hostel - although if you need to sleep and are there on weekends I would say use earplugs (we had an early flight). The AC was not working although we reported it to the front desk - it never was fixed and our room was very warm. A few rogue hairs on the sheets was gross but they do give you fresh linens so not sure about that. Staff was sleeping at 5:30 a.m. when we went down to catch the shuttle.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!Thank you for your feedback and we are really sorry for too hot room.We have the heating still on, cuz it can be chilly in April in Hungary,but you could have easily adjusted the thermometer in your room separately. We'll check it out right away, if it wasn't working perfectly, but next time pls feel free to report any technical defaults 0-24 at reception.We'll also talk to the nightshift members to get a clear pics of what happened that night. Hope to see you next anyway! All the best

69%

這裡很不錯設施地點都很棒 但是因為太靠近酒吧街,所以半夜的時候都很吵。 當然如果你是喜歡天天party的人那麼那個地方實在是太適合不過了! 最後一點要抱怨的是他們的WIFI很不穩定有時候根本都連不到,是需要改進的地方

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(257 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback