X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Vienna- The Base Reviews

Grangasse 6, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
6220 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Pretty far from the center and the neighboorhood isn't really nice to walk in when it gets dark. It is a bit hard to meet other people. The room was clean though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks for your review :) Vienna is a pretty weird city to talk about a "city center". Our location is actually not bad at all, we are in the middle between the old city and the Schönbrunn Palace, two fo the most important sightseeings of the city :) Normally after 6 pm you can enjoy a beer with other guests in the bar and in the evening many of our guests meet up and cook together or meet new guests in the kitchen. That is something that I have always loved in this house :) :)

77%

It's located in a central-ish district in Vienna. Problem is it's in a shady part of the district- a couple of blocks off the main street. The walk from the main street to the hostel goes through some really shoddy couple of blocks. The hostel has all the facilities you want in a hostel, and is clean. Most of the staff were awesome. 1-2 had really bad attitudes towards the older guests from non English speaking countries. But 90% of the staff was fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review ! Actually the first time I got into this house I also thought the area was kind of "darK" (I'm obviously not from Vienna :) ), then I realised that it does not matter in Vienna cause the city is one of the safiest cities in Europe and the area is not "dark" but just "quiet" :) Hope you had a great time with us :)

86%

Good size room and bed. We stayed in a 6 person dorm. Kitchen and dining area a good size with everything you need. Only negative was that there was only two power points in the room and one of those was in the bathroom.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Bad wifi connection. Nice bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks :) We are working on a better wifi connection. Sorry for that! :(

77%

the self kitchen is good with everything and big. the bar with free beer in the hostel is good.


86%

Cleanliness great! Really friendly staff! Very near metro which took you straight into centre in 5 mins! All you can eat breakfast for €3.90 is so good! Plenty of food! Definitely worth it! Great place


83%

Night staff were not very friendly or helpful on arrival. Would reccomend wombats - the narshmarkt instead. hostel was pretty good, cool bar downstairs and not too far from the main station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, :) The night staff is unfortunately the one that has it not easy at all. They need to be the "bad guys" and sometimes they are overwhelmed. Sorry fot he impression they gave you, we will tell them to be nicer of course! Hope you had a great time in Wombats anyway :)

97%

Great bar, great people, great atmosphere.


80%

Very good breakfast for a nice price, staff is helpfull and the atmosphere is very nice with pub and terrace. Metro station is very close. The location is far away from city center as a walking distance specially at night so guests shall consider that.


74%

Good hostel. Close to subway. People party pretty hard here which can cause roommate issues (loud, annoying, etc.)


77%

Good hostel not in the best location and the kitchen look good but it isnt equipped.


86%

A little bit out of the centre but great atmosphere in the bar. It was a contiki hostel so pretty crazy most nights. Staff were super helpful recommending nightclubs around the city


51%

There are some problems with facilities. In 6 bed dormitory room there is only one socket and almost every guest has camera, mobile, tablet etc., so thats enough for charging batteries. Also wifi is very poor at room and even at common area dont work properly at all times. The hotel has complaintment box about wifi at reception and dont take responsibility about connection problems. But its hotels responsibility to get a better connection and even to change the wifi company if necessary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
our wifi is quite of new and the complaints box was made in order to find out what is being the real problem with the wifi. We are working in a better connection and we needed the complaints box to help us find out what is not working that good. Sorry for the power plugs, we are also improving that in all our rooms :) However, you still can use the plugs in the lobby, in the bar, in the kichen area, in the breakfast room or even ask the reception to charge someting for you :)

86%

It's a good hostel regarding its price. Also 3.9 euro breakfast was satisfactory.


57%

BEWARE OF BEDBUGS. I know this is a large chain hostel, so i expected that it would be clean and good however i discovered a bed bug in my bed and woke up with bites all over me and had to clean all my things when i got to the next hostel. Only one electricity socket per room which was also inconvenient. But beware of bedbugs!!!!!

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , SO Sorry to read that! : ( I can guarantee you that we are a very clean hostel and that we work hard on the cleanliness of our chain, which has been ALWAYS one of the most important issues for us since the owners openned the first wombats back in 1999. Bedbugs are unfortunately a nightmare almost everywhere in the world, travellers take them in their backpacks from one city to the other and I can assure you that we act IMMEDIATELY if one appears in our house. Sorry once again : (

100%

I loved this place as it had what I needed! Cleanliness, security, decent facilities and fantastic staff! It's close enough to all the great sights including the schonbrunn palace! Very close to metro and if you are a fan of shopping, Mariahilfer Strasse is just a few minutes away!! There's a fantastic sandwich place on Mariahilfer Strasse called Duran. I loved this place!I've never seen such pretty sandwiches and if your not into sandwiches, (which I'm not!), you're gonna love this place!


80%

Good hostel with equipped kitchen (night di with a fee extra pots), good internet and nice activity board to have ideas on what to do. They give a treat token when you arrive which is great. Breakfast has a good variety but maybe a bit high at €3.90. Dorms have ensuite and no other bathrooms are in floors, which can be VERY annoying...


83%

Nice bar, quite noisy, but if you like to party, you will like this place. If you are looking for a quiet night make sure that your room is above the second floor.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Really enjoyed our stay at this hostel!! One of the best on our whole trip, mainly because we met a lot of people and had a good laugh in the bar. Good for younger people. Enjoyed reading the graffiti on the beds.


71%

There need to be more than 2 powerpoints accessible in a six person room. The noise curfew after 10pm is great. The breakfast seems overpriced for the food on offer. Washing lines to hang out washing to let it dry would've be awesome. Kitchens were good to cook in but the fridge is a little lousy at keeping food cold. Some staff were great, others quite rude. Was really great to let us check in before 2pm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your review :) Actually, the price for breakfast is quite cheap if you compare it to the breakfasts in the city (almost 2.5€ just for a cofee!). We have 3 different tipes of bread, toasts, ham, cheese, salami, fruits, vegetables, juice, milk, as much coffee as you could need, hot chocolate, muesli, peanut butter, butter, nutella, marmelade... sorry for the rudeness, we will talk to our staff : (

(226 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback