X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Vienna- The Base Reviews

Grangasse 6, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
6415 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Really, really bad. Note to every girl traveling- ALWAYS PAY EXTRA FOR THE GIRLS ONLY ROOM. The room was so stuffy and stinky. Mehhh. Thank god I survived.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Crosley! thanks for your review :) Actually we don't charge any extra for the Girls only room. Sorry that you had such a bad experience with your room mates : (

80%

Staff felt cold and impersonal. Understandable for a big enterprise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry that we gave you that Feeling, Yeow. Actually we try to be personal and warm with our guests, it is really important for everyone working at Wombats to try to get a warm friendship Feeling with our guests. Sorry that we didn'T give you the real Impression : (

54%

Very bad security, anyone can entry to the hostel. Some one stole my beer and my food from the freeze, and I use hostels from 12 years in a row. The location is pretty far for metro station. Also is very expensive place.


89%

Amazing hostel!! I'll recommend it to everybody! It was really amazing.. There's a bar on the 1st floor! The room was very good and i could even cook my dinner in the kitchen. Fantastic!

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Bad security, someone stole my food and beer. Pretty far for main street. Very expensive. Good, it has elevator and a bar.


80%

Staffs are down to earth and very helpful people. They have their own bar and pool. Beer in the bar is cheap. Have a very awesome vibe.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mongolia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Really need more power plugs in the rooms. 6 girls fighting over one plug in the room and one in the bathroom wasn't a pretty sight


94%

Cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in! Great value for money breakfast buffet and fast WiFi.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice, friendly staff. Great, filling breakfast. Value for money!

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

everything was very good... convenient location, friendly and helpfull staff, clean room, good breakfast. Definitely recommend!

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Positives - comfortable beds, en suite rooms, free w-lan even on 7th floor, free drink, new kitchen, free map, free tea, pasta and rice, linen included, central location, good public transport links. Negatives - kitchen is closed to self-caterers in the mornings, and needs more crockery and utensils, bar is geared towards a drunken nightclub experience, and is not somewhere for a quiet drink or chat, but the dining area can be used for this.


86%

Great and helpful staff!

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Bitte mehr Steckdosen in den Zimmern


86%

Everything is good, it would be the best choice I found in koln.


100%

Everybody was very friendly and helpful. Thanks to all the stuff.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Liked the free drink coupon was cute, didn't like the fact that we had to share plug sockets since there wasn't one by our beds so an extension was needed to be shared and the worse part is I had to give a deposit even though the room should of had one anyway. Didn't like that long walk from the station either but it was still nice to stay in


91%

Amazing thing you did there with the bar, young workers and decoration in the lobby. :D

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Clean hostel. Bit far from tourist attractions but near to main railway station. Nice inhouse pub. May stay there again!


91%

It is far from the main attractions of the city and it's a hidden hostel in comparison with others wombats hostels. Despite this, hostel's facilities is amazing, staff very friendly, delicious breakfast and a good value for money at all. I enjoyed my stay there.


100%

Minibar should work `till 2 AM :)

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(162 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback