X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Vienna- The Base Reviews

Grangasse 6, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
6137 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great bar and friendly day staff night staff not so friendly


60%

The hostel looks nice enough and the staff are perfectly friendly but I woke up both nights with bites in clusters on my body which suggests it wasn't Mosquitos...


83%

Amazingly nice bartenders, close enough to the sites. Wifi wasn't very good but it was okay


74%

A good hostel for 18 to 21 year olds. Definitely a party hostel!


97%

Really close to the main train station. Super quiet area and staff were very helpful.


66%

The staff were all lovely, such a shame you have to put up with so many horrid guests!

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, staff really friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The bar was great and really cheap. Would definitely stay here next time I'm back on Vienna


66%

too late check in

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

no soap dispenser in the dorm-bathroom to wash hands with!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The only negative thing was the location, which nothing can be done about. Also though the fact that the bar doesnt open til 6 was quite annoying, otherwise it was a fab stay.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice party hostel! With 260 beds and a bar downstairs with drinking games and great atmosphere; this isn't the place for someone wanting a quiet hostel. The rooms are far from the noise so none filters through. Huge lockers in each room. No hand soap in the bathrooms.


86%

If you havnt had the opportunity to stay at a wombats hostel I would deffinatly recommend checking one out! A lot of fun. Nice people, great facility.


71%

Compare to Berlin wombats, this hostel is worst. It is too noisy due to the train station. Maybe you should advise about it.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The Wombats Hostel was great to stay in! I' ve met those amazing people over there, the atmosphere is great! Also the free tour was very informative and they showed all the important place to go. Too bad they didnt start at this hostel, but at another one of the Wombats, but the tour made up for it. The hostel itself was also very clean, you could see that they clean your room everyday. So go there! :)


89%

I only stayed there for 2 nights but it was very nice. The bar is really good. They try to make everything a pun or a joke, very funny hostel. I would go there again.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really close to the main train station and easy to find with the good directions on the website, room was a good size and ensuite was very handy. Only negative was that there was only one plug for 6 people which was a nightmare for charging phones etc but all good other than that!!!


77%

This a contiki hotel (which should tell you all you need to know). It is a long way from the city and you will need to catch public transport to get it. It's a cheap place which provides all the basics. We were very happy to have wifi in the rooms and coin washing machines for our dirty clothes. They have huge soundproof doors which the block the pub off with at night and that seemed to work really well. Didn't hear a thing.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

wombat is very interesting place and convenience for me

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Really nice hostel. I especially appreciated the laundry facilities(free laundry soap!) and guest kitchen. The common areas are great and the staff was very friendly and helpful.


91%

Really good hostel, very comfortable. The staff was really nice and managed put my friend and I in the same room with no problem. Very good space in the 4 people room, good shower. Decent locker in the room and a nice bar in the common area. I definitely would stay in Wombats again.


(223 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback