X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Wombats City Hostel Vienna- The Base Reviews

Grangasse 6, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5613 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very good value for the money you pay!

  • 12th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Location was close to the train station and metro station, however about a 20 minute walk to the city center. The staff were friendly and you get a ticket for a free drink at their bar when you check in. The kitchen was big and well equipped with three stoves, however there was limited cutlery. The rooms were clean and you were provided with lockers.


94%

Stayed in a 6 bed mix. Everything was nice, clean, and we had lockers too. Downstairs was nice. Probably would have met more people if it had been a quiet night. It is winter so I guess it's to be expected. And we probably paid less than you would in the summer.


97%

Stayed here for a second time. Great hostel with great stuff, close to the metro/tram station. Has a bar with nice atmosphere. Definitely recommend it!


100%

It was my second time in this hostel. The first one was 3 years ago and i absolutely loved it, so i came back. It's clean, great location with walking distance to main tourist attractions, and a short walk to the subway station. Breakfast is at affordable price and it has quite a big choice (especially compared to other hostels I've been 2) the food is delicious, too. The staff is really really helpful and nice. You also get a welcome drink for free, which is a very nice gesture. Thank you,guys!

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

+ Fast check in and check out, good kitchen, good breakfast. The neighborhood is safe. Free map and drink coupons at the entrance. - The bed in our room was not stable, the woodsticks holding the matress were falling out constantly. The sleep was not so well because of this.

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was my second time in this hostel. I very like it. I will be back:).


69%

It was a nice hostel. I was really glad that the bathroom was very celan and the water was warm right away when you open the shower. But the biggest minus was the bed. The matrice wasn't firm anymore, so we woke up every morning with aching backs!Which is no good after few days of sightseeing and spending days mostly on feet. Otherwise the location is ok, on the way to the underground there was a nice bakery to have breakfast in.


91%

Excellent facilities. The bar and the kitchen are great. The only things that could be better are the number of plugs in the room and also the hostel could promote some social activities, like pub crawls, dinners and etc.


69%

The location of the hostel is very good - it's close to Westbahnhof, to 2 of metro lines and to some of the tram lines leading to Schoenbrunn palace. The staff was very friendly & helpful and were speaking fluent English. The room was nothing special & rather clean. Despite the check-in being late at 14:00 it turns out you have to put the bed linens yourself and then to bring them down for laundry when checking out :O Also there were no towels.


97%

It was my second Wombats choice and it was pretty good! Just location could be better anyway metro station is just a 5 minute walk away. Wombats totally know this job!


83%

Although it's a little farther than the Lounge, the Base is generally cheaper and it's a fantastic hostel! The facilities are great (lockers, luggage room, and bathrooms in the room mean no walking down the hall in a towel), the beds are comfortable, the staff are helpful (they lent me a phone charger when mine broke), and the bar is more intimate than the one at the Lounge (smaller). The breakfast is a great deal for 3.90 as it's all-you-can-eat and they have a fancy espresso machine.

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Our stay at Wombats City Hostel Vienna was pretty good. Their staff is very kind and helpful, and the rooms are clean and well equiped. In other words, I would give the highest mark to the quality to price ratio for the services offered by Wombats City Hostel Vienna. Keep on the good work! Ivan and Marina


80%

good hostel,clean,good security,relatively close to center and schonbrun half way in each direction.


94%

First time here, made a quite good impression.. Relatively close to U-bahn, crazy bar crew, friendly staff, facilities are good, I liked the luggage room (very helpful if you come early), little bit noisy but not disturbing.. Anyways we're coming back for sure..

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Unfortunately the bar was already closed at 11.30 pm :-( Rest good as always.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel is really nice and the staff is friendly. Location is all right, the metro station is 10 min by walk away. I definitely recommend you to stay there.


94%

Great place for groups, great for roadies and really cozy for couples, too. We personally loved the friendly, awesome and spontaneous staff there and all the answers they had for all stupid questions us visitors had. The Base kicks ass, we're definitely coming back soon!

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The map given by the staff was superb. Location-wise, it was 10 min walk from westbanhof but the hostel was easy to find. Free locker with lock provided already. Free luggage deposit. However i still think the beds need number, and the bathroom ensuite needs a floor mat. During busy time maybe it is better to add one more staff to avoid queue, and sometimes the internet was a bit sluggish. Otherwise, I will definetely use Wombats again should I visit vienna on budget.


83%

We were very happy with our stay. The hostel was a bit outside of the city center, but the price is accordingly. So no real complaints, would definitely stay here again!


(93 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback