X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Wombats City Hostel Vienna- The Base Reviews

Grangasse 6, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5641 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

To improve just some wheelchair accessibility...

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean facilities, lovely staff, amazing breakfast!

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

The party on Friday was way too loud. I had a long day and needed rest and didn't get to sleep because of extremely loud music and obnoxious drunk teenagers screaming in the hallways.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

staff not friendly, check in is so late, u must wait a lot, no plug in room!

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Perfect place ....


97%

Perfect Hotel, we had soooooo much fun, can't wait for the next time!

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

I really loved the wombats- one of my top hostels I've stayed in. I was concerned of the location of the hostel as it was down a few dark alleys, and trying to get to it at night was scary. The neighborhood around it also seemed very sketchy and I almost wished I would have stayed at the Lounge instead due to the location. They have a breakfast- 3.90 euros but very good and filling. No soap in bathrooms :/ and the bar is a great way to meet new people- They also give you a free drink! Awesome!


74%

Just one power socket in a dorm room.


91%

It was great, I was there for 7 nights. Everything was clean, the rooms were very warm and it was a great atmosphere. The kitchen was perfect and you could have free tea there! It was my firs time in a Hostel and I was really surprised by the good conditions!

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Out of the 3 wombats in Vienna, this would be the one I wouldn't recommend last. Location is a bit out of the way, and only one member of staff for the morning checkout rush, for a hostel with so many beds. Morning breakfast was a life-saver, you had to pay, but worth it for about 3.90. Weirdly, I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and there was only one power outlet. Don't forget to ask for a towel when you check in, no charge!


66%

Far from the principal places on the city and to te metro, a little dangerous region, but cheap and with a excelent breakfast!


94%

Our stay at the Wombats City Hostel was great! The staff are so friendly and really easy to chat to, they also helped us out quite a lot with directions as we were rubbish! Rooms were clean with a locker for each person which was a bonus. The only improvement would be breakfast, €3,90 for all you can eat, but it's not the best and we didn't really each much so saved our money and bought a pretzel everyday! Definitely stay here again though! And looking at booking wombats in Munich next!

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Breakfast was very nice!


91%

Simple room but exactly what we wanted - and more than ok for the little money we spent. Loved the fact, that it was a double bed with a single mattress. Koa Glumsn! Breakfast great value. Schneider Weißbier in the bar - that was awesome. Gösser Bier on the other hand... But hey, if that's what they really drink in Vienna, do as the locals do! ;-) Location was great for sight seeing - Schönbrunn is just a few minutes walk away. We would stay at Wombats again any time!


94%

Very nice and friendly people, the location is good and the price is more than satisfactory.

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

very noisy all around; smoking rules not accepted


94%

good for stay.location is great.


1 2 3 4 5 Next » last »
(97 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback