X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - The Lounge Reviews

Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
9317 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great cheap all you can eat breakfast! So easy to get to from international train station and airport!

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great staff, excellent buffet breakfast (which includes cold cuts, eggs, cereal, and a great range of bread. Fantastic location, just a few stops on the underground away from Stephens square. Stayed in a double room ensuite, spacious and clean. Good security through a few locked doors before getting to our room. Would stay there again if visiting Vienna~


91%

Good position, really near the westbahof and the tube station. In marihilfestrasse, the shopping area. Clean, our room for 6 was big and with free lockers. Free WiFi, and really kind staff :)


100%

The staff was wonderful and the location was incredibly. A perfect spot in a beautiful city.


94%

Awesome hostel. More of a hotel feel but with good common areas too.


100%

Very, very, very GOOD hostel !


100%

It was an amazing experience. Everything was perfect. I also highlight the kindness of the staff.


100%

no problems from my side..just it would be better to have clean towels in the room, and maybe extra blanket..

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel was great, The only disadvantage was that it didn't have a hanger for the towel in the bath, and didn't provide at least a shampoo for the hands.

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It was really nice, all cleaned and easy to get. Nice breakfast!

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Right next to the Westbahnhof, a great location. Typical Wombats hostel - great bar, nice rooms with generously sized lockers, clean restrooms, good breakfast but not for free. Excellent common areas, especially one with a bunch of cushions to lie on.


91%

My bag was unzipped and looked through by someone while I left it in the storage room for the day. Fantastic hostel other than that. Not sure if I would come back though because I wouldn't feel as secure or safe there.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

amazing atmosphere, friendship staff

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfect location just across the street from train station and few minutes away from city center. Has amazing bar and 2€ Beers at happy hour, perfect place to meet people, not only travelers. Beds were very comfy with free linen, free lockers only mine didn't work. Staff were great helping with directions or offering a tour. Definately would go back again!!


89%

I think will be no big problem if towels being included in the direct service.


74%

Most of the staff are really great, Micheal is very kind. Clean and near to a metro station. Only tourist place nearby is the palace. Any other you should take transportation. I acctualy didn't like the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Cool you like our staff so much! But very strange you didn't like our location; cause we are located direct on the main shopping street of Vienna and 2 min from the subway station Westbahnhof. From there you can reach the city center and most of the sights in less ten 12 minutes! Anw - we wish you happy and safe travels and we hope to cu very soon in our house! Your Wombat's Team

74%

Good facilities, but no real social atmosphere; kind of expected with a large chain hostel though. Loved the cheap breakfast, location was convenient (2 minutes walk from metro), and staff were friendly. Some roommates suspected cleaning staff of stealing personal belongings. However, there are lockers in the rooms for additional security.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! First of all we are glate you like our staff, location and breakfast so much! Regarding our cleaning staff: we are more then 100% sure that no one of our great staff will ever touch your personal belongings! NEVER! If we can't clearly indentify belongings from our guests we store it immediately in our lost and found storage, behind our 24h reception. Anw - we wish you super nice travels and hope to see you very soon in our hostel! Your Wombat's Team

57%

Groups of students treated the hallway outside my private room as a party hall. The hostel gave out too few keycards for these groups, and late into the night and early in the morning these people banged on the security door, because they didn't have keycards. The woman at the desk talked to the group and assured me the problem was taken care of because the students were nice to her when she 'reprimanded' them. Later, when the problem persisted, I was told there was nothing she could do. LOL


100%

Amazing people with convenient traffic and the staff are very helpful and kind!

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Can't recommend highly enough. We came to stay here after having stayed twice before at the Wombats in Berlin (and having loved it!) and it didn't disappoint. Very similar to the Berlin Wombats, extremely clean, en-suite facilities which you don't often get with hostels, and value for money is amazing. But I think that the best thing about this hostel was probably the staff - friendly, relaxed and incredibly helpful. If you need any tips for nights out ask them! LOVE Wombats!!!!

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(257 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback