Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - The Lounge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 11,599 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 11,599 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
Wombats City Hostel Vienna - The Lounge Located at Mariahilfer Strasse 137, , Vienna.
Wombats City Hostel Vienna - The Lounge
Austria
Vienna 1150 Mariahilfer Strasse 137
87% 11599
48.1947437 16.3369488
Wombats City Hostel Vienna - The Lounge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
6.9

This is the hostel for older people. It's in a bizarre location near the city but much further away from all of the sites than the other one. The staff was great and the place was alright. It definitely doesn't have nearly as much energy & youth as the other wombats in the city. I booked this one thinking it was the other so be aware of the difference.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Sdabbs125
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
7.7

I found my stay here quiet good. Some of the staff were very nice and helpful, the shower in the room is quite good and kept clean every day. The common area is pretty cool and the bar downstairs is awesome has lots of games and Lucas the barman is super lovely. The location from the main city centre is a little bit of a walk, but that's not too bad. Overall I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay at a wombat hostel again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean, if a bit hot at night, But they provide fans and you can open the windows.. Overall great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.1

The location is hgreat, the place is nice and clean. They have a nice bar, and a cool social area. it's a great place to stay. only drawback is that the kitchen was messy most of the time, and the fridge available was broken.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you very much for your review and stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. One of our fridges broke last week, we are fixing it as soon as possible. but we are sorry it happend during your stay. Hope to see you again some time. Safe travels your wombat's team!

  • Anonymous
  • Peru, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.7

Best Hostel ive stayed so far! Rooms are clean, it has an amazing bar downstairs where you can meet people and its next to the train station! I would come back to this hostel with out a doubt!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your great review. We are really happy you had a great time with us. Hope to welcome you again some time. Safe travels your wombat's team!

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.1

The only downside to this hostel is it truly AWFUL wifi. Barely works and when it does work is very slow. But apart from that this hostel is fab! Amazingly comfy beds, spacious rooms, free lockers, great bar and common area perfect for socialising and meeting new people. We did a pub quiz arranged by the hostel and it was so much fun! Even with the wifi issues, I would still stay again as everything else about this hostel is perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for the nice review of our hostel! We are working on our wifi conncetion but at peak times unfortunately it becomes terribly slow. :-( We are glad that you enjoyed your stay anyway and hope to see you again some time. Safe travels your wombat's team!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.4

I really loved this hostel! You meet so many great people in the kitchen and the bar. Great events like pub quizzes. Really sociable but quiet upstairs as well with really comfy beds and nice showers. You are a walking distance to the town and to the palace and there are loads of clubs and bars nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review and stay. We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us in vienna. Hope to see you again some time. Safe travels your wombat's team.

15th Aug 2016
10.0

Really great hostel in a convenient location next to the westbahnhof. Easy to get everywhere by walking or using the metro. 4-bed dorm was very spacious and comfortable. Wifi worked well in room and lobby area. Only issue was the locker which I struggled to lock using the room key.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. thank your for your review and stay. We are happy to hear thay you enjoyed your time with us. We are sorry to hear that you had problems with your locker. They are not the newest some some need a bit of a push or pull. :-) Each locker we know about we will have our technician have look at so the ones that need pushes and pulls get fewer. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see oyu again some time. Safe travels! your wombat's team

14th Aug 2016
7.4

Facilities and location were average. The staff was mixed with very friendly and very dismissive workers. I am not sure how they decide which people go to which room, but I was put in a room with only other Americans. Why would I travel the world just to be put in a room with other people from my same country? Maybe ask a preference before deciding.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you had mixed experiences with our staff. We have send you an email. As for who you are in a room. We allocate people according to their length of their stay. If some one has special wishes we will always try to fullfill them. Lots of people either tell us at check in or send an email before hand. Sometimes our guests even come down after seeing the room and or their room mates and tell us their wishes. And usually we will find a solution. According to our allocation we had complaints in either direction. Preferences are very different. BUt we are sorry you didnt feel like we could have helped you. We will try to improve on that. Thanks again for your review and stay. Safe travels your wombat's team.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.9

Only a one night stay, but would recommend Wombat's for the staff, location and price. A little noisy but clean facilities and perfect wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay and review. Hope to see you again sometime. Safe travels

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.