X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - The Lounge Reviews

Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
9336 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The only thing that bothered me was that the female dorms had the toilet and the bathroom in the same room. Staying in a same room with girls you don't know takes a lot of management skill to be able to use either of them. Especially if some take their time.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really great hostel for a cheap price, you can use the lockers with your key cards and they provide you with towels and plug adapters for free if you ask. Breakfast is also really good for a hostel. It's right by the main train station as well


97%

V v v nice hostel and even nicer staff! Would recommend to one and all! What a location - fabulous!


100%

Loved it!! Had an awesome time here. Great facilities and met awesome people as well. Would definately stay again!!


89%

Even though I didnt sleep in the bed but only on the couch for 2 hours in the lounge area, I got an itchy rash a few hours later. Not cool!

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! We are very sorry (even though you didn't actually sleep in our hostel and you got to use our free wifi, common area, kitchen and of course our super comfy and clean chill out area) that you had what I'm guessing was an allergic reaction, but we wish you safe and happy travels in the future. Your Wombat's Lounge Manager Flo

97%

The hostel is great. the rooms are really comfortable and the staff very helpful and kind. It is not that close to the city center, but is right in the corner of a metro station. I really recommend it to everyone that is going to Vienna for a few days.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very close to Westbanhof station which is good for arriving/departing Wien and exploring the city. The lady at the reception (forgot her name) is exceptionally helpful, sending my regards and many thanks! Wombats should consider renovating their hostel then it will be perfect stay.


86%

Very close to the main station. Fun bar area downstairs. Good facilities. Would recommend


100%

Very nice hostel close to the WestBahnhof. The staff was very kind and the breakfast very good


91%

We enjoyed our stay at Wombats City Hostel Vienna a lot and will definitely recommend it to our friends!


86%

Everything is great about the place. The breakfast was good. The location was good. Only thing is that someone in the room got sick and the receptionist couldn't help us because she couldn't leave the front desk. So I guess more overnight staff would be a plus. Otherwise, it was a great hostel!

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Located right next to the main train station, 30min walk from Museum District and a 20min walk from the Summer Palace. Friendly staff. Good wifi. Fully equipped kitchen. Overall good stay.


94%

Had a great stay here, location was nice, right on a busy shopping strip with plenty of people everywhere. Room was nice and clean. Kitchen provided for self-cooking. Security was excellent. Staff was very friendly and helpful.


74%

cool staff, cool people (guests), cool bar. spent a whole night at the bar downstairs, there was no need to go out in the cold. had a great time. one tiny bathroom for a dorm with 6 girls is a bit critical ;)

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel but not recommended for meeting people in the off-season. Out of 400 or so beds I think there was only 40 or so people hanging about and most tended to stick to themselves.


86%

Front desk were exceptionally helpful and friendly


83%

I stayed in Wobmast on 26.-27. November. This hostel is even better, than on photos. They should promote their self much better. The moste valuable thing is location,staff and atmosphere. You have everything in the same spot: cool people,restaurant, bar,night club,geathering area. Dicent clean, there is great kitchen with everything: café, tea(anytime) shared food...vibrant with people but you can finde privacy if you need. They gave you first drink for free in the bar. Guys on reception awesome

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location, friendly staff, warm atmosphere. This place satisfies everything that I request from a hostel.


86%

The person on the reception are very welcome

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Would have appreciated a 12 o'clock check-out time as opposed to a 10 o'clock. Otherwise, a great hostel that I would definitely recommend.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(253 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback