X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wonderland Hostel Reviews

Coltei nr 48, Bucharest, Bucharest, Romania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
148 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Great location, very nice and friendly staff. For young travellers who really don't care where to sleep and are more interested in visting and partying is perfect (and with the underworld bar there :)). Nevertheless, something to put in the bath so that the water doesn't spill and floods all the floor would be preferable.


60%

At first sight, everything seems good. But when you check the details you discover that strange things happen. You can adjust light intensity but the lightbulbs are without protection and they shine your eyes; You can have a shower in your room with hydromassage, but the ceiling is very low and there is no door to prevent showering the room, and also your roomate can see you showering from the bed; you have a key to close the door, but it doesn't work and you have to use a padlock...

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

Underworld brings home a little bit closer every time. Staff is awesome, never had others help us like they did. We want to show you our gratitude by writing this amazing card and sending it to you guys. Thanks for all and see you next time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
cheers, till next time all the best!

91%

The people were great spoke English answered all my e-mails gave me great instructions how to get their from the air-port . even found me a bike to ride the same day - I like them so much im going back for two nights at the end of my visit - I give them a a plus for a grade !

  • 19th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

On the first look, the hostel is nice, behind a bar, which adds a certain atmosphere to it. However, on the second look, you’ll notice that the bathrooms could be cleaner. The rooms are very simple in their equipment. Some shelves/closets would be nice. Light didn't work in one room. Kitchen is more than small, but here is tea for free and a fridge as well. There was an incident of bed bugs while we were there and we hope this issue will be solved for others in the future to enjoy this hostel.


83%

The place was attatched to a pub but wasnt too loud and had cheap drinks. The staff were very helpful and kind. Only a 5 minute walk from old town. Great value for money. Shower in room didnt drain properly. Would recommend.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great little hostel located above a grungey bar in a side street of downtown Bucharest. Facilities are much like an inner city apartment, so it feels like you're living like a local. Staff is really helpful from beginning to end.


83%

nice place to stay, you won't get bored here. good staff

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The airconditioning didn't work, and usually that's not really a problem, but with 38 degrees it was too hot to get proper sleep. But that wasn't the worst thing. Due to bedbugs we had to leave earlier than we had planned. We told the girl from the staff and she planned to call a company who would deal with these awful parasites. Although we had these problems, they didn't refund any money or do anything else to compensate for this. If it wasn't for the bedbugs, this hostel would've been great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The people from the airconditioning company were working on fixing it when you were there, as you well know...and the bed buggs were the mosquitoes...

69%

Ok little Hostel upstairs from the bar that is a little difficult to find. I didn't get the email from the hostel before I took a train there and found it very difficult to navigate the street system in Bucharest. Look for, "Underground" and your golden...Also, don't let anyone rush you into a taxi; they will try to cheat you. Anywhere in Bucharest should not cost you more than 9 LEU. Taxi Drivers are NOT your friend; make sure there is a meter and make sure it is on; don't let him turn it off!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, you made the booking last minute and didn't check your mail cause we sent you directions...Look for Underworld bar, not Underground. Sorry you got ripped off by the taxi driver but it's not our fault. Taxi drivers are not your friend in most places. All the best.

97%

Was rather empty most of the time. Excellent :)

  • 18th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel&pub number one!


100%

Amazing spot, it's a real adventure! Love it, really!

  • 18th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It is very difficult to find it. Look for the bar next door and ask there to make your life easier. Rooms are quite big, but the bathroom inside mine was awful. No vase and no curtain. Location is but very good. Pretty much close to Universitat Subway. Bars and clubs around it are very good. You don't really need to move to have fun. Staff was very friendly and tried to help us as much as they could. We appreciated it!


69%

Great atmosphere, the room is small (double room) for two persons and without furniture to put your stuff


83%

the breakfast could be a little bit more various..

  • 4th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was great enough. People excellent but need more attentions like security, double keys to the bedroom


51%

On the reviewed comment in Hostel World.com are listed some facilities that in reality there aren't. There is no ATM There is no Safe Deposit Box.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There are safe deposit boxes in the common area...you just had to ask if you didn't see them...the atm and the 24hour minimarket are on the corner...mayb

77%

The bar next to the hostel is definetly a plus. Nice people around. If i will have to choose a hostel next time i will go for wonderland


91%

Great place. Very cheap. excellent dudes. The bar downstairs is the best in town. I recomend it highly.

  • 13th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(84 results)


View all Bucharest Hostels

Please give us your feedback