X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Woodduck Backpackers Reviews

390 Upper Roma Street, Brisbane, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
300 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

If you like warm showers then DO NOT stay here!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hot water boiler did shut down during your stay and we are sorry about this. However this takes longer to be rectified if you choose to tell HW and not our staff who would have been able to fix the issue within minutes. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels

49%

The room itself was okay:basic. The lockers were basic and out in an open balcony area? girls showers could not be considered showers you physically couldn't wash yourself the water didn't touch you and was weak, I was then told to use the boys showers which were better but ice cold every time. Flys all over the common area and Everytime a fridge was open a rotting smell filled the room. The sofas were leather but had no leather left on them. Majority of people were long termers as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We offer FREE use of lockers which are secure. During your stay our boiler did go out but we only know this if guests tell us and not Hostelworld. Flys everywhere? We do clean out the fridges on a weekly basis to prevent this but ultimately smells from the fridge are dependent on what our guests choose to store in them. Less than half of our guests are long termers and we do organise activities to include both new and old guests. Enjoy rest of your travels

60%

Staff is not bad but the place is just too old, showers for girl are apparently discusting and dont work good so they almost all come in the guys showers which are dirty too, big hole on the ceiling. Kitchen is dirty too... Not a good place to stay but its also very cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. All common areas are cleaned several times a day but ultimately if used during peak hours then the standards are not what we strive to maintain. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels

86%

Stayed for one night only in 8 bed dorm, lots of space, didn't feel like you were crammed. Not a bad hostel, bathrooms were kept pretty clean and same with kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels from everyone at the Duck

83%

The hostel/staff were great and very friendly. The beds were comfy and room was nice to have air con. However there was a huge dead cockroach under the bed even after the cleaner had been in. The showers were quite disappointing, also the men's shower had a hole in the ceiling. Would probably stay again for that great price!


97%

This is a great place! We only stayed for a couple of nights but would definitely recommend this. Great atmosphere with a good group of longtermers, great entertainment manager who gets people going and very clean. The kitchen is a bit small but time it right and you can still prepare your food. Recommended!




View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback