X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Woodstock Hostel Reviews

48 rue Rodier, 75009, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2024 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Very loud at all hours, people talking, singing, coming in from the street, walking up stairs, doors slamming, bottle bins emptying, creaking bunk beds. Had to be out between 11am-2pm each day, never experienced this before. Hostel staff very friendly, great english, very helpful. Shower was like a relay, one person in, one person out from each of the 5 rooms on our floor, became tiring and annoying to wait for each day when all you want is to be out and seeing the city.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your feed back We are sorry about the noise we are really explain to people to respect the room mates but it s very hard but we still working on it We hope pt see you soon

51%

Not the best location. friendly staff though. very small rooms and only one toilet and shower per floor


63%

Location: 10 minute walk from sacre coeur. But the surrounding area can be a little creepy at night, especially to the east. Be careful at night. When I arrived, the woman at the desk was trying her best, but didn't speak English. The owner and other desk attendants seemed to be fluent, though. The facilities felt a little grungy. Breakfast wasn't anything special. They have a cat. I didn't see anyone feed it. Personally, that bummed me out.


71%

Paris is not a great place to stay in hostels, but this is about as good as you are going to get. I would recommend just staying in a hotel if you are visiting Paris.


74%

Great security, lockers at reception as well as electronic safes in each room. Washroom/showers were small and often busy. Not a very prime location in town, but was one of the cheaper hostels in Paris so about what I was expecting. Breakfast was surprisingly good as well as the place was always clean. Some staff was great, but much of the staff was very unenthusiastic and gave very vague information. Wasn't a fan of the atmosphere in general, not a great place to just chill out and meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your nice feed back

91%

Staff very nice and willing to help. Didnt accept cards as stated on website so they sent me to an ATM to get cash. Hostel lobby is nice but small, free breakfast is OK. They have a luggage room which is OK but has no key, rooms are nice and quiet, bed is OK, didnt have issues there. One shower per floor. Found a dirty bathroom in common room, and cleaning staff moved a chair so my iphone got kicked to the floor, the charger doesnt work anymore and he didnt even apologize for it.Wifi works fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We do accept credit card !however the last few days we experienced difficulties with our credit card terminal. We are sorry about it and hope to resolve the problem very soon Bathroom are cleaned 4 times a days we are sorry if some guest do not respect the place and also it s hard to apologize about your charger if you don t come at the front desk to tell us what happened I invite you to write in private the details Best Regards

86%

Love this neighborhood, very laid back. Not a far walk from the metro and about 15-20 min from garre d' nord. Rooms are pretty cramped and musty/ smelly ( from so many people in such a small space). Bathrooms not the bst but definitely not the worst. Really nice kitchen /eating area, good places to chill and meet people. Have computers and will print things out for you. (Weak) coffee croissants ( butter and jam) and hot coco. Sell beer but you cant bring alcohol in, bummer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you so much for your very kind feed back We are sorry about our alochol policy but a lot of young people ( sometimes under age) are quickly out of control and we want to keep them as safe as possible

77%

Absolutely fine as somewhere cheap to sleep and leave your stuff, as we were. The outdoor toilet is not ideal when it rains but otherwise the rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Staff helpful. Easy to leave baggage there throughout the day. Handy location with shops and bakeries nearby, within walking distance to several metros including Gare du Nord. Breakfast simple but fine. Small common area, I can imagine not conducive to meeting others (though we weren't looking to do that).

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear , Thank you so much for your feed back. Just to let you know the door has been fixed

34%

The hostel was repulsive. It looks nothing like the pictures. They should be taken off hostel world just for that. Entirely disgusting, they allow food in the rooms so there was trash and empty cans all over the place. It is TINY. The rooms, the bathrooms, everything. Nothing was clean. Showers cold. Horrible atmosphere. The day receptionist is very rude and unhelpful, night receptionist great but he should work at a better place. The "security" is a tiny lock box the size of a wallet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry about your experience . I do not understand why you did not come at the front desk in order to resolve the problem We are can not be responsible for the behaviour of our guest we have 2 people in charge of cleaning 7 days a week and can not let you say that WOODSTOCK is not clean we do everything possible to keep the hostel clean but once again we can not be responsible for the guest .

69%

Staff was unenthusiastic and uninterested upon our arrival and there was only 1 toilet/ shower in the morning to be shared between the 30 people on our floor. Great location in the heart of Montmartre but not sure if I would stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Just to let you know some our rooms have shower in the room Please email me in private to get more information about the behaviour of our staff

94%

A really cool Hostel with nice staff and good English, so they can help you with every question or problem. The location is also really cool, it's pretty close to a parking deck (if you travel by car..), metro station and to Sacre Coeur :)) there is a lot goin on in this area (restauarants, bars etc.) and I honestly can recommend the Woodstock hostel :))

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

First of all, the first day of our reservation we had informed the stuff that we would arrive really early in the morning and when we got there we were not allowed to enter our room by the afternoon. Nobody informed us that we would have to wait so many hours to enter our room. Moreover, we were not allowed to have breakfast (which we had paid) because "there was not so much food for the people already staying in the hostel". Finally, some members of the stuff were really rude.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, If you wanted to have a room and have access to it very early you would have needed to reserve t for the night before as we mentioned to you by email As any hostel / hotel people are still in the room 7 am We invited you to leave your luggage to our luggage room , we invited you to have breakfast (by the way the breakfast is free and you did not have to paid for it), and to use all our amenities.

80%

The hostel was a pretty good value for the cost. The staff needs to be trained a bit better. We had trouble communicating with the receptionist when we first arrived and also weren't told to keep certain papers in order to get our deposit back. The breakfast wasn't amazing but it's what should be expected from a free meal. The hostel also has a cat which, although it didn't bother me, it may be a problem for others. All in all I'd go to that hostel again if I were to return to Paris.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Arrived at the Woodstock Hostel to be told that our booking (made four days in advance for an Easter weekend) had mysteriously been 'lost' in the system and blamed HostelWorld for losing our booking; however, they had the details on record. Seems that our booking was received but then cancelled by the hostel, and they ended up sending us to another hostel on the other side of the city. Not impressed This is the second time a hostel in Paris has 'misplaced' our booking with similar circumstances

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, We are sorry about your experience and i would ike you to email me in private in order to get more details Thak you

74%

Very good staff and location. Unfortunately, the bathroom is really a problem, you can't control the temperature of your water. The breakfast is also not very good, even for a hostel.


80%

We were moved to some other hostel hence I marked everything as "good".


66%

This place was overpriced just because it is in Paris. The bathrooms are outside and you need to walk through the patio garden to get to them. You need to pay for your bed sheets when you arrive though the money is returned. There is a daily lockout for the hostel to get cleaned and you need to put you luggage on your bedsheets. The place smells and the kitchen has is an electric plug-in burner. There is a leak in the kitchen definitely growing mold as well. The showers turn off at 30 seconds.


71%

Toilets were relatively clean, but showers were dirty, overoccupied (2 for the whole hostel) and cold. Staff very frendly and breakfast was fantastic. Apart from washroom facilities and small sized room, I would come back.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I would definitely recommend Woodstock! The staff is very friendly and helpful and they have a prime location. The breakfast in the morning is great and worth getting up early for. I had a great time staying at Woodstock hostel


80%

People were friendly. Hostel in an amazing location (very funky and youthful). The atmosphere in itself was nice. Overall, a great hostel!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(46 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback