X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

World Square Hostel Reviews

640 George Street, Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
736 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

It was not worth the money that I paid to stay there. A few months back I visited Sydney and spent $80 at Wake Up Hostel and the accommodations were much, much better than at World Square Hostel. World Square Hostel was very dirty, smelled awful, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and our room smelled like cigarette smoke. I will never stay there again.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

While the site mentions the hostel has a bar in the same building (which is fairly common) it doesn't mention that this is closer to a club and on a Friday night you will be unable to sleep until gone 3am as even staying on the top floor the bass was unbearable. My bed was basically springs and there wasn't even any wifi as this was down as well. While the rooms were clean the shower was pretty mank and the overall feel was very cheap.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly and helpful staff, amazing location, clean, comfortable beds and all facilities at disposition .

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location in the middle of the city. Good sized rooms with comfy beds, good showers and all were very clean. With a bar down stairs, you have to show your key card when returning in the evening. The bouncers can be intimidating. It would be nice if the staff informed me of this situation on arrival. Great price. I'd stay again.


83%

It was a great place to stay. I was traveling alone and loved staying here

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Pretty basic hostel, clean rooms and toilets but no aircon which could be a problem in summer! Wifi only works on reception level which is a bit of a pain! Can be noisy if you have a room looking on to George street but can't really complain about that if your looking for a hostel with excellent CBD location which this is! Overall good stay

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a good one! The staff were all really great and the location is unbeatable, right in the centre and everyting you need is super close. Plus the bar downstairs has the cheapest drinks in town. I'll definitely be back!


83%

Good value for money!

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Friendly staff


86%

Location and the hostel was fantastic. The staff were great very helpful and patient. Bar down stair was very so much fun also!

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The lovely blonde girl on reception was really helpful! The rooms are okay. I was in 401 for a night and the room leaked all night in the rain and made the room very damp and cold. The hair dryer in the bathroom was cold so not very useful. The wifi only worked in the reception area which is a bit annoying. A clothes rail with some hangers on a room would be great!! Great location in the city! Clean kitchen but not many utensils, plates etc


94%

good location in Sydney. cheap for expensive sydney.. staff is super friendly! only negative point is that the lobby area turns into a bar/disco on Friday and Saturday nights. no place to just hang and sleeping becomes impossible in the 18bed dorm till the bar closes.


66%

Really noisy


100%

Right in the centre of Sydney, so close to everything, and such good value. The bar downstairs was fun and so cheap!!! All the staff were really, really nice and helpful. The kitchen, bathroom, lounge and bedrooms were all clean and good. Wish I could have stayed there for longer and will definitely be back when I'm in Sydney :)

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Antigua And Barbuda
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Kitchen was soo hot it wasn't enjoyable to cook! Elevator was broken..Otherwise the hostel was good and mostly clean, very good location only 5 min from city centre

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The place is right in the middle of the city, nice and friendly staff behind the desk. free wifi in the common area, night club over the weekend which made noise upstairs however, I didn't mind.

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Pros - Location is hard to beat being a short walk from the central train station, staff are really friendly & helpful, lockers for bags etc in rooms which is also a massive plus. Fairly cheap for Sydney central area. Cons - Unfortunately wifi is only in the common room and is not great when it is working. Also the lift wasn't working when I stayed which sucked being on the top floor. Also there were cockroaches in the common room and living area which is never the best sign.


94%

Excellent, excellent location central to everything in the cbd to walk comfortably. Rooms on the top floor are far enough from the bar to be quiet.


77%

The hostel is right on the busiest street in Sydney which was perfect for us but with no air con our Windows opened onto the street which was very noisy, but I slept through it all so it wasn't a problem for me, a very social hostel if you're looking to party especially in the 18 bed room, we had a great weekend here, wasn't the cleanest but you get used to that when your travelling!


60%

This hotel was fantastic in terms of location as you are close to everything , however the floors were dirty, there was damp everywhere , the carpets were wet and the roof was leaking, roommate saw a cockroach in the dorm and cockroaches also in the kitchen. Not easy to mix and socialise with other backpackers and windows didn't close properly. Some rooms stank more then others. cheap drinks at bar and full of weirdos not recommended for the mature travellor . Good for quick stay not for long


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback