X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

World Square Hostel Reviews

640 George Street, Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
813 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

The property was extremely dirty, dated, broken, smelly and staff were generally unhelpful

  • 8th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good hostel but the wifi was only available in the reception and there was only one toliet on each floor so a constant queue for the bathroom. Also super noisy at night because of all the bars in the area.


71%

Friendly staff, comfortable beds, poor bathroom facilities.


40%

No fan or air con , rooms were soooo hot! The whole place is old school pub style and definitely needs a revamp , showers had no water pressure at all it was little a dribbly tap. Wifi is free but slow and only accessible in reception , no common room so not social , elevator breaks regular and there's plenty of stairs to climb! One toilet and one shower on my floor for everyone which is not great ! Beds were so uncomfortable had to use my blanket to make it softer. Would never stay there again.


51%

Cockroaches everywhere!!!!!! Even on my bed..

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel was clean and quiet (apart from road noise). No atmosphere though, not a big party place. No events happening except for movie night on Sunday. Wouldn't go here if you're looking to party during your stay, more of s calm quiet hostel. One bathroom stall and two showers per floor. Surprisingly didn't get crowded though. Straightener and hair dryer available in bathroom.


80%

Stayed at the hostel for a week over New Years, great location right in the CBD and close to transportation links. Rooms were spotless on arrival and communal areas were cleaned regularly to a good standard. Decent enough bar downstairs if you're into cheap drinks and dodgy dancing... Only complaint is that there wasn't much of an atmosphere in the hostel itself as it's so big, but to be fair we were only there for a week and spent a lot of time out and about.


80%

While the hostel is generally clean & tidy, it could really do with an ad-hoc deep clean, which for obvious reasons would be unviable during the christmas/new year/peak season. Most light/lamp shades need cleaning inside & out, skirting boards around the numerous rooms, the vents in the walls (room 505) was full of fluff & mold (top bunk next to the window). Additionally, maintenance is needed, such as the level 5 male showers - 1 just drips, the other (with the bath) the taps fall off!

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

First impressions not great due to stale smell in reception, however friendly staff and such a great location. Enjoyed the relaxed environment of the hostel and everyone was keen to drink together on the third floor corridor. Beds weren't that comfty and didn't have the handy plug socket & reading lights that most hostels do and also I found there wasn't enough space for rucksacks/luggage around the bed. Stay in the 18 bed room if you can, best way to meet people!


71%

Good atmosphere but hostel is tired , in need of a refurb and smells of an old English pub .(stale booze)


43%

Dirty, smelly, lift out of order for 4 days, only one toilet and two shower room. What a hostel.

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

We were shocked when we cake in because of the bar downstaires but the room was nice and big. We almost didn't hear anything in the room from the bar so that was nice. Actually is was a nice stay in te hostel.

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

There was no wifi in room. We were asked to surf internet on level 2 hall but from Friday and Saturday they have club there so you will not have space to use internet either in room or in hall.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Noisy and dirty.matress on the bed was uncomfortable and fans wouldn't go astray in the rooms. The noise made sleeping nearly impossible.


34%

Completely roach-infested! Beds impossible to sleep. It is divided in three floors. In the reception floor, every saturday and friday there is loud music (like a club), so it's impossible to sleep. Very dirty and noisy. The only good is the position. Toilets, completely dirty, and moreover, one of it has been broken for two weeks, with all the water on the floor. I stayed there just because they have not given me the refound.


66%

Arrived early, friendly receptionist. Allowed us to use showers before we got to our room. Could do with some more showers and toilets as my many. Place is a bit run down, rooms tacky, but do the job. Wifi worked quite well. Good location, 20 mins to harb outside and restaurants, 5 mins to central station.


66%

kitchen and fridge too small to be an hostel for dozens of people. No freezer. lack of plug in points in the room and the bathrooms need refurbishment. By the way,is very close to Museum station,Coles just below,linen were very clean


86%

Great place to stay! Friendly people excellent staff and central to everything!


46%

The room was not as advertised, the beds were very close together, the carpet had goon spilled and stained all over it. The day to day staff were very friendly and helpful but the manager didn't always follow their lead. The pictures definitely do no represent the reality in any way. We had to be moved to their other hostel as it was so bad but the other hostel didn't have wifi or laundry or reception so you had to keep going back to world square for all of this and check out.

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The beds are good and clean, the staffs are friendly though the common area is small (kitchen area)

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback