X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

World Square Hostel Reviews

640 George Street, Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
637 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Location wise, it was awesome being right in the heart of the city, but it's also due to that that it can get quite noisy with the traffic and drunk people creating ruckus on the streets at night, also from the bar at Level 1. Other than that, I have nothing else to complain. For the price and location in Sydney, it's a really good deal. The staff were all really friendly too. Good job, World Square :)

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

No sleep at all, loud music all night and nightclub in the hostel so not possible to use the facilities like wi-fi and reception after 9 pm.


34%

Dirty, no air conditioning and above a live music venue that plays until 12am. No idea how this hostel got the score it did. Would not recommend

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice little hostel . With free WIFI . Kitchen is tiny ! Showers are poor . There is a night club below the hostel .


100%

Didn't expect much from this place, however they had an incredible customer service, great location, rooms were clean and neat (basic accommodation). The lounge area was always full of people surfing on their free wifi which was nice to mingle and make new friends.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everyone was so friendly and helpful

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a hostel over a night club. The reception area turns into a club also on Fri, Sat


77%

Overall it was good, except - NEVER any mugs in the kitchen. Infact hardly any cutlery or crockery. Plugs in the rooms are right down to the floor so you can't use any normal UK plug! It doesn't fit. Chill out room stinks of stale red bull and booze where it's soaked into the carpet. Only one toilet on the top fifth floor and the bath as seen is SAW. The plugs on the skirting boards were just a joke. Never seen anything like it!


69%

Large dorm room was very manky, stained carpets, lots of noise Check in desk is in the bar and the floor is disgusting and your feet stick to it as you walk No nice common areas to use during the day apart from the manky bar which smells bad


89%

Good place! Cleaned and good localization!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice place to stay right in the middle of the city with an amazing customer service. The place has a noise bar on fridays and saturdays night but I didnt mind to be honest. Free wifi was a bonus as other hostels charge a lot for it. They have events organised throughout the week which is a good way to meet new people.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice staff, clean, in the middle of all the action downtown.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Joint first in my best hostels I stayed in during my month in oz. Really good value


100%

Very nice place to stay right in the middle of the city, clean, free wifi, cheap drinks (3 dólar!!!) and very friendly staff. Over the weekend they run a night club which is noisy but I was aware from previews reviews so nothing took me by surprise. Overall, nice place to explore the city.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

An excellent hostel. Staff are always friendly and helpful and the guests seem to be the same. Can be noisy at times, as the hostel is situated above bar, but in light of all else that is good about the place, this is easily overlooked.


49%

Awfully noisy. They keep the reception desk within a night club just below the dorms. You can guess the level of noise while trying to catch some sleep.


83%

Good hostel, nice staff, great location.


86%

Good location. Good security since there are key cards and bouncers at the door at night since there is a bar downstairs. Although I didn't know that there was a bar downstairs so it was loud. But other than that, okay place to stay for a short time.


80%

This hostel is good but I am not particularly enthusiastic about it. It was clean, had a good kitchen and the rooms were spacious. There weren't enough lockers in the room for all the beds. The atmosphere wasn't amazing due to lots of long termers but it was still better than other hostels I have stayed in in Sydney. He location is awesome and the $3 drinks in bar century (under the hostel) is pretty awesome. The staff are really lovely and I couldn't fault their service. Overall a good hostel.


86%

Great location, in the middle of city center. The reception turns into a bar so it was pretty loud on Saturday night, but if you can sleep through noises, not a bad place. On Sunday, there's movie night with free lollies! In my room, one of the windows didn't close all the way and in the girls bathroom, one of the hot showers didn't work but other than that, everything else was great! You need a card to get into the hostel and your floor and your room, so you feel safe even in a party hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback