X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

World Square Hostel Reviews

640 George Street, Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
649 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Wifi only works in the lobby

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

We stayed in this hostel for two nights there were cockroaches in the kitchen no fans in the bedroom was boiling everywhere no air con either! The bunk beds were right next to a window that you could easily fall out of and there was no atmosphere in the hostel. We would not stay here again!

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It's a decent hostel, but i was on the 18 person dorm on the 3rd floor and the music from the bar in George St was so loud I could not go to sleep until 2 in the morning, and I had to get up early the next day to catch my flight. So probably a good hostel if you'd like to party, but not if you want a good night's sleep.


83%

I am really satisfied with the Hostel and would definitely recommend it and book again, but dismerits were bad wifi connection (just close to the reception which is in another floor than the rooms and kitchen) and it was not very clean in the kitchen and the kitchen equipment very limited (i.e. tea towels). But definitely worth for the money!


74%

I was in the 18 beds room. Some throw up during the night so you need to be prepared. Overall ok!


94%

Very well located hostel with helpful staff. The only bad thing is that Internet is only available on the lobby. Very good price for the location.


83%

Location wise, it was awesome being right in the heart of the city, but it's also due to that that it can get quite noisy with the traffic and drunk people creating ruckus on the streets at night, also from the bar at Level 1. Other than that, I have nothing else to complain. For the price and location in Sydney, it's a really good deal. The staff were all really friendly too. Good job, World Square :)

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

No sleep at all, loud music all night and nightclub in the hostel so not possible to use the facilities like wi-fi and reception after 9 pm.


34%

Dirty, no air conditioning and above a live music venue that plays until 12am. No idea how this hostel got the score it did. Would not recommend

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice little hostel . With free WIFI . Kitchen is tiny ! Showers are poor . There is a night club below the hostel .


100%

Didn't expect much from this place, however they had an incredible customer service, great location, rooms were clean and neat (basic accommodation). The lounge area was always full of people surfing on their free wifi which was nice to mingle and make new friends.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everyone was so friendly and helpful

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a hostel over a night club. The reception area turns into a club also on Fri, Sat


77%

Overall it was good, except - NEVER any mugs in the kitchen. Infact hardly any cutlery or crockery. Plugs in the rooms are right down to the floor so you can't use any normal UK plug! It doesn't fit. Chill out room stinks of stale red bull and booze where it's soaked into the carpet. Only one toilet on the top fifth floor and the bath as seen is SAW. The plugs on the skirting boards were just a joke. Never seen anything like it!


69%

Large dorm room was very manky, stained carpets, lots of noise Check in desk is in the bar and the floor is disgusting and your feet stick to it as you walk No nice common areas to use during the day apart from the manky bar which smells bad


89%

Good place! Cleaned and good localization!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice place to stay right in the middle of the city with an amazing customer service. The place has a noise bar on fridays and saturdays night but I didnt mind to be honest. Free wifi was a bonus as other hostels charge a lot for it. They have events organised throughout the week which is a good way to meet new people.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice staff, clean, in the middle of all the action downtown.


100%

Joint first in my best hostels I stayed in during my month in oz. Really good value


100%

Very nice place to stay right in the middle of the city, clean, free wifi, cheap drinks (3 dólar!!!) and very friendly staff. Over the weekend they run a night club which is noisy but I was aware from previews reviews so nothing took me by surprise. Overall, nice place to explore the city.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback