Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

X Hostel Bucharest

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
X Hostel Bucharest Located at Balcesti 9, , Bucharest.
X Hostel Bucharest
Romania
Bucharest 030221 Balcesti 9
84% 817
44.4310051 26.1076783
X Hostel Bucharest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
9.7

Only got to spend one night but it was a great place, very happy with my experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
7.1

Overall stay was fine. Showers and bathrooms all have a smell. Staff seemed more interested in each other instead of helping. We asked them if we could do laundry and make sure it would be done so we could check out and go to the airport the next morning, they said it would be fine but we didn't get our clothes back till the next day @ 11:30 (we gave them the clothes at 3pm the day before) and they were still wet when we got them back. So that was disappointing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
10.0

Quite literally, one of the most brilliant evenings of my life. We were greeted at the door by Diana with a smile and a thorough overview of the city. Over her shoulder, Ovidiu called me over for the hostel welcoming free shot. The night was filled with laughter and genuine companionship with individuals from all over the world. Shout out to Betty, Claire, Cell (the spelling, I'm sorry) and the rest of the staff that truly made a memorable night for us. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
6.6

Security is alright. The main door keeps getting propped open by staff making it pointless. Personal lockers only half work... Location is fine. Near a Metro stop and Old Town is walkable. Staff was friendly enough, but seemed more interested in hanging out with each other; judged my friend for being up late on his phone when he couldn't sleep as if it matters. Atmosphere was alright. Rooms were clean, but the showers smelled pretty strong. I little high cost IMO for average facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for the feedback. The security in the hostel is looked after at all times, as we have surveillance cameras, front doors that are locked at all times and access in the hostel or room is only by access cards. We apologize if the staff was not as welcoming or including. It certainly does not reflect their general performance in trying to offer each guest a great time in the hostel and in Bucharest in general. Safe Travels!

8th Jul 2016
8.9

It was my first time in hostel. It's great experience got to meet some real people's.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.9

Friendly staff and hostel provides all necessities but the actual hostel doesn't feel that welcoming probably because it's part of a chain so doesn't personalise the space.prices at the bar were steep especially for soft drinks. Good distance from old town and good trips run direct from the hostel. Was a good place to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.4

Nice place, clean, helpful staff, we'll recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Definitely the place to go if you want to make new friends. Great location amazing staff. The girl from the reception Emma was very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
7.1

Security seemed solid except when a stranger entered the reception area and made sexually inappropriate gestures toward me. Staff was helpful and courteous except for a rude staffer who used profanity and was very discourteous during check-out. Aside from these issues (if resolved) this is a nice room, great value and location for the money. The manager seemed sympathetic when contacted about these issues so I hope they won't be issues for others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
10.0

The hostel is located in a nice, safe area with easy access to the main sights of the city and the staff is nice, always willing to help you with great tips about the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.