X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

X Hostel Bucharest Reviews

Balcesti 9, Bucharest, Romania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
373 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Dorms have air-conditioning !!! Wich is really great in summer. The hostel is pretty much well-located, and is more kind of a partyers-type place. So if you want some peace, maybe try another one ! ;)


69%

Good location near the Old Town, clean, but sometimes seems more like a business than a hostel (e.g. have to buy all drinks in the hostel). Some of the staff were really good - Dennis showed us some great places - but some of the others didn't seem to know anything about transport/internet cafes/bars. It wasn't too busy while we were there but I guess that may just be the time of year.


86%

I was there on a national holiday so the hostel was pretty dead ... and not a party hostel. Decent location near the start of the free walking tour


91%

Great place to meet people. Free wifi and a nice private room made my experience great. For sure I will stay again


83%

Prons: Good location, very near to main sq with mall and metro station. Good place to meet other people, nice common are ( bar ), cons: mess at the male toilets, aircon didnt work at the dorm no 6 - so it was almost impossible to sleep with very high temperature in and out. Staff are a little bit nonchalant.


94%

Not many girls stay at this hostel. Easy to meet ppl in the hostel bar. A lot of evening activities. Very close to old town, bars and clubs.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Female Staff need to be educated

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Extras like padlock, towel, laundry etc. were unreasonably expensive (30leu for laundry?!), and wasn't as much of a party hostel as they claim - but excellent reception area and very clean bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment. We would like to make clear that we do not want to make laundry, its a service we give if you are stuck. 30 lei is 6.5 euro. We have to use our staff time, soap, electricity, water and usage of a machine that we use for the hostel. This is really time consuming and not a great source of revenue. We would prefer not to do it at all so as deterrent we keep the price a little higher as we would not be able for time reasons to make everyone laundry :)

100%

very central, very clean, very safe. also a good place to socialize.


80%

The hostel was sweet, aircon in the rooms was nice! Good location, clean rooms etc! All good! The staff were good, especially the cool chick with brown hair and shaved up one side! She was always so friendly and helpful! I'd stay there again!


100%

Everything was great! We particularly enjoyed the sauna & jacuzzi party! Thank you for an amazing stay at your hostel!


80%

It is one of the best hostels I stayed in so far. The problem is that they should inform their potential guests with regard to the fact that they ban consumption of drinks bought outside their premises. And I haven't seen any FREE drink, or whatsoever. Internet is not available is all rooms. Otherwise, the staff is friendly, it is clean and the location is very close to the old center of the beautiful city of Bucharest.


77%

Definitely a great spot to stay in Bucharest, very central and a melting pot of travelers from all over. The bedroom's were nice and both of the common rooms were great places to socialize and meet people. However, while some of the staff were great, others made our stay a nightmare. We had our food thrown away by a staff member, someone forgot to put our washing on until a day later (so we had to take everything with us still wet) and they were generally rude about these mistakes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Please let us know what staff member it was. We are sending you a private mail on this. Our apologies on that. Glad everything else was good :)

66%

Good location, the toilets were fantastic and clean. Some people from the staff were friendly and really helpful. The only problem were some useless rules. For example, you are not allowed to bring your own drinks in the hostel, even water or beer, since you're supposed to buy them there. They say they have very competitive prices, which is not true. 4 lei for a bottle of water is definitely too much! Anyway our stay was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for reviewing. We have a licensed bar and we cannot (also legally) have anyone consume other beverages inside. Tap water is good to drink (and we also can give you it with ice from the bar if you ask!) so no need to buy bottled one (we are using advised prices from our suppliers).

97%

Absolutely amazing. The staff show true Romanian hospitality. If you want a good party hostel then this is it. Not appropriate for elder guys trying to hit on young girls. Bit of advice, go on the free walking tour that starts from Unirii square, it is great. Overall I had an amazing experience.


89%

It was a cool place to stay. It was clean and so on. We were in a room for three with a private bathroom. I was unhappy to find out there is no soap and you can't control the water really well


100%

Near Old town. Private room card. Nice setting. A lot of people. Had fun!


86%

The staff were great, met alot of interesting people there.


100%

Great staff, great atmosphere, great hostel! Close to the old city and very convient to reach with the bus from the airport!


86%

Had a great stay, partied with the staff every night and generally had a good time. Really made my experience in Bucharest complete!


(220 results)


View all Bucharest Hostels

Please give us your feedback