X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

X Hostel Malaga - Picasso's Hangout Reviews

Calle San Juan de Letran 9, Malaga, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
171 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Tha owner is really helpful and can provide a lot of information. Thank you


91%

really nice place for knowing both city and people, they organise dinners and parties! Marco and his crew make for a remarkable experience

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a wonderful time. Great Hostel if you want to meet new people and have fun. The staff is great. They make you feel welcome. Would come back any time.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were amazing and so helpful! The hostel itself is quite small and homey. with a nice atmosphere in the rooftop terrace. Location is perfect and it's clean.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff were great; they always had activities for getting guests together, especially on a night, with drinking games and a pub crawl. The hostel itself was as well-maintained as you could expect at such a busy time, the staff were always on hand to clean when notified of a problem. One of the best things was the location - right in the middle of the nightlife centre, near the main attractions, and very close to the beach. However be aware that it can be quite noisy until 2am.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

We stayed during the Feria so the prices were much higher. The chef was nice but the rest of the staff didn't even smile. The hostel is very dark and gloomy and somewhat depressing. We stayed in a 6 bed room which was cramped with very poor air conditioning. I had to ask for a bed sheet because my bed didn't have one. The bathrooms were extremely poor, the toilet seat had been broken off and there was no room to move. I saw the girl clean the bathroom in a mere 30 seconds. Do not stay!

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostel was in a great location, staff were friendly and helpful. Bathrooms weren't the cleanest they could be. Was hard to charge phone as there was one working power point between 8 people.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

X Hostel should be an Ex hostel, or just re-name itself Fawlty Towers. Only saving grace are the staff, Michael, Andy & Lenka who work hard to get some atmosphere & a good vibe. Everything is broken or shoddily repaired from the front door to showers to toilet seats. The dining room doubles as a laundry room with stacks of chemicals & bleach. The bed I had was unstable and felt more like being at sea the amount it swayed. Manager is keen to be told of faults but you'd need a week just for that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Has been the festival of Malaga and we had lot of guest coming back drunk that made damages inside the hostel and broken the front door. Everything has been fixed twice in a few hours, saturday night during holiday... not so common here in Spain with spanish people. The security of the hostel has been always HIGH with someone who checked the CCTV all the 24h of the day. The staff is working hard constantly to fix everything and to male everyones stay comfortable.

100%

Amazing place to stay, cool atmosphere, very cool people and a great location

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean, friendly staff, great location.


100%

I spent good times with the staff and the other guests. The rooftop terrace is a nice please to stay and the hostel is not dirty or noisy has he has been described. I'll come back for sure

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

In general the hostel looked pretty run down and dirty, the rooms were small and over-priced.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We did lot of renovations in the last months, with new bathrooms, new terrace and new painting. We fixed the problem with the door in 3 hours, friday night in Spain.... We're also the cheapest hostel between the reccomended by Hostelworld.

60%

Cheap and well located, but not much else to recommend it. The security wasn't great - the front door was locked at night but the door to the 15-bed room never seemed to be locked, and the lockers (bring a padlock) seemed a little flimsy. There were safes in the room but no-one told me how to use them. The staff were pleasant enough but not overly friendly, and there wasn't much of a social atmosphere (in high season). I didn't notice anyone clean while I was there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There's a CCTV and someone controlling the access 24h. We always ask, and there's also a paper on the door, to lock the door if guests forget it cannot be our fault. If you would have asked how to use the safe-box we have told you without any problem. Our staff is happy to help and to make everyone stays the most pleasant is possible. We use to meet everyone in the terrace at 9:00pm, having dinner with guest and then going out all together. Cleaning is from 9am to 2pm and every 2h till midnight

100%

I stayed in a big room with lockers inside. Clean, strong wifi, nice atmosphere in the rooftop terrace

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved my stay here! The hostel was beautiful. The hostel runs fun events and has a great vibe. Defintely reccomend!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel, friendly staff!!


83%

Staff is super fun. The location is right in the middle of things, which is good and bad depending on who you are. The street noise (at least in my room) keeps up until about 3 or 4 each night so this is a place to go if you plan on being out, not trying to turn in at 11 or 12. Had a good kitchen and they offer cheap meals a lot of nights so it's a good place to go and meet others. It's not the cleanest or anything, but it's just got a good vibe. Just go in with the right expectations.


100%

Everything was ok I had a great time staying here, such a handy location and the staff are very helpful! Our room was clean and tidy

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

If you want to sleep, dont choose this hostel!!It was the most horrible dorm for sleeping i have ever been. Staff is nice, its easy to meet people!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we are straight in the city center and in the nightlife area, so it's normal that it's a bit noisy till 1-2am. We provide earplugs to solve this situation.

100%

Really great hostel, more hostels should be like this one. So hospitable, clean and friendly

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Malaga Hostels

Please give us your feedback