X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Xiamen Old Town Hostel Reviews

24 Jiutiao Alley, Siming District, Xiamen, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
147 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

I stayed there for only one night and I would not stay again.the bed has no matrace so you are basically sleeping on wood,the bathroom is super dirty and not even basics like toilet paper can be found.140 RMB for a double room is way to expensive

Owner Comment (Hide)
So unfair! you came at 1AM and left at 6AM. The room you booked was a private room with a single bunk bed (NOT a double room), so as per Hostelworld's rules you have to pay for both beds (not our rule). As to the mattress each bunk has several thin foam mattress, so it is NOT just wood. Our shared bathrooms do not have rolls toilet paper in them, we provide each guest with a small roll for free, but remember you came at 1AM and I forgot to give it to U.

66%

This hostel is well located and the American owner was relatively helpful. However, the rooms and the bathroom were far from clean. We left for three days for a trip to the tulou area, then came back and got the same rooms but they had not been cleaned and the garbage had not been removed, same for the bathroom.


83%

Good hostel, nicely located with very friendly staff.


97%

Great place that I can highly recommend. The hosting family is fantastic welcoming and helpful. I found it easy to talk to people and if there is no one around the puppy upstairs will for sure talk to you:-) The big market area around the hostel is nice to get lost in (and you might).


80%

This hostel is in a great location, about a five minute walk from zhongshan tourist street, Taiwan snack street, and the ferry to Gulangyu. Because it's located in a back alley, you might have some trouble finding it, but you'll probably end up enjoying yourself as you walk through the maze of houses, chicken cages, and shops. I found the beds and facilities pretty standard for China. All around, a good place. Thanks!


49%

+: Maggie (hostess) is amazing, speaks spotless English and helps with everything you ask for -: No airconditioning: incredibly hot and humid, almost impossible to sleep -: You sleep on a wooden bord (HARD) -: Not clean at all: showers/toilets smell very bad, rooms floors are dirty (hair, dirt) and no towels provided -: Smokers in common area, whereas the rooms are next to it -: For Western travelers: this is nothing like the good quality hostels you might encounter in travel guides


63%

Overall okay, however toilet lights did not work properly, but if your on the 2nd floor you MUST LOCK YOUR WINDOWS, as on our very last night around 430am we saw a wooden pole come through our window and try to hook/ steal away our valuables. Luckily we were not fast asleep and managed to ward it off. Maggie the owner is very helpful and can help you arrange tours or places to visit in xiamen!


89%

This hostel is located in a really interesting area. Right in the old town with interesting markets all around, lots of great food and few tourists. Also quite close to the Gulangyu Island ferry and the airport shuttle. Maggie, the owner is really friendly and helpful. Only problem I had was no A/C in the 2 bed dorm room, and it was really hot. But I think most other rooms have A/C. Overall, a really great place to stay in Xiamen.


86%

Location is perfect, 10mins walk from the ferry and good bus connections. If coming from the North train station take the BRT bus from the station to Xiahe Lu, costs 4.5RMB, we took a taxi and it was close to 100RMB.




View all Xiamen Hostels

Please give us your feedback